We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel but can use some updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Court Hotel
Ranked #7 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel but can use some updating”
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I think this is a great hotel but not sure if it really deserves it's extremely high rating. Service is TOP notch. No complaints there at all. However, you can tell at one time the hotel was grand but now it just looks old. Everything is definitely in good condition but it could use some updating especially the rooms. We had a suite room but didn't have a microwave...huh? The bathroom, not cozy at all....they need to beautify it. Nice linens, robes and towels.

The suites are bargain priced. Any hotel on the same level would not have a suite for $300! That's what we paid for ours and it was during the Essence Music Festival a huge event.

Perfect location in Central Business District. Right across the street from Harrah's.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atlcharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We appreciate hearing feedback from our guests as it helps in our ongoing efforts to continually grow, improve and provide that extra special experience.

We do hope that you will consider staying with Windsor Court again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    318
    108
    64
    37
See reviews for
319
652
47
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

This is a hotel you stay for business or pleasure and you come back for no other reason than you just want to stay at this hotel again. I have made trips back to New Orleans just to have a weekend of great food, pampering and the feeling that they are truly glad to have me as a guest!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racingchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your Windsor Court experience. It was a pleasure to hear your stay with us was enjoyable and that the service provided by our staff merited your attention in such a positive way!

We hope you will consider the Windsor Court your hotel of choice whenever your plans bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Beware of the Windsor Court Hotel!!! We were ROBBED in our room
We arrived two days before Thanksgiving 2010, looking forward to our stay. We went out to dinner and a little music Tuesday night and when we returned at 11:30, our adult daughter who was staying in our suite with us, ran into a friend and decided to stay out a little longer. When we went to our room, which was at the end of a hallway on the 18th floor, we decided to leave the door ajar for her to come back. At 3am, two unescorted "women of the night" were seen coming into the lobby and they proceeded to go to the elevators and up to our room. Our daughter was still out, but did not tell anyone where we were staying, or that the door would be ajar for her upon her return. The hotel has erroneously said our daughter is at fault and she was not. When she returned, she went right to the front desk to get a key, not knowing we had left the door ajar, she didn't even know the room number we were in!
The hotel has tried to blame us for being robbed in our room in the middle of the night while we were asleep, but in truth, their security is severely lacking. Someone should have stopped the women before they went to the elevators. They have their story completely wrong and they have conveniently said our daughter "told everyone" where she was staying and she repeatedly told the head of security that was not the case.
These women were in our room for 10 minutes and we never woke up, it is the most creepy feeling. I will never stay there again. They stole our cell phones, our ipod and jewelry, about $1700 worth of goods and the hotel has refused to reimburse us...shame on them. No one should be allowed to go up the elevators who are not staying in the hotel.
They have said the in room robbery was our fault! Needless to say, I will never stay there again.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank APT2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

The service from the moment we arrived was warm and gracious. All the staff we encountered were warm, gracious, courteous and helpful.

We enjoyed our room, it was spaciousness, bright and quite comfortable. The beds were very comfortable as were the pillows.

The hotel lobby is quite nice but the halls and the rooms could use some updating. I understand that renovations are about to begin. This should make the hotel just about perfect!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
As the leading Luxury Hotel in New Orleans, we always seek to make each stay special. When returning to New Orleans, we hope you again consider staying with the Windsor Court Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

having to leave it. The Windsor Court wraps a stress-free cocoon around its guests. If forced to describe the grand Windsor Court in one word, it would be PERFECTION. The spacious rooms are thoroughly lovely and beautiful. The staff is unparalleled in our vast travel experiences. Courtesy, courtesy, courtesy: but what else would one expect at a hotel with Windsor Court as its name? The Windsor Court at Christmas time is magical- across the board, guests responded to it all with wonderment. The WC spares no detail or expense. We also loved to people-watch when the guests, dressed in there splendid finery, arrived for the formal teas. Problems almost invariably arise over the course of lengthy stays at hotels.

Problem? What problem? No problem. As soon as staff were notified of any concern we had, they immediately responded by resolving the matter beyond (high) expectation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLH-KKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are so glad to hear that you had such a great experience during your stay with us!

We take pride in providing personalized service to our guests and are pleased when we learn that members of our team have gone beyond expectations.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windsor Court Hotel so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Should you decide to adventure away from the great dining at the hotel, walk a block to "Mother's" for breakfast and a history lesson. At night, "Galatoire's", brisk walk away, is also a must for the history of NOLA, and a fabulous meal.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bheathfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Thank you for sharing your Windsor Court experience. It is a great pleasure to know that your visit to the Windsor Court was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Although I only got a taste of the Windsor (I had a very short stay), it was yummy! Everyone was super courteous and the guests are treated with the utmost respect. My only criticism would be that the rooms could use some updating....not much, otherwise it would lose it's character; however, the decor would more likely attract "older" guests.

It is definitely worth a shot. Oh, one more thing-- I loved the location! Lots of good stuff around and everything was pretty much in walking distance (and that's coming from someone who doesn't do much walking!)

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JCrewBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We take pride in personalizing our service to fit your needs, and it appears several members of our team exceeded your expectations!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windsor Court Hotel, so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
7,286 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#23 of 164 in New Orleans
2,918 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,619 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 164 in New Orleans
2,511 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Court Hotel

Property: Windsor Court Hotel
Address: 300 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Business District, just three blocks walking distance of the French Quarter, Mississippi River and Warehouse/Arts District, Windsor Court Hotel is a member of the Legend Collection of Preferred Hotels and Resorts and a Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond hotel. This luxury hotel has almost all-suite accommodations; an outdoor heated swimming pool; Club Level accommodations including a private lounge; Boutique Spa; fitness center; two cocktail lounges featuring live music nightly; a salon for traditional Afternoon Tea; and the most premier AAA Four Star and Forbes Four Diamond Restaurant in the city, The Grill Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Windsor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Court New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing