We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Place”

Mayas Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Mayas Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #490 of 1,948 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Garden District
Cross street: St. Andrew Avenue
Transit: New Orleans RTA - www.norta.com Bus Stop @ Magazine & Jackson St. Charles Streetcar Stop @ St. Andrew & St. Charles
Description: A fare of new and traditional dishes from the Latin American region with a taste of Asian and Middle East influence.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Latin American, Caribbean and South American cuisine. Although that sounds like a great mix, it would be MUCH better to narrow it down and concentrate on a specific locale. The meals we had (Chicken Tropical,Caribbean Fish and the Seafood Moqueca) were all excellent.
Pineapple Mojito was also excellent but overpriced and took way to long to receive with a nearly empty venue. Tried the Trio dessert because of no bananas for the Bananas en Gloria. Our trio included the coconut flan, Tres Leches and the Pan de Pan... Go with the Tres Leches

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daddyfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    29
    7
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“great food. front of house a disaster.”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

About 2 months ago we stopped in for dinner and really enjoyed the food. 3 weeks ago we made a reservation through open table for 8pm. We left the restaurant hungry and unserved at 945 without ever having been sat. The front of house staff kept promising "it'll just be a minute" so they certianly knew we were there. Server was aggressively turning people away at the door and saying to her team mates shut down open table! someone has to shut it down! Decided to give them a chance on Saturday May 10th and made reservations through open table so we could enjoy the Magazine Street Champagne stroll. Restaurant was closed tight at 630pm, so they allowed customers to make reservations that they had no intention on honoring. Tried to review the restaurant on opentable.com but because they did not check us in either time we could not. TIme for the front of house team to get their act together.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank diamondseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

What a great find on magazine street. The staff was extremely friendly, the food was out of this world and we couldn't have been happier with our visit. The Chilean sea bass was prepared to perfection. Don't hesitate to dine at this great little spot!

Helpful?
1 Thank Garageatrois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in New Orleans”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The quality of food in New Orleans is very good but Mayas Nuevo Latino stands out as by far the best in the entire city. The menu is original, extensive and exciting. The quality is outstanding. The service is first class. The prices are very reasonable and comparable to those elsewhere that don't come close on quality.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Latin American Restaurant on Magazine Street”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed the friendly service, atmosphere and delicious food at this restaurant. It was our first dining experience in Nola, as we arrived on a Saturday evening to a condo within walking distance of the restaurant. The menu had many choices and even vegetarians dishes. Everything looked so tempting.The Paella Valenciana was outstanding! The staff was very helpful in giving us pointers as to how to get to the French Quarter. I believe that the restaurant was a good value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julika1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayas Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Mayas Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing