We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Court Hotel
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
baltimore, maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed March 18, 2007

A wonderful suite hotel with an "old world" flavor and all the modern conveniences. Second floor bar is special, and invites you to stay in a city with lots of bourbon street bar activitiy. Service is top-notch

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank londoncal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    309
    107
    63
    36
See reviews for
306
636
47
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2007

We spent 3 nights at this lovely hotel in New Orleans. It is really a hidden gem. The full suite was nice and roomy. They could have had 2 tvs - one for the bedroom, one for the sitting room. It is almost a five, just needs a little tweaking. Examples -- light out in the bathroom vanity light the whole time we were there. The service in the main restaurant was downright slow, and the service staff did not apoligize at all. But the Polo Lounge was great. We ended up eating lunch there one day and the service and food was fantastic. The hotel itself is beautiful. Ask for a room on the opposite of the casino. It can be loud at night. It is just on the outskirts of the French quarter, a walk of maybe 5 - 10 minutes to get to Bourbon Street.

  • Liked — hotel is beautiful
  • Disliked — gift shop in lobby never open the whole time there
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mileway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2007

Service was outstanding, but not stuffy, always welcoming staff. We've lived in smaller places than the suite we stayed in. The decor was very well done. View of the Mississippi was very nice, particularly at night. Excellent food as well. Free wireless. Great location.

  • Liked — Excellent, welcoming service
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank GrahamB/RachelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2007

Sorry, the Club Level is still not orperating in January. I just returned from there yesterday, after booking the Club Level, only to be told that they were not "set Up" for the Club Level at this time, although I paid the price for three Club Level Rooms. Please don't expect anything better than the other levels, still a plastic shower curtain, worn bed linens, and large but not updated or luxury baths...........no hand towels in my room and the same old amentities, although I was told they were updated.
Not true.......the Windsor needs to do some major changes to restore the hotel to it's former grandeur. It is so sad.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank phyllisraines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2006

Want to know where to go for: 1) excellent service; 2) a facility that delivers what it promises; 3) staff personnel who appear to have a genuine ability and desire to be helpful; 4) clean rooms that clearly are attended to by housekeeping that cares; 5) local attractions and great restaurants; and 6) splendid day and evening views of the mighty Mississippi River?

It's called the Windsor Court Hotel owned and operated by Orient Express Hotels. We simply got tired of throwing our money away on over priced make believe luxury resorts like some of the Ritz Carlton. Instead- this place delivers!

If you'd like more, just drop me an e-mail and I'll reply. While you're there be sure and book at Antoine's and order the pan friend trout. Excellent, consistent and professional- that's how this place ranks.

  • Liked — Service and room delivered was exactly as promised!
  • Disliked — I had to leave after only four days.
  • Tips/Secrets — Conceirge is excellent. Talk with him and be specific. He's a magician.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank menace7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2006

We were here for a special event including a large banquet.

First. Some review have made comment about the hotel being a little shabby and faded -- I saw a few things not 100%, but very few and not really enough to fuss about.

Second: The service, despite still being understaffed, was wonderful. The responses were very fast. I managed to incorrectly enter my code into the safe and could not open it -- just while needing to rush out dressed to the nines. Security was up there in less than five minutes to open the safe and get me on my way. Every call was answered with the same dispatch. Needless to say, it is the wise person who requests service in a nice way rather than demanding.

Third: The food for the banquet was just to die for. I am sure we have all had banquet food to die from --this was truly a surprise. Everything was excellent, just as though prepared for my table alone. The service, also superb. Breakfast also fabulous.

The kitchen really makes the difference between the Windsor Court and the other top hotels around..

Yes, it is pricey, and you tip a lot. No ice machine, no micro or refrigerator in your room (but a mini bar into which you can put your own items), no in-room coffee. But, that seems to be the ways of a 5-star hotel.

  • Liked — Service and the Food
  • Disliked — Lack of in-room coffee
  • Tips/Secrets — If you want service and can afford room service, hotel laundry, etc. this is a fabulous place
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank patiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2006

My husband and I , New Orleans natives, stayed at the Windsor for our Anniversary weekend. We had stayed here 5 years previously for part of our honeymoon. Being Katrina victims ourselves, we had moderate expectations for this hotel now past the 1 year anniversary of that fateful day. And that is about what we got. The hotel is still beautiful but is a little worn. The rooms could use a refurbishing. The carpet has stains and the furniture is somewhat beat up. We stayed in a suite and had great views of the river. We booked it for $199 through the hotel web site. A great price for the Windsor in its current condition. I wouldn't pay more and I am sure we didn't pay this 5 years ago. There is only continental breakfast for room service and at $18 is way overpriced for toast, a biscuit and a crossiant with cofffee and OJ. And that is not including tax and service charge. You would do much better getting out for breakfast (and all your meals for that matter-this is New Orleans!). Lunch and dinner room service is only on the weekends. We did not eat in the Grill Room (the hotel restaurant). As for the rest of the service, it seemed understaffed but everyone was pleasant and glad we were there. Housekeeping was late everyday. No clean room until 3-5 pm. Getting our car always took a while with only 2 guys working valet. Overall, I am glad we stayed here but mostly for the memories. Both my husband and I inquired about possible renovations to this hotel and they are underway and working down the floors. Hopefully the Windor will return to its original prestigous status. I am sure that we will try it out again but not until this is done.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank busenkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,008 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,392 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,981 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Court Hotel

Property: Windsor Court Hotel
Address: 300 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Business District, just three blocks walking distance of the French Quarter, Mississippi River and Warehouse/Arts District, Windsor Court Hotel is a Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond hotel. This luxury hotel has almost all-suite accommodations; an outdoor heated swimming pool; Club Level accommodations including a private lounge; Boutique Spa; fitness center; two cocktail lounges featuring live music nightly; a salon for traditional Afternoon Tea; and the most premier AAA Four Star and Forbes Four Diamond Restaurant in the city, The Grill Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windsor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Court New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing