We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“If you want "cookie cutter" luxury-don't stay here-” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windsor Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Evergreen, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If you want "cookie cutter" luxury-don't stay here-”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

but if you you are looking for rooms that feel more like home than a hotel room, than this might be the place for you .
I do agree that some of the rooms could use some updating and some modern touches(direct cinema, newer tvs), however, I liken the Windsor Court to your favorite great aunts house-the one who has the beautiful home that you have been going to since you were a child. As you were growing up you loved going to visit and loved the rich fabrics, lovely furnishings and warmth it all conveyed. As you grew older, the furnishings all still stayed the same-the lovely drapes, the one of a kind artwork-and while your own taste evolved, you still loved visiting your aunts home-even though some would call it dated-but to you it was warm and comforting.
Some travelers prefer their" luxury" to be more along the lines of downright gaudy or more minimalist-I consider it a luxury to be somewhere that it makes it feel like you are at home. To me, the Windsor Court does that.
The staff have always been nothing but courteous, and the facilities are always extremely clean.
I have stayed here with children, a dog, and also with just my husband-and enjoyed my stay each and every time-

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quinnsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We appreciate hearing feedback from our guests as it helps in our ongoing efforts to continually grow, improve and provide that extra special experience.

It is a great pleasure to know that your visits to the Windsor Court are enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    294
    102
    63
    35
See reviews for
280
610
46
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

The hotel location is convenient (especially for gamblers), the rooms are huge and the service is delivered with courtesy and style. The bed and bedding is luxurious. The decor is comfortable and subtle - the hard-edged and colorful expressions found in a modern boutique would be inconsistent with stately posture. Having written that, it could use a refresh/modernization (i.e. the TV console that would elevate from a box at the foot of the bed).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadFoodWarrior_1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your Windsor Court Hotel experience. It was a pleasure to hear your stay with us was enjoyable and that the service provided by our staff merited your attention in such a positive way!

We hope you will consider the Windsor Court your hotel of choice whenever your plans bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

I am a New Orleans native, so this review is particularly tough to write. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THE WINDSOR COURT FOR TRAVELING WITH CHILDREN. We were visiting from Chicago with our kids for Spring Break. The lobby maintains the beauty it's had for decades, but the rooms, while all junior suites, were so dated they bordered on shabby. This could have been overlooked were it not for the horrible service. My husband and I are both business travelers and our children travel quite often with us. I told the concierge I was from the area and asked about new, family-friendly, restaurants nearby. She suggested a random, old classic. When I asked for something more recently opened, she had NO other suggestions. Later that evening, I asked a different concierge for a dinner suggestion and was given the name of the SAME, random restaurant. IF YOU STAY HERE, DEFINITELY DO YOUR RESTAURANT HOMEWORK IF YOU WANT SOMETHING THAT MORE LOCALS LOVE BECAUSE YOU CANNOT RELY ON THE CONCIERGES TO HELP YOU HERE.

Later in the evening, we promised the kids movies at bedtime, only to find the hotel did not offer OnDemand movies - on their old, tube tv's. When we called to inquire about this, we were told the Concierge had some movies - vhs - which could be played on the vcr (?) Turns out none of them were children's movies.

The lone bright spot was the Grill Room restaurant and amazing staff there. The rest of the hotel needs to get with the 21st century - or at least up to par with some of NOLA's lesser rated hotels.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 35805Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Windsor Court. It was a pleasure to hear that our restaurant staff provided a memorable dining experience in the Grill Room! Please accept our apologies, however, for any lapse in service you may have experienced with our concierge team. Please know that we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff so that we can continue to improve.

We strive to resolve any issues that are brought to our attention during your stay, whether it be related to accomodations or services. We hope you will return to the Windsor Court when your travels bring you back to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

Sorry rooms, poor service. Really did bot feel like a very premium experience. Very unclean place. Thy didn't even do our beds without us calling.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busorap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are sorry to read that your experience was to not your expectations.

Our Management Team is always poised to resolve any challenges that may arise during your stay, once we become aware of an issue.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We do hope that you will consider staying with Windsor Court in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

Overlooking the Mississippi River at the edge of the French Quarter, one is greeted in a bautifully planted courtyard by a small cadre of attendants who garciously provide a warm welcome That welcome is followed by what appears to be standard VIP treatment for the average guest at the reception desk. My suite lacked no amenities and the housekeeping staff from room preparation to turndown was very efficient. The luncheon buffet topped anything I have previously experienced in a hotel. It is spectacular. Upon departure the doorman asked if we wanted a taxi. When a limo appeared I paid little attention to it until called by name by the driver. The charge to go to the airport was the same as it had been for the traditional taxi when we arrived. I am telling all my friends headed to New Orleans, do not miss staying at the Windsor Court. It deserves five stars without a five star price..

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingdutchman7442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are so glad to hear that you had such a great experience during your stay with us!

We take pride in providing personalized service to to our guests and are pleased when we learn that members of our team have gone beyond expectations.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windsor Court Hotel so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

Delighted with the decor and spaciousness of the full suite. Stylish and comfortable common rooms including bar and tea room on main floor. Great pool and deck. Great location. We walked to almost everywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emergencyvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are so glad that you had a great experience at the Windsor Court!

We're so pleased to have provided a wonderful ambiance during your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windsor Court Hotel, so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

The staff at the Windsor Court is the reason why I consistently stay in this hotel when I have business in New Orleans. On my most recent trip, I left an item in my room when i checked out and was completely unaware that I had done so. The staff tracked me down and mailed it to me. This is but one example of their willingness to make their guests feel special.

The lobby and grounds are beautiful. The room is well appointed and comfortable, although the kitchenettes need to be modernized. Best of all, turn down service includes chocolates and pralines.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mellykins153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are so glad to hear that you had such a great experience during your stay with us!

We take pride in providing personalized service to to our guests and are pleased when we learn that members of our team have gone beyond expectations.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windsor Court Hotel so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,597 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,058 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,775 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Court Hotel

Property: Windsor Court Hotel
Address: 300 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Business District, just three blocks walking distance of the French Quarter, Mississippi River and Warehouse/Arts District, Windsor Court Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond and Forbes (formerly Mobil) Four Star Awarded hotel. This luxury hotel has almost all-suite accommodations; an outdoor heated swimming pool; Club Level accommodations including a private lounge; newly opened boutique Spa; two cocktail lounges featuring live music nightly; a salon for traditional Afternoon Tea; and the most premier AAA Four Star and Forbes Four Diamond Restaurant in the city, The Grill Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Windsor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Court New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing