We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very attentive service and helpful staff. The wine bar staff were great! We appreciated the outdoor smoking area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mazarin to your Saves list
Hotel Mazarin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Very attentive service and helpful staff. The wine bar staff were great! We appreciated the outdoor smoking area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Breakfast was great from a timing perspective - quality was good though a little more variety would be an improvement. Bed was very comfortable. Closet space was lacking. An Armoire would be an improvement. Shower was exceLlent - though more counter space would be an improvement. We really liked the location on the interior courtyard as it was wonderfully quiet. All in all we would recommend to friends and chose to stay again ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,159
    681
    125
    69
    23
See reviews for
426
1,661
75
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,043)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Remodeled last year. Enter in nice lobby and then into large courtyard. Rooms all open onto central courtyard from balcony, so no outside noise. Pretty furniture, big comfortable bed, up-to-date bathroom. Full breakfast included. Enthusiastic staff with helpful manager who wandered through the breakfast room. Good (but expensive) bar also opens onto courtyard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynthiafromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

First class stay. We own local restaurants and did some trade for room stay with the hotel. Spent two nights during Thanksgiving 2012. Rooms were immaculate. I hate leaving my ultra comfort bed behind when traveling for a hotel bed. The beds here were like pillows and the down bedding was luxurious. Slept like a prince.

The location was perfect. A quiet courtyard insulated you from the madness that was Bourbon street a half block away. When you wanted to enter that madness it was very convenient. The front desk staff was great. The Bar on property was a great little wine bar another sanctuary from the madness and booze fests on Bourbon. The complimentary breakfast was good with fresh juices, fruit and traditional breakfast fare. A great way to start the day. Will be back to hang in this little gem soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunraygrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdezura, General Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your very nice comments on Hotel Mazarin. We are glad you had an opportunity to take a break from the hectic restaurant business and stay with us. We strive to have the finest furnishings and bedding for the comfort of our guests. Our staff is trained on giving our guests the best customer service and making them feel at home. Patrick's Bar Vin is known as one of the top 10 wine bars in the country, so we are happy you had a chance to experience what everyone is saying. We look forward to your return to the Hotel Mazarin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel is exactly what I was looking for when I booked my hotel. I am so glad I went with a boutique hotel instead of a big modern high rise hotel. It was quant, comfortable and just off Bourbon Street. The staff was perfect and service was outstanding. And I want to personally thank the person cleaning my room. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, FL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We normally stay at the Royal Sonesta, but we (me and my boyfriend) took his brother along with us. The room (#215) had two Queen beds and was very spacious as compared to the usual NOLA/French Quarter hotels. The beautiful courtyard is tented, so if it is raining, it is still usable as a lovely spot to eat the AWESOME free breakfast. The breakfast "buffet" had link sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs, pastries, juices (apple, cranberry, orange) - coffee, tea, yogurts, fresh fruit bowls. Breakfast is served until 11am, which is great if you've had a late night.

Desk people/staff were nice - didn't really talk to them much, no need. Beds were comfy. I really liked the bathrooms, because when you are staying with someone ( like my bf's brother) you want PRIVACY. Our oom had a door to the bathroom, then another door to the toilet./shower room. Was great in that way. There is a waterfall in the courtyard that is super loud which I LOVED. Our room was pitch black at night (which I also loved) and it was like sleeping during a hard rain. Very nice. I couldn't hear any of the Bourbon St noise, but I wouldn't mind if I did. loud partying is kinda the whole point.

When you step out the front door, you may as well be staying on Bourbon, its just 100ft away. Will ALWAYS stay at this hotel from now on, and I am SO PICKY when it comes to hotels. Beats the Royal Sonesta IMO. The marble floors made it seem clean, sheets and towels were clean, closet was spacious and nice. My #1 thing that made me choose the hotel was free delicious breakfast. That, in itself, saves (between 3 people) a $40 meal, and was a great start to the day.

STAY HERE! You will NOT regret it. I know I am a stranger to ya'll, but it is great.

Room Tip: We stayed in 215, It was a corner room, I would suggest asking for this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JB42777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdezura, General Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We really appreciate your spectacular review about the Hotel Mazarin. I'm glad we succeeded in making your experience the best ever. Everything done here at Hotel Mazarin is to enhance guest service and quality of stay. You are so right, our complimentary breakfast is a great way to start the day and save $$$. We look forward to your return in the near future. Thanks for helping spread the great news about Hotel Mazarin!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

i loved this place. it was in the perfect location, half a block off of bourbon street. definitely close enough to all the action, and just far enough away to have some peace and quiet in such an amazingly bustling city. the rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. i honestly did not want to get out of that bed!!! the people working there were nothing less than super-friendly and there was always someone to help you out with anything you needed, at any time of day or night. the only criticism i have is (as a smoker), i had to walk through the courtyard and lobby in order to grab my morning smoke. seriously, though, that is my only gripe --- and it's a very minor one at that. good job to all of the people working there and making it feel like home!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne3127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

After spending a week at the Hotel Mazarin we felt it was a good choice for New Orleans. Wehad a room on the 5th floor at the back of the courtyard (513). It was quiet even on the loud nights on Boubon St. Close enough to walk everywhere in the Quarter and close to public transportation for other areas. Staff were great, helpful and always willing to stop and chat. Rooms super clean each day and bedding/towels very nice. Breakfast nice backup, and some days just great for "walking coffee". On days that we ate breakfast it was always fresh and hot.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,675 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,838 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#3 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,420 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,755 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#24 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing