We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best in New Orleans - Perhaps, but still a little disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Court Hotel
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The best in New Orleans - Perhaps, but still a little disappointing”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Some commentators describe the Windsor Court Hotel as the best in New Orleans. It is conveniently located on the edge of the French Quarter. It is a recently built hotel (1984) but the interior is as if it were 1884. This is not a criticism. It is elegant. The lobby is impressive. The staff were helpful and attentive. However it falls short in matters of detail. The clock in our room did not work. On of the lampshades was broken. These two issues suggest lack of attention to detail after a guest checks out. Our room service was not cleared away and was left in our room after the daily servicing. We did not consistently receive a room service. These may be small matters. However overall they result in the hotel falling short of what you would hope for in the 'best hotel in new Orleans'.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phillip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Phillip G,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. I am sorry to hear we disappointed you and that we fell short of your expectations on being the best hotel in New Orleans. You are indeed correct, that often times it is the small details that make all the difference, no matter how busy we may be. I will certainly share your feedback with our leaders to ensure this very valuable comment is being emphasized. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back for the stay you expect and that I know Windsor Court can provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    309
    107
    63
    36
See reviews for
306
636
47
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We have been privilege to be guests of this hotel since 1984. Katrina was not kind to New Orleans. However, Windsor Court has recovered. The beautiful pink roses are a welcome greeting upon arrival. The guest rooms, we were in a one bedroom suite 1601, show a little wear but are a good bargain for the $$$. We had problems with a broken closet door, a/c noisy and not cooling properly, low water pressure in the shower, LR windows cloudy. All of these faults were out weighted by the over all common areas, art wrk and location.
If there is a negative, it is then experience and training of some staff. All give it 100% but are not quite professional and polished. The Grill Room is a beautiful space. It has lost a little of it's luster over the years. It is nothing another Chef like Kevin Graham could not overcome.
We will continue to love the hotel and recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Request a River view, high floor 16 or above, balcony, corner rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parisfancy414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Parisfancy414,

Thank you for writing about your most recent stay with us and thank you for your continued patronage these past 30 years. I am so glad to hear that you have continued to have an enjoyable experience over the years and that Windsor Court can be on the list of hotels you recommend to your friends. We strive for excellence and certainly work on that every day. It is comments from guests such as yourself that we can use to grow and learn. We appreciate your relationship with us for all these years and look forward to welcoming you back to this classic gem for many more years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I liked this hotel which is celebrating its 30th anniversary this year, although in some respects it is showing its age. I was there on business but my wife came along and she really liked the spa and the massage she received. There is no breakfast buffet but everything was cooked to order and came out hot and within a reasonable amount of time. Service at the hotel is excellent although not quite at the Four Seasons level.

The rooms in this hotel are huge. Be it a regular room or a suite, the rooms are some of the biggest you will find anywhere. However, some of the furnishings did seem somewhat dated but, overall, the room was comfortable and everything worked.

The hallways can be dark and dingy, in need of better lighting, fresh paint, and perhaps some new carpeting. This did leave a somewhat negative impression but not enough to keep us from staying again or recommending the hotel to others. Still, it's an area the hotel can improve upon.

One nice thing is that the hotel is within easy walking distance to both the French Quarter and the convention center which was a plus for me during the day and for us at night when going to restaurants. Also, the hotel's location is slightly secluded which means you avoid a lot of the street traffic from Canal Street and the French Quarter. The hotel's clientele is decidedly upscale and refined, and offered a welcome respite from the big convention hotels where rowdy types are in abundance and on full display in the hotel lobby, willing to display their unruliness and drunkenness to one and all.

The hotel bar and lounge should not be missed for a late afternoon or early evening refreshment.

Room Tip: Suites have the toilet and shower/tub separate from the sink area which can be convenient when more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon5839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Jon5839,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that, overall, you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you will continue to return; however, I am disappointed to hear that our furnishings did not meet your expectations. We have a great preventative maintenance or 'CARE' team, as we call it, that ensures our accommodations and public areas are well maintained. I will be sure to touch base with them to see how our methods can be improved. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with others and look forward to welcoming you back for another nice escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed in a junior suite(we were in New Orleans for a wedding) and it was very spacious-bedroom,dressing area, spacious bathroom and sitting room with desk and flat screen T.V.(there was a flat screen in bedroom also. Service was very good. I would have rated it excellent but the prices of our breakfasts were outrageous. My husband and I shared a fruit plate and we each had Irish oatmeal and coffee and the bill was fifty dollars with a tip. The hotel is located right outside the French Quarter which was great because it's an easy walk to attractions but it was quiet at night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zin827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear zin827,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent trip to New Orleans and the Windsor Court. I am pleased to hear that, overall, you and your family had a luxurious and pleasant stay with us. We appreciate your comments and your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

So happy we found this hotel that is an oasis from the action of New Orleans but only a short walk from it all.

Outstanding service. Clean comfortable rooms.

The Polo Club Lounge is a very comfortable place to relax for a drink after a long day exploring the city. Great cocktails and live music certain nights.

Friend were staying at a different hotel within the French Quarter and all we heard about from them was how they could sleep because of all the noise all night long.

If you are looking a small quiet upscale choice this is it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njfamilyvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear njfamilyvacation,

Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear you found your way to us and that our service, accommodations and location were exactly what you were looking for. We appreciate your comments and your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WICHITA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

What a great facility. The staff was just wonderful! You were always greeted with a hello, or good afternoon or good evening from everyone from the bellman, to the maids! We felt really comfortable in our room. We were fortunate to have a two room suite that had separate sinks in separate rooms. The bed was comfortable. One thing, if there was any complaint is that the hotel kept the temperature really cool. We were literally freezing in the lobby area waiting for our bus to go on our tour. And the tv in the living room didn't work. Not really a big deal but I would have used that tv more if it worked. All in all, we were very satisfied with our stay and with the value of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RUSSELL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear RUSSELL R,

Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that in particular, our friendly and accommodating staff was one of the primary reasons for that. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others and look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Located slightly out of the noisy French Quarter, the Windsor Court offers the best of both worlds. It's an easy walk to all the French Quarter action, and a lovely, quiet place to return to each evening. A fun bar, nice dining room and beautiful roof-top pool make the Windsor Court a good choice when visiting New Orleans.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river provide lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0nnieand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear LonnieAnd,

Thank you for writing about your recent visit to New Orleans and the Windsor Court. I am so pleased to hear our location, food and beverage outlets, and rooftop pool created a memorable and great stay with us. We appreciate your comments and your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,004 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,386 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,974 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Court Hotel

Property: Windsor Court Hotel
Address: 300 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Business District, just three blocks walking distance of the French Quarter, Mississippi River and Warehouse/Arts District, Windsor Court Hotel is a Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond hotel. This luxury hotel has almost all-suite accommodations; an outdoor heated swimming pool; Club Level accommodations including a private lounge; Boutique Spa; fitness center; two cocktail lounges featuring live music nightly; a salon for traditional Afternoon Tea; and the most premier AAA Four Star and Forbes Four Diamond Restaurant in the city, The Grill Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Windsor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Court New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing