We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance and attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Court Hotel
Ranked #7 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2010

We stayed in New Orleans for new year's eve 2010 and chose the Windsor Court from a few high end hotels with rooms still available at time of booking. We stayed at the Windsor Court when it first opened in the 80s but during this stay we were able to better appreciate the Hotel's aesthetics. It is a very elegant and traditional hotel. Decorations are very English and in keeping with the theme. Holiday decorations were excellent. One of our party who stayed elsewhere was not even interested in seeing the hotel because she was not interested in what she perceived to be the decor. For the price, it was a great value. Easily worth three times the price in NYC. Service outstanding. My biggest complaint about the Windsor Court was the fact that I could not get coffee the first morning once I left my room. It is unacceptable that coffee cannot be had inside the hotel in the morning if you fall between the restaurant's breakfast hour and lunch hour. I ordered room service the next morning which I guess was the hotel's intent. In my mind there is no excuse for not having in-room coffee available. If I'm at this hotel I will spend enough money in the hotel so that in room coffee is not a concern. Very disappointing. Location used to be good but now is so-so because of the ginormous Harrah's casino smack dab across the street. Some will find this convenient but the casino is not an attraction for me. Morton's nearby was excellent and the French Quarter is an easy walk. The World War II museum is not far and a visit there is recommended. Also walked to Superdome for the Sugar Bowl and was easy walk. However, taxis are always available at the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank queen of belize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2010

On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are so glad that you had a great experience at the Windsor Court!

We take pride in personalizing our service to fit your needs, and we're pleased to have provided a wonderful ambiance to enjoy your vacation. We are sorry to read of the inconvenience of not having in-room coffe in every room. However, as a full service Hotel, we certainly offer coffee makers upon request, and also offer 24 hour Suite Service to have coffee delivered at your leisure.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windsor Court Hotel, so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,678)
There are newer reviews for Windsor Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,463 - 1,469 of 1,678 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2010

Stayed for the first time at the Windsor Court for three nights after Christmas. New Orleans was jumping as New Years Eve was approaching and the hotel was busy too. However, room service was delivered promptly, doormen were always there with a smile and an umbrella (nice touch). The rooms are very spacious and nice. We had a suite with a nice view of the river. The rooms are dated somewhat but that is part of the charm. However, the shower/tub combo needs an upgrade. The paint was peeling and the water pressure was so light that I could not get the shampoo out of my hair and I am a 40 year old man. It was the only drawback to an otherwise wonderful stay at a great hotel. We are returning in February 2010.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoWhoDatHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2010

On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are so glad that you had a great experience at the Windsor Court!

We take pride in personalizing our service to fit your needs, and it appears several members of our Team exceeded your expectations! We're so pleased to have provided a wonderful ambiance during your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windsor Court Hotel, so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

A beautiful hotel and particularly professional, courteous staff. We had one of the regular hotel rooms -- not a full suite -- but it was lovely with a terrific large bathroom. While the decor was not "cutting edge", it was very handsome and in top shape, so I'm surprised by some of the comments. Also, the walk to the heart of the French Quarter is just 10-12 minutes, so very easy to access. Taxis everywhere as well. Appreciated the good complimentary coffee in lobby each morning and nice gym with good equipment. I only have one objection: breakfast prices are too steep!! The buffet is almost $30. Highly recommend the Windsor Court as a treat place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WAStraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2010

On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are so glad that you had a great experience at the Windsor Court!

We take pride in personalizing our service to fit your needs, and it appears Ryan exceeded your expectations! We're so pleased to have provided a wonderful ambiance during your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windsor Court Hotel, so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Our family of 5 (parents and 3 adult children) were so happy to spend time in a city we had never visited. The Windsor Court Hotel made Xmas perfect for us. The suites are as large as our apartment in NYC and very graciously appointed. Although some furnishings were old that was part of the charm for us. The suite was cleaned each day and robes and slippers laid out for that special touch. Everyone on staff went out of their way to make this a Christmas worth remembering.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simom6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2010

On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are so glad that you had a great experience at the Windsor Court!

We take pride in personalizing our service to fit your needs! We're so pleased to have provided a wonderful ambiance during your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windsor Court Hotel, so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

I've stayed at many hotels in New Orleans and this hotel was the absolute worst.

Rooms: The rooms are DATED. And by dated, I mean 30+ years old. Our room looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months. Believe the other reviews! This place is not worth your money!

Location: The location is ok. The hotel is next to Harrah's casino if you like to gamble. We do not like to gamble, and we were pretty far from some of the French Quarter restaurants. When I go back to New Orleans, I'll probably stay at the Loew's or Ritz. We have stayed at the Ritz before and really loved it.

Service/Food: hit or miss. We interacted with some lovely people, but some were absolutely rude. The afternoon tea was nice, but service was lacking. The waitress barely came back to our table to refill our cups. I will not be back for that. Also, we went to see the fireworks on New Year's after a wonderful dinner at another hotel restaurant. We paid $40/person to see the fireworks (drinks not included), but there was no view of the fireworks because they were completely blocked by a parking garage. We didn't see 1 firework for our $40/person. I don't understand how they can charge people for this. No one was offered a refund... we should've stayed at the other hotel for the evening after dinner and enjoyed the better entertainment.

There are too many hotels in New Orleans to waste your vacation at this one. I would check out the Ritz, Loew's, or Roosevelt for luxury. If you want location, stay at the Monteleone or Omni Royal Orleans.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lepmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2010

On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts.

We are sorry to see that the room did not meet your standards. We are constantly looking to improve and upgrade our luxury offering, and appreciate your comments in helping us to achieve that goal.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windsor Court Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

The Windsor Court needs to be updated and cleaned up.The rooms are large and comfortable but the carpets were worn, the kitchenette was about 30 years old, the bedskirts were hanging off, the sheets weren't clean and the mirrors were all covered in dust. The manager was helpful, however, there wasn't much he could do since all the rooms were the same.The concierge desk had 2 employees during our stay, neither was able to give us advice on restaurants other then a printed list. We found this especially suprising since every person we met in the city gave us a long list of their favorites. Other then a great location in a great city I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank China2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2010

On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are so glad that you enjoyed our location!

We are sorry to see that the room did not meet your standards. We are constantly looking to improve and upgrade our luxury offering, and appreciate your comments in helping us to achieve that goal. As well, our Concierge Team is rated among the best anywhere, poised and readily available to offer fantastic recommendations to all of the city's sights and restaurants.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We do hope you consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

Not too much wrong with this place. Great room with very little noise and a comfy bed. The TV remote didn't work but we didn't really care. If you are in New Orleans to watch TV you are in the wrong city. Room service was fast and high-quality, especially for late-night. Only complaints - had to call housekeeping for shampoo (twice). Also the concierge tried to steer us away from a restaurant (August) that ended up being one of the best I've ever been to - instead he recommended the hotel restaurant, which we thought was a kinda cheesy thing to do. But not a big deal. The walk to/from the quarter seemed long, but usually welcomed as a way to "walk off" the preceding debauchery.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandbartender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2010

On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are so glad that you had a great experience at the Windsor Court!

We take pride in personalizing our service to fit your needs, and it appears our Room Service team exceeded your expectations! We're so pleased to have provided a wonderful ambiance during your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windsor Court Hotel, so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 165 in New Orleans
7,415 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#20 of 165 in New Orleans
2,977 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 165 in New Orleans
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 165 in New Orleans
4,197 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 165 in New Orleans
4,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Court Hotel

Address: 300 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $276 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Business District, just three blocks walking distance of the French Quarter, Mississippi River and Warehouse/Arts District, Windsor Court Hotel is a member of the Legend Collection of Preferred Hotels and Resorts and a Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond hotel. This luxury hotel has almost all-suite accommodations; an outdoor heated swimming pool; Club Level accommodations including a private lounge; Boutique Spa; fitness center; Polo Club Lounge featuring live music nightly; a salon for traditional Afternoon Tea; and the most premier AAA Four Star and Forbes Four Diamond Restaurant in the city, The Grill Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Windsor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Court New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing