We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, WA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and traveled to NOLA in September for a business conference, and she found this gem of a hotel on Hotels.com. We stayed for five nights and loved every minute of it. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the accommodations were wonderful. The room was clean and comfortable, and located on a delightful inner courtyard. The Continental breakfast was fabulous. The hotel is located in the French Quarter, just off Bourbon Street on Bienville, and within easy walking distance of all the Quarter has to offer, as well as the waterfront, Canal Street shopping, etc. In short, you won't be disappointed if you choose Hotel Mazarin.

Room Tip: The courtyard may be a little noisy on the weekend as revelers wander back from Bourbon Street festi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gman_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,030
    975
    182
    91
    30
See reviews for
647
2,392
110
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Located on Rue Bienville between Bourbon and Royal Street, Hotel Mazarin offers a place to take a deep breath and escape the chaos of Bourbon Street and surrounds. Throughout our 5 night stay we found the staff to be friendly, helpful, and just plain pleasant. Our room wasn't huge, but it was big enough for my husband, myself, and our young adult daughter. The beds are very comfortable and the linens top quality. I particularly appreciated the quiet and effective air conditioning. My only real complaint was that the room didn't have enough drawers to put our clothes away.

Breakfast was simple, but very good. It's nice to be able to walk down to the courtyard, enjoy a hot, filling breakfast of scrambled eggs, toast, muffin, croissant, bagels, grits, sausage, bacon, fresh fruit, juice, and coffee or tea. So often "breakfast included" means gummy muffins and bad coffee. Not so here.

We enjoyed the hotel's location. We're walkers, so we walked to Frenchman Street and into the CBD and Julia Street. An easy walked to outstanding French Quarter restaurants.

I wish I could give Hotel Mazarin 4.5 stars; close, but not quite 5.

Room Tip: The hotel offers double queens which was nice when traveling as a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaduckling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Prairie, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was the second visit to New Orleans. The first time we stayed at the Royal Sonasta, although a wonderful Hotel, we much preferred the Hotel Mazarin, it being the friendliest Hotel we have ever stayed in, and one of the cleanest. The Hot Breakfrest was so yummy. We are
still talking about "Soloman" the awesome doorman. The desk persons, day and night, were
also the best. All in all, the only place to stay in New Orleans. It was Awesome. Thank You All.
From the Weaver Family, Alberta, Canada.

Room Tip: We had room 220, facing the street, and really enjoyed it, the 3 nights we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia4941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynne, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My friends and I stayed three nights at this lovely boutique hotel. The complimentary breakfast buffet included hot and cold foods, fruit, several types of breads etc. and was delicious! The rooms were beautiful and comfortable, and the staff friendly, helpful, and a pleasure. One of our group celebrated her birthday on our last day; she was treated with a birthday cake made of pancakes (fluffy and delicious!) topped with a candle! We all loved this charming hotel and felt it was a great value.

Room Tip: We had a second floor corner room and found it roomy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Thoroughly pleased with this hotel. Excellent staff attentiveness and service. Excellent room quality. Just 100 yards off Bourbon street and next to Royal street - very good location for our long weekend in New Orleans. Breakfast buffet was only average, but that doesn't spoil a 5 star rating.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank acosner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

PERFECT location within the French Quarter, close to shopping, bars, restaurants, sights. The staff was extremely helpful, always available and very accommodating. Our room was clean, beautiful, well decorated and had a great view of Bienville. Breakfast in their courtyard every morning was a treat as well. We absolutely LOVE New Orleans and can't wait to go back - and we will definately stay at Hotel Mazarin again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

It was the first time in New Orleans and found location great to walk to the attractions in the French Quarter. The room was large with a large bathroom. The breakfast included eggs,bacon,sausage,yogurt,juices,breads,fruit cups and cereals. You can eat in the courtyard or inside. The coffee was great also. Friendly staff that was helpful on anything we needed. Their is a wine bar attached to hotel that was nice.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mahi2049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,202 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,547 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,155 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,102 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing