We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and comfortable”
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cochrane
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Charming and comfortable”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Mazarin is a jewel. The beds extremely comfortable, the rooms and entire establishment very clean, breakfast above expectations and friendly helpful staff. The location was perfect for us as all attractions were within walking distance. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family. The courtyard is a relaxing spot to enjoy breakfast or a glass of wine from the bar. I would have given this hotel an excellent rating but the housekeeping staff had a habit of forgetting to provide, soap or towels or glasses. I expressed some concern on this matter and it seems there were some new staff. Once we let them know what we were lacking, they were very quick to respond.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor and facing Bienville St. For only a half block off Bourbon, we found i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank out4goodtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,030
    975
    182
    91
    30
See reviews for
647
2,392
110
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Pros: Location, niceness of room, free breakfast, free wifi.

Cons: Wifi didn't work, weddings going on into the night makes it hard to sleep, staff is friendly but not very helpful.

Overall: nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Wanderlusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Hotel Mazarin is located 50 feet from Bourbon St! The room was significantly smaller than it appeared in the pictures on the website. Our room had a balcony over the wine bar courtyard below. This was a great balcony for viewing Bourbon St but pretty small with no chairs on it. The beds at this hotel were ridiculously comfortable and the room was nicely appointed. The only down fall is the noise. We stayed out pretty late, but it seemed like quiet hours in the area are from about 3 a.m. to 6 a.m. So if you are coming to go to sleep early this is not the location for you. If you are coming to party or sleep hard, than I would recommend this hotel. The breakfasts were nice, but the exact same each of the four mornings we were there. A little variation would be nice. Overall a very good experience with polite staff & very efficient cleaning folks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FOCO-Ohanadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houma la
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is the old St Louis Hotel that's been completely remodeled. Stayed here 2 years ago...musty, dirty, roaches. Couldn't find a room in the quarter because of French Quarter Fest except for here,( probably because of the name change) and didn't realize it was the old St Louis. would never have stayed here, but I'm soooo happy we did. It's just beautiful now. Sparkling clean, luxurious linens, and towels. Marble floors are so clean and window has shutters, so they will avoid musty carpet and fabric smells. Great idea.
We also didn't have a fridge, was told it would be sent up but never came. Large empty area by window should have had a table and chair , had to put things on the floor. Phone was also not plugged in and charged and couldn't call desk by the code on the phone, tried 0 and reached it that way. Room did have a strange smell, reminded me of roach spray! but may have been new furniture smell??
New buffet breakfast is just great. Fresh fruit cup. Scrambled eggs, perfect crispy bacon!, sausage,grits. Lots of other pastries, cereals, fruit yogurt as well as plain. Read here on line that could order eggs cooked to order, which I would have loved but was never told that, and there was no sign saying that. Can eat either in breakfast room in AC, or out in lush courtyard. Huge asset to the hotel.
Hotel bar is also just beautiful and has a lounge area, an outside patio area and also the courtyard area to have a drink in.
We did not have a wedding reception while we were there, but would not appreciate loud music till 11. Maybe management can stop that at 10, 10:30. After all it is the French Quarter, they can go party out there all night! But we are always prepared and use earplugs.
We will definitely go back. I've stayed in many places in the quarter and you can't beat this for location, ambiance, comfort, and now a great breakfast.
Hotel just needs to get outfitted with all of it's furniture, weatherstripping, etc. and it will be a fantastic place to enjoy New Orleans from.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank touschez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed in a corner deluxe king on the 3rd floor via a special on Bookit.com. Our visit started Easter night and ended the day the French Quarter Festival began.

The room was newly renovated and very nice with marble tile floors, lovely paint, furniture and fixtures. The bedding was very comfy, soft and thick. The bathroom is very nice but can use a shelf or stand to hold accessory bags. The shiny tile floor in the shower can be slippery - perhaps it can be textured by a professional?

We enjoyed the wi-fi, iPod player, coffeemaker and small refrigerator.

The full breakfast buffet was very good, and enjoyed in the banquet room or the courtyard around the fountain. Service was professional and thorough. Note there is no room service, restaurant or gift shop/snack service on the premises, though there are dozens of restaurants and stores very close-by.

Valet parking was very convenient but about $40 a day after tax, was quick, about 5 minutes, and very friendly. Patrick's Bar Vin offered a full variety of beverages, at a range of prices in a lovely setting.

All in all, we were very happy with our choice and stay.

Because the Mazarin is a new endeavor, we offer the following comments...
ASK about events in the courtyard... had we been notified that a wedding's jazz band would be playing in the naturally amplified area until 11pm, we would have made an attempt to be out at a quieter locale. We could not hear our TV, speak on the phone, nor sleep until it ended. Why not have a small sign on the checkin desk inviting the guests to "enjoy the live music" playing until ? pm. And our room was a bit off the courtyard... what a headache. Aside from the band, our room was very quiet.

There is no hotel information in the rooms, only a bound Where book. We found the fitness center the morning we left.

The cordless phone was not charged when we wanted to call about the band, nor was it obvious how to turn it on. I used my cell phone to call the front desk long distance.

Add another trash can in the bedroom.

An area with more tourist information would be welcome, as would daily newspapers especially for breakfast.

Maintenance men were painting trim or panels(?) in a corner of the courtyard - do they actually have another place to work? - but the scent of the paint was very strong and we moved inside to avoid it. Perhaps they can use the small back courtyard for tasks like this?

We will stay again... walk everywhere easily, friendly service, good value... a lovely visit, thank you!

Room Tip: Ask about event music in the main courtyard... if planned, go for the small rooms off the back cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank espritcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdezura, General Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for your positive review and staying at Hotel Mazarin. Our hotel renovation was a big success with all of our repeat and new hotel guests, our ownership put a lot of thought into our renovation, we are happy to hear you also approve. Hotel Mazarin is located in the heart of the French Quarter being 1/2 block off of Bourbon and Royal St, and I agree with you, it's truly an Oasis in the Quarter. Patrick's Bar Vin has a great space for a little libation, you feel like you're in your own living room. Patrick's Bar Vin is where all of the local go and is one of the best bars in the French Quarter.

We hope to see you again at Hotel Mazarin and thanks again for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I have stayed here twice and both times have exceeded my expectations. The hotel is modern in yet still has the old world charm that I love so much in New Orleans. The staff is very warm and friendly and goes out of their way to help with any issues you may be having. They also are very good with giving recommendations for dining. Every room opes to courtyard, which at any other hotel you would pay a premium rate for. I can't say enough good about the Hotel Mazarin. It is a charming little jewel and I can't wait for our next trip.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms do have quite a bit of noise from the street. We expected and were prepared for that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Della113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

A change of name caused some concern but the refurbishment of The St. Louis Hotel and the renaming to The Mazarin Hotel, Rue Bienville was a wonderful experience for us. Our greeting at the hotel was warm and friendly and overall we enjoyed our three night stay. However the long haul to the "annex" with suitcases, in the rain was not for the faint hearted, so if you're booking and not wishing to haul lugage please ask for a room in the main building.

Room Tip: As above ask for room in main hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saetor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdezura, General Manager at Hotel Mazarin, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you for your great comments about Hotel Mazarin. We pride ourselves in hiring the best talent in the City, making your experience a positive one. We hope to see you again very soon Hotel Mazarin. Thaks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,202 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,546 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,155 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,102 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing