We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Windsor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Court Hotel
Ranked #7 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
1 review
“Wonderful Windsor”
Reviewed January 17, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Windsor Court Hotel in December 2008. The staff, the food, the accommodations, and the decorations were fabulous. We were particularly fond of the Polo Club Lounge. A very cozy, lively, and comfortable location for a late lunch, a drink before dinner, or after dinner drinks. My wife left her scarf in the lounge one night, a staff member locked it up, and upon our inquiry at least 24 hours later, the staff graciously returned it. An excellent location, an easy walk to the French Quarter, but away from the late and early morning noise of the Quarter.

  • Liked — Nicely decorated room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverPilate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2009
On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. Your recognition of our Team is delightful, and we are very pleased to provide a "cozy, lively" entertainment venue in the Polo Lounge.

We take pride in making every occasion a special one, and in personalizing our service to your needs.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windsor Court Hotel, so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,115
    316
    108
    63
    37
See reviews for
312
644
47
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2009

Staying at the Windsor Court is always a pleasure. The service is outstanding and is the main reason to stay here. Heated outdoor saltwater pool is very relaxing, so bring your bathing suit.

Internet access is fast and free, so there is no annoying charge as at many other hotels. This is one of the many small, but significant, ways in which the Windsor Court treats guests well.

I hope I will be back soon!

  • Liked — Level of service provided by hotel staff.
  • Disliked — Small imperfections in room -- dent where doorknob hit bathroom wall, for example.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ljm3764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2009
On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. Your recognition of our Team is delightful, and we are very proud that you feel the Windsor Court is "always a pleasure", where "the service is outstanding".

We take pride in making every occasion a special one, and in personalizing our service to your needs.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windsor Court Hotel, so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2009

My daughters and I were in New Orleans for my nephew's graduation from the New Orleans Police Academy the end of December. We chose the Windsor Court b/c of past memories with our parents - they loved to have tea there!!!!! It is also a great location - easy to get to the French Quarter and the Garden District. We were not there long and did not get to try the restuarant or lounge (or have tea), but did have room service for breakfast one day and it was delicious. The hotel and staff are trying very hard to return everything to it's pre-Katrina status. It was decorated beautifully for the holidays. We had a corner room with two very comfortable beds and it was huge. Very quiet. We loved it, but the best part were the employees. They could not have been any friendlier or more accomodating - from check-in, to bell staff to concierge to housekeeping. I inadvertently left all my jewelry out in our room one day and have to admit I was very nervous about it; when I realized it. When we returned, it was all there safe and sound and had not been touched. I think that says a lot about the quality of people they have working there. We will definitely go back, the next time we are in New Orleans.

  • Liked — Great room - large and quiet.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gidget53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2009
On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. Your recognition of our Team is delightful, and we are very proud that you feel our team "could not have been friendlier or more accommodating".

We take pride in making every occasion a special one, and in personalizing our service to your needs.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windsor Court Hotel, so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, MA
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

My wife and I visited New Orleans for the first time in December and wanted to stay in what we thought would be the best hotel in town, well situated for the sights we wanted to see. The Windsor Court was a perfect choice. This is near the French Quarter in a nice part of the city, and our room offered a view of the Mississippi River. As New Englanders, we found the welcomes in New Orleans unsurpassed, whether in restaurants or shops, and every staff member of the hotel was as helpful and welcoming as possible. Everyone should visit New Orleans post-Katrina, as it is a testament to the love and dedication of people who have suffered great loss and fought back with great pride. This hotel is as good as any hotel, anywhere.

  • Liked — Quality, staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobLongmeadow_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2009
On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. Your recognition of our Team is delightful, and we are very proud that you feel the Windsor Court is "as good as any hotel, anywhere".

We take pride in making every occasion a special one, and in personalizing our service to your needs.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windsor Court Hotel, so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

American Express had originally booked the Ritz Carlton for my 5-day birthday stay in New Orleans. After seeing some current photos taken by a Trip Advisor reviewer, I asked AmEx to book me into a different hotel. The choice of the Windsor Court could not have been better!

Upon my early arrival, Ashley on the front desk greeted me enthusiastically and was genuinely interested in my birthday celebration trip! She had upgraded me from a Junior Suite to a Full Suite (I didn't know it at this point) and as the room was not ready said they would store the luggage and call me on my cell phone the moment it was ready. This was fine as we had a full day's activities planned.

In the early afternoon, the call came as promised. However, we didn't complete the check in for a couple hours because we were having too much fun snacking on raw oysters in the French Quarter. When we did arrive back at the hotel, I was again cheerfully greeted and told my luggage would be brought up immediately. I was pleasantly shocked to see we had been upgraded to a FULL suite. The luggage arrived within 5 minutes (you know at some hotels it can take an hour). Shortly afterwards, the door bell rang and a bottle of Veuve Clicquot had been sent by the hotel management as birthday cheer! Again, a super pleasant surprise!

Throughout our stay, staff (restaurant, bellmen, concierge) kept asking how the birthday trip was going and giving me birthday wishes on the exact day. Everyone seemed to really enjoy working at the hotel and the feeling was passed on to the guests. This was a huge positive.

I don't think I need to describe the room, other than to say it was super clean and everything was in working order and really, the bedding was luxurious! I fell asleep quickly and easily each night. The marble floors and walls in the bath were opulent. The shower was hot and strong. It's probably a shame we didn't spend more time in the room! Our city view was fantastic!

The main restaurant, The New Orleans Grill, was a bit pricey for breakfast, but absolutely excellent. On our last morning there, the staff even came by to say "goodbye" and "safe trip." They also offered to pack snacks and fruit for us for the drive! Our dinner there (the first night) was excellent. Service was attentive, friendly and neither rushed nor pesty. It was reasonably priced for a wonderful array of appetizers shared by the two of us.

Our stay at the Windsor Court made us genuinely feel welcome in New Orleans. I can't wait to return and would not consider staying at any other hotel. The Windsor Court hotel is absolutely the top hotel I have stayed in in North America and Europe ( That includes the former Plaza NYC and Hotel Sacher in Vienna)

  • Liked — The Staff was awesome! Everyone was genuinely friendly and super efficient.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wnbamiamisol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2009
On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. Your passion and excitement for the Windsor Court Hotel makes us so very proud to be your location of choice!

We take pride in making every occasion a special one, and in personalizing our service to your needs. We hope that we can make your next birthday even more special!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windsor Court Hotel, so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2008

Not sure where all the rave reviews come from. We stayed on the club level and it was certainly NOT the Ritz. Rooms were ok, bathrooms were poorly lit with horrible, dirty white rugs and toilet mats. Mirror was peeling. The club lounge was lacking the extra attention to cleanliness you find at a Four Seasons or Ritz. Tables were not cleaned well and plates, utensils were dirty. Staff was very friendly and accomodating and the location is great - But the finer touches just aren't there.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelqueen20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2009
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are disappointed to hear that you encountered challenges during your stay, particularly in regards to to the condition of your Guest room, as we strive to achieve the very best. As the leading luxury hotel in New Orleans and only hotel in the city to be coveted with Mobil Four Stars and AAA Four Diamonds, please know that this is not the normal experience of a Windsor Court guest.

Rest assured that we will investigate your experience and will address the issues with the appropriate team members to ensure future guests do not experience the same occurrences.

We do hope you will give us another opportunity to make it up to you as I am confident that you will have a more positive experience during your next stay.

Thank you very much again for your feedback…we look forward to being of service to you on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2008

My family took a quick trip to New Orleans to get away after Christmas. We decided to stay at the Windsor Court, since it is one of our favorite hotels in New Orleans. As always, the Windsor Court was outstanding. The lobby was still decorated for Christmas, and it was beautiful. Our room was very comfortable, elegant, and clean. The room service food was delicious and served timely. We will definitely return to the Windsor Court soon.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank BatonRougewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2009
On behalf of the entire team at Windsor Court, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are so pleased you took an opportunity to treat yourself to a getaway after Christmas!

At the Windsor Court, we take pride in providing an experience that will surprise and delight you at every opportunity.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel, so that we can make your next stay equally unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,211 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,551 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 163 in New Orleans
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,116 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Court Hotel

Property: Windsor Court Hotel
Address: 300 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Business District, just three blocks walking distance of the French Quarter, Mississippi River and Warehouse/Arts District, Windsor Court Hotel is a member of the Legend Collection of Preferred Hotels and Resorts and a Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond hotel. This luxury hotel has almost all-suite accommodations; an outdoor heated swimming pool; Club Level accommodations including a private lounge; Boutique Spa; fitness center; two cocktail lounges featuring live music nightly; a salon for traditional Afternoon Tea; and the most premier AAA Four Star and Forbes Four Diamond Restaurant in the city, The Grill Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Windsor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Court New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing