We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place we stay in New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Court Hotel
Ranked #7 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only place we stay in New Orleans”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Every stay at the Windsor Ct has been top notch. The staff and accommodations are the best we have found in New Orleans. We stay two or three nights several times a year. The location is convenient to Riverwalk, Aquarium, French Quarter, warehouse district, Superdome, New Orleans arena and uptown. The apartment style rooms allows guests to visit in the privacy of the guest room without being in the bedroom. You can certainly pay less for a room in New Orleans but price is relative. Windsor Ct is worth it a strong five star on our list.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Richard P,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your most recent stay with us. We appreciate your patronage over the years and are happy to hear that our staff, accommodations and location meets all your needs while in New Orleans. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    319
    108
    64
    37
See reviews for
319
654
47
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East End, Grand Cayman
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

My fiance and I had a long weekend elopement trip to New Orleans. We were considering renting a house but wanted to be near the french quarter and found a great hotwire secret rate deal for the Windsor. (there are only two 5-star hotels in New Orleans so it's easy to distinguish which is which on these secret rates).

We ended up renting a car from the airport and arrived at the hotel... valet only. I asked if there were any other parking options and the man who greeted us said "We only do valet... Welcome to the Windsor" Well, valet overnight is $45 so I found a parking lot a few blocks away.

Lobby is beautiful, staff was all very friendly. Although we got the cheap rate, I asked for a river view and we had an amazing view on the 17th floor where we watched tugs, ships, and riverboats along the Mississippi. The room was perfect, a junior suite with everything clean and comfortable. Despite the height, there was a lot of street noise in the morning, along with boat and train horns, but not terrible. WIFI is free, although it is extremely slow and you have to pay for a faster connection. I've never understood how all the budget motels have great free wifi but these 5-stars will charge you.

Great location, just a few minute walk into the French Quarter to the east, Warehouse district to the west, and Harrahs right across the street.

For a special occasion it was great, but I would not spend that much money for a hotel again.

Room Tip: Riverview has amazing views, although north side will probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Sean C,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent long weekend with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our accommodations and location were all that you were looking for. We appreciate you choosing us for your special occasion and look forward to welcoming you back for many more years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, MS
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We just enjoyed three nights at the Windsor Court as we celebrated our Wedding Anniversary. It was a beautiful escape in the midst of a busy city. It is convenient to walk to the Riverwalk, to the Quarter, to multiple restaurants. Every employee was smiling, welcoming, helpful, and anxious to us to enjoy our stay. Drinks in the Polo Lounge were pricey as were the meals in the Restaurant; however, these should be expected based on the quality of the property. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear csings,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear Windsor Court could be part of a memorable anniversary celebration for you! We appreciate you sharing your experience with others and look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at Windsor Court for four nights and will recommend it highly. The location was within walking distance to all the sights and restaurants and the room (a suite) was spacious and very comfortable. Concierge service was very helpful, arranging tours and suggesting terrific restaurants. We plan on a return trip and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanwOttawa_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear joanwOttawa_Ontario,

Thank you for writing about your trip to New Orleans and the Windsor Court. I'm so pleased to hear you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and that our location was ideal for exploring the city. We appreciate your patronage and your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at the Windsor Court Hotel in New Orleans for five nights in late June. From the airport we took a $33 cab ride (fixed rate) to the hotel. Construction going on which caused a delay leading to the hotel but once you turned the corner the hotel entrance is just beautiful. Entrance was nicely landscaped, fountain in the middle, a small oasis. We entered the lobby and there was a huge bouquet of fresh long stemmed roses and the lobby area is really nice.

We had made our reservations months ago and requested a suite on a high floor, club level, with river view. They were sold out the first night and we were placed in a room on the other side (parking lot, rooftop view). We were told they would find us the room requested and would move our belongings the next day.

Check-In: Staff was professional and courteous. Fast and easy check-in and we were given a card for two drinks at the bar which we enjoyed.

Housekeeping: What I liked is at check-in they asked for a time frame we would like housekeeping each day. We prefer morning and our room was always clean by the time we returned. I think housekeeping did an excellent job for us during the day and for nightly turn down service.

Room: After our move to a new room, full suite, bedroom separated by French doors, large dining table by the window, living room area, separate bar area, two tv’s on the top floor. Bathroom has a separate vanity area which was nice. One thing we didn’t see were any outlets available to guests by the bed (one by each night stand would be an improvement).

Club service: This was great. You need to use your room key to get to the club level. From morning to late evening refreshments were provided. We never made it to afternoon tea or saw what was available for lunch but we did have plenty of fresh fruit/berries each morning and oatmeal. Also bottled and sparkling water is available at all times in addition to the liquor. We also took advantage of the coffee, hot tea and espresso drinks.

Location: Close enough if you want to go to the French Quarter but far enough away which suited us just fine. Hotel is located off of a quiet street and close to the street car which we took to City Park.

Hotel restaurant and bars: We visited the lobby bar, Polo Lounge and The Grill Room. All staff we encountered were pleasant, food and drink very good.

Least favorite part of the hotel was the pool. We spent a few hours on Sunday afternoon. There appeared to be one staff member working a bar but the place was a mess. There were remnants of lunches and snacks eaten earlier in the day, dirty napkins, plates, empty drink glasses, condiments not cleaned up. Lounge chairs with used towels (no one was coming back) not taken care of, general lack of service. For such a beautiful hotel it would seem this would be a priority. Several guests had been drinking quite a bit and decided to get a personal portable sound system and crank up the music. Classy? Not quite, especially when you are there to relax and the music choice was pretty awful. Right after the one staff member left for the day several people came to the pool (no guest key required) with towels (bath towels from home, not from the hotel) and backpacks. They were in street clothes and took over an area in the pool at the ladder. Also no one came around to offer food or drinks during our stay at the pool.

Room Tip: Top floor suite, club level, river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeattleD_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear SeattleD_7,

Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that, overall, you had an enjoyable weeklong visit with us and that you are inclined to return on your next trip to New Orleans. I am disappointed to hear about your experience at the pool; however, I do believe I know which weekend you are referring to and we have since addressed the challenges you are speaking of and I am confident it is much improved. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New orleans
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is my Happy Place! Nobody does it like the Windsor Court. And I am speaking from an event planner /DMC point of view. Love it! From the moment you pull up to the hotel to the moment you leave it is a wonderful experience and one like no other in this great city. It will always be my first choice of hotels in New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Marguerite00,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to hear we are your first choice of hotels in New Orleans. As a local, your opinion means even that much more. We appreciate your support and continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has some good things and not good things but it does not deserve the star rating it has.

The positive - the staff are mostly great, Polo Lounge is good, food is good and rooms are fairly spacious.

On the downside, the room was dirty in ways I will not detail here, but needless to say it was quite gross. Furniture was run down and even in bad disrepair in some parts of the room. These are not things you would find in a higher-rated hotel. As with most NOLA hotels, you will pay a premium for parking.

Location is to your preference - it was a bit far from the FQ for us, but that could be a plus to others.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denali5540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Denali5540,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that we did not live up to your expectations and deeply apologize that housekeeping in particular was not up to the Windsor Court standard. Please feel free to contact me with any additional specifics you can share so that we can investigate this further. I'm also sorry to hear you did not find our location to be to your liking as our central location is one of the aspects of the hotel that people like the most. Thank you again for your comments. Should your travels bring you back to the New Orleans area, we would love the opportunity to welcome you back for a true Windsor Court experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,300 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#23 of 164 in New Orleans
2,926 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
4,626 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 164 in New Orleans
2,514 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Court Hotel

Property: Windsor Court Hotel
Address: 300 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Business District, just three blocks walking distance of the French Quarter, Mississippi River and Warehouse/Arts District, Windsor Court Hotel is a member of the Legend Collection of Preferred Hotels and Resorts and a Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond hotel. This luxury hotel has almost all-suite accommodations; an outdoor heated swimming pool; Club Level accommodations including a private lounge; Boutique Spa; fitness center; two cocktail lounges featuring live music nightly; a salon for traditional Afternoon Tea; and the most premier AAA Four Star and Forbes Four Diamond Restaurant in the city, The Grill Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Windsor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Court New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing