We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I never am quite sure what to expect because my taste tends to be a little more particular than most. But Hotel Mazarin was really a great, great spot. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the hot breakfast was a perfect way to start the day, and the location was really ideal being so close to the action but feeling so removed. I met my family there and the courtyard was a really peaceful spot for us to gather and just sit and visit. The walk-in showers were nice for my parents too. I would definitely stay here again. My only problem was that the front desk person has to help anyone there in person and on the phone. It took me a really long time to check out because he had to keep answering the phone.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room with a courtyard view and it was really pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZSterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,029
    975
    182
    91
    30
See reviews for
647
2,392
109
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I went with my husband, sister and brother-in-law for Jazz Fest. We had a three-night stay at this hotel and fell in love with it!! We had never heard of it before and came across it online. We were certainly not disappointed in any way. The location was perfect, close to anything and everything in the French Quarter and beyond. The rooms were stunning and cozy. The bedding was clean and fresh, very updated with duvets and lots of pillows. The courtyard area was perfect for eating breakfast, which came with our stay and could not be beat. The staff was as wonderful and friendly as could be, helping us with whatever we wanted and going out of their way to make sure we were satisfied with everything. And to any other reviewers who have complained about the noise from the courtyard... you are in New Orleans and around the corner from Bourbon Street! If you do not want to hear any noise at all then do not go to the area. It is to be expected and should be tolerated. We did not have a problem with excessive noise but would not have blamed the hotel if we did. It is your own fault if you expect complete silence that close to Bourbon Street during Jazz Fest.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We originally booked a room in one of the larger Hotels outside of the French Quarter for the first weekend of Jazzfest. We normally do not like those larger properties. I kept looking for a smaller property in the Quarter that wasn't all booked up and kept being directed to Hotel Mazarin. I knew nothing about it at all! I went totally off pictures and previous reviews and price for a small Quarter Hotel.
The trip was closing in and I decided to go ahead and book it. We booked a room with a Balcony. Upon arrival around 10 am on a Saturday we knew our room wouldnt be ready so the front desk and bellman took our bags and we went off on our way to enjoy the Quarter for a while. Our room was ready we we got back around 3 pm. The bellman brought our bags up and we were set. The room was a nice size. Marble floors with a few rugs around the bed. The bathroom was also a nice size. A large shower. If not having total privacy in the shower or a shower that does not have a sliding glass door bother you, this may not for you. My only disappointment in the room is that when booking it shows a room when I clicked on this room that did not match it. The one in the preview when booking had a dining table and two balcony's. I understand that all rooms cant be on the corner, but it was a little disappointing that it wasnt that room. The balcony is not really big enough for the chairs provided in the room and their is no table on the balcony to be able to sit and enjoy a glass of wine or drink on it. It was nice to open the doors and let the sounds of the Quarter and the nice weather in. I have asked before that when booking that I want the room in the photograph, but hey, we bookd at the last minute and it was a Jazzfest weekend. The room was really nice and I have no complaints about it at all when all is said and done.
The bed was vey comfortable. A little too soft for me, but not too bad. Lots of pillows too! The bathroom was a really nice size and has all the amenities you would expect. The towels were of nice quality also. We never turned the t.v. on so I have no idea about that, but I am sure it was fine if we had. A safe is provided in the chest that the t.v. sits on and always come i n handy. The little fridge that is provided is not big enough for a bottle of wine to lay down and the rack does not remove so you cannot stand it up either. A coffe maker is provided in the chest along with a few packages of coffee. We made coffe the first morning while getting ready and it was fine. The second morning when getting ready to make coffe we noticed that when they came to make the room up they replentished the coffee with all decafs! That was a big disappointment. We could have called the front desk, but we were getting ready and decided to just wait till breakfast. They also did not remove the coffee packets from the coffe maker when they cleaned the room. Little things, but thats what seperates the good from the really good and excellent hotels.
The breakfast that comes with the rooms and is offered down by the courtyard was excellent. Breakfast cereals, breakfast breads, grits, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, juices and coffee.Staring the day off with a nice breakfast in the courtyard by the fountain was a treat.
The staff was very friendly and helpful from the beginning. A very professional staff ready to be of service.
The hotel is located between Royal and Bourbon, closer to Bourbon St. The noise at night and especially on a weekend does make its way into the room, but it's New Olreans and thats part of it. It never interfered with our sleep, but if you are a light sleeper it might. We saw two different wedding party's march down in front of the Hotel . It was very cool! The bride and groom, the marching band, the wedding party following with their white handkerchiefs shaking them in the air.
I wouldnt hesitate to recommend Hotel Mazarin to anyone. A very clean and well maintined property. Excellent staff that appears to be ready to please! Close to all that the Quarter offers and still a short walk to the streetcars to go to the Garden District.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mccrazyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marengo, OH
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We paid top dollar for a king size room with balcony during jazz fest. And that's about all we got. The room overlooked road construction, so the balcony was a disappointment. The minibar was empty. The message light on the phone blinked continuously and would not make any calls. The breakfast buffet was typical (scrambled eggs, meat, toast) and did not feature any regional specialties other than grits. The staff was pleasant, but not very helpful with any of our requests (early check-in, fix the phone, explain the bill, etc).
On the other hand, we could not have asked for a better location. It was an easy walk to Bourbon Street and Jackson Square, art galleries, shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Balconies are only available on the third floor, facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The level of personal service from start to finish was amazing. The staff @ Hotel Mazarin exceeded our expectations Rene gave us directions & dining advise he was also very patient as he helped us with our luggage. We never heard NO. The room was amazing & the courtyard view beautiful. We would highly recommend a stay @ Hotel Mazarin!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabulous-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Quite honestly, this hotel exceeded my expectations. I had stayed here 13 years ago when it was the St. Louis Hotel - at that time it was a faded southern belle. Lovely architecture and details but a bit shabby.

Newly renovated as the Hotel Mazarin, our room was spacious (including the bathroom) and the staff was extremely helpful. I was expecting the complementary breakfast to be the typical offering of muffins, bagels and coffee. Instead, we were treated to a daily hot breakfast that included eggs, sausage, grits, fresh fruit salad and croissants. You can't beat the location - only steps away from Royal and Bourbon Street. Despite being so close to Bourbon Street, I was amazed at how quiet it was. The bellman, Rene, was so helpful and knowledge. He provided great recommendations for restaurants and tours.

I loved this hotel and would stay here again the next time I'm in New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Mazarin for our honeymoon last week, and it was great! The first room we were given did not match the description of the room we booked, but there were no other rooms available that night. The next day, the staff changed us to another room, and upgraded us for the troubles. There were no complaints or bad attitudes from this staff! They were also helpful with little things throughout the trip - band-aids, directions, hailing cabs, etc. The room was very comfortable, the TV was large and new, the breakfast was delicious, and our room was very quiet, despite being only one block from Bourbon Street. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We were advised at check-in that courtyard rooms are sometimes very noisy, because the hotel rents o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schmusebahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,202 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,546 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,155 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,102 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing