We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Court Hotel
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was one of the best hotel experiences ever,we really enjoyed everything the five days we stayed over Christmas.
We stayed in a suite at the club level,and the room was really nice and perfect for our Christmas stay.We are a family of five and had a lot of space.The Club lounge was excellent,absolutely worth paying the extra for club level.The staff was always there with a smile and all the help we could need -Thank you -
We also enjoyed the Polo bar every evening,it was excellent.

We can't wait to go back,the hotel itself its worth a trip to New Orleans

Room Tip: Club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cirkeline74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Cirkeline74,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear that our accommodations and staff contributed to a perfect Christmas stay for you and your family. We appreciate being part of your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    309
    107
    63
    36
See reviews for
306
636
47
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Excellent service especially from the club floor concierge, Jonette. Everyone is wonderful up stairs. They care about you and anticipate your needs. The food is top notch with yummy cocktails. We stayed on the 21st floor in a one bedroom suite. Beds were extremely comfortable. The hotel is in a great location close enough to the quarter but away from all the craziness.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Melissa O,

Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear you had an outstanding service experience and that our location and comfortable accommodations met your needs for your trip. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with others and look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this property and would definitely return. Our room was an 800 square feet suite with a comfortable living room. We had vouchers for daily breakfasts which were tasty, drinks in both bars which were excellent, and an okay dinner at the Grill Restaurant one night. Location near the French Quarter enabled us to walk everywhere. The staff was helpful and efficient.

Room Tip: Request an end room away from the elevators if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redheadtraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear redheadtraveler08,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent week-long stay with us. I am so happy to hear that our location, staff and food and beverage offerings made for a great stay for you. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Three years ago my husband accidentally booked our annual valentines day stay at the Windsor Court and we've been delighted ever since. It's a little difficult to find, we circled the block a few times. It's a gorgeous gorgeous hotel hidden behind an old world courtyard. There are lovely touches like the massive rose arrangement in the lobby. The art collection in the hotel is fantastic, all british period pieces.

We love how close the hotel is to Harrahs and August. The rooms and the suites are so lovely, it will make you want to remodel your house. The spa services are amazing. I've had a fantastic facial and an even better massage (east meets west style).

This hotel is almost always booked. Book early whenever you can, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janemac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear janemac29,

Thank you for writing about your experiences with us over the years. I am so pleased to hear we have become part of your Valentine's tradition and that you have returned at other times of year as well. We appreciate your patronage and your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights in a full suite overlooking the Mississippi river. This hotel is very nice. Great location, great service, great décor, comfy bed. My stay included breakfast vouchers and the food was great.
Even though the hotel is not boutique size it reminds you of a boutique hotel.

I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear mtesoriero,

Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear you had a great week-long stay with us and that our service, location, amenities and food were to your satisfaction. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others and look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had made reservations in August of last year to spend our 30th wedding anniversary, in January 2014, at Windsor Court Hotel. We decided on a balcony suite, since it was a special occasion, and asked if it would be possible to have a river view. We were assured that would be possible and in December when our plans changed and we found we would need to arrive in New Orleans a day earlier, I contacted the hotel and they were most accommodating, assuring me that not only would we have a river view, but that a corner suite would be available. We were thrilled! Upon arrival late on a Sunday evening, we walked into a gorgeous suite to see a bottle of chilled champagne and roses awaiting us. I felt very special and appreciated the thoughtfulness of the staff.

As we walked through the suite, we noticed a most unpleasant smell in the bathroom. We thought perhaps one of the staff who had brought the champagne and flowers had used the bathroom and figured the smell would be gone in the morning. It was late, we unpacked and went to sleep. Unfortunately, in the morning the smell was even stronger. Best way to describe the smell was that of sewer gas, and since the toilet was functioning properly we mentioned it to Katie, one the front desk staff as we went to breakfast. She assured us she would contact the maintenance people and have it looked into right away. After a lovely breakfast in the hotel dining room, we stopped back at the front desk and were told that it hadn't been looked at yet but would be shortly. Katie was very attentive and asked if we would like to be moved to another room. We explained that we had requested a balcony suite and if there was another one available with the same view - we'd be agreeable to a move if the problem couldn't be fixed.

After about an hour, when no one had come to look at the problem, I went back to the front desk to see what the situation was. Katie had looked at room availability and unfortunately, there were no other corner suites available with a river view. I was disappointed but knew that we would be unable to remain in our current suite if the smell couldn't be alleviated. I asked if I could see one of the suites that would be available and the manager on duty, George Beattie, kindly said he would accompany me. We went to a suite on the floor immediately above and one room in from the corner where our current suite was located. Although not as nice as the suite we currently had, I figured this would be OK and walked through it into the bathroom. Imagine my shock to encounter the same sewer gas smell in this bathroom! With more than a little disbelieve, I asked George if he could smell the odor - he said he could not as he had a head cold. He in no way tried to insinuate the smell wasn't present - just that he could not detect it. At this point I thought maybe I was crazy, so I went to get my husband to come and inspect the suite and see if he noticed the odor. When he arrived and walked through to the bathroom, he immediately noticed the same smell.

My husband, who is very familiar with building construction and plumbing techniques, asked if perhaps there was a room available at the other end of the building from where we currently were that was available. George called the front desk and we were shown to a room 2 stories above where we started out, on the back side of the hotel facing the city, unfortunately with no balcony. This suite's bathroom had no bad smell, so our search ended and we packed up our things and moved to this suite.

I have seen no other reviewers complain of any unpleasant odors, so I have to believe that this situation was dealt with. There is no way anyone could have stayed in either of the 2 suites with the odor at the level it was at. My husband's concern was the sewer gas could be potentially dangerous aside from the fact that it was very unpleasant!

After arriving in the new suite, we enjoyed the rest of our stay. The staff was efficient, gracious and eager to please. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The hotel is charming, ideally located and we truly enjoyed ourselves here. Within a day of checking out, I received an email from the General Manager asking me to fill out a questionnaire regarding our stay. I did that, and explained about the odor in the 2 suites and though that I would hear something back from him regarding that situation. To date, I have not received any further emails and I hope that the situation has been addressed and corrected for the sake of others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PK12033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear PK12033,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that, overall, you had an enjoyable stay with us, but am definitely disappointed to hear about the initial smells you encountered. That is definitely not a comment I hear, so rest assured we checked out those rooms. After we received your survey, our Customer Experience Manager did follow up with you as well, so I hope you were in receipt of her email. Please know that although she is the one that reached out to you, that I receive and read every guest survey and take each one very seriously. I do appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and for filling out the survey. We look forward to welcoming you back for another pleasurable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were here midweek in January and felt we had most of the hotel to ourselves. The staff called us by name, beautiful lobby and 800sq ft of space in the room/suite, special notice for my birthday. Would recommend the upper floors (about 12 at least) and view of the Mississippi. If you go below that, you will see one wall of Harrah's Casino instead of the interesting view. Of course we didn't take advantage of the pool (in 35 degree weather) area but did see it and it is very nice. The entrance is very cozy and private behind walls and vines to shield somewhat from the bustle of New Orleans. The trolley and several shuttle services are only a very short walk away.(get your $3.00 Jazzy pass at Walgreens for all day use of public transportation). Only negative? There is a very large fee for secure valet and parking your car overnight.I don't recall fees that high in New York! But is best to "unload" your car when in N.Orleans. Overall, we were VERY please and happened to get what I felt was a very good price.Our room appeared to have just been recently redone and extremely fresh. Time of year and events make all the difference in price there.

Room Tip: Breakfast rate quite high...get suggestions for nearby locations to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear planned,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Windsor Court. I am so pleased to hear you had a wonderful time at the hotel and in the city and that our staff and accommodations exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,004 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,386 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,974 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Court Hotel

Property: Windsor Court Hotel
Address: 300 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Business District, just three blocks walking distance of the French Quarter, Mississippi River and Warehouse/Arts District, Windsor Court Hotel is a Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond hotel. This luxury hotel has almost all-suite accommodations; an outdoor heated swimming pool; Club Level accommodations including a private lounge; Boutique Spa; fitness center; two cocktail lounges featuring live music nightly; a salon for traditional Afternoon Tea; and the most premier AAA Four Star and Forbes Four Diamond Restaurant in the city, The Grill Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Windsor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Court New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing