We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fabulous Time and Unexpected Upgrade!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Court Hotel
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Time and Unexpected Upgrade!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My partner and I planned an anniversary trip to stay at the Windsor Court. We found a great deal through their website and have enjoyed time there in the past for tea and brunch. Upon checking in, the receptionist asked about our reason for stay, and when we mentioned we were celebrating our anniversary, he unexpectedly offered a complimentary upgrade to a beautiful king suite and champagne vouchers for the Polo Club before dinner downtown. Kind and generous staff made our stay a delight.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms offer views of the city or river, we enjoyed a beautiful river-view on a high floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loulapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Loulapo,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at the Windsor Court. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your anniversary visit with us, and that our staff played a big part in that. We are happy to have created a memorable celebration for you and look forward to welcoming you back for many more special occasions to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    278
    99
    62
    34
See reviews for
262
583
44
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Nice location between Poydras and Canal Street. Many attractions and restaurants are within walking distance. We walked to Jackson Square in one direction and the WWII museum in the other.

We had a Junior suite on the 17th floor. Nice but too close to the elevator. If you are in one of the 5-6 rooms near or across from the elevator you will hear the 'ding ding' of the elevator every time it arrives on your floor. Very annoying.

Staff friendly. Service great. Showing a little wear but otherwise a great hotel. We would consider staying here again if we are assured a room AWAY from the elevator.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator as it chimes very loudly when it arrive on your floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J&S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear J&S,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I am happy to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your experience; however, I am disappointed to hear you were not pleased with your room location. Please specify any special requests with our team and we will ensure it is taken care of for you on your next stay. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend over Halloween. It was amazing. The hotel staff was professional, the room was amazing - our balcony and city view was awesome. The amenities were first class. This is the second time I've stayed at the Windsor Court, and it is definitely our go-to place to stay in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony, and the city view is very nice on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beamwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Beamwalker,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your Halloween visit with us. I am so happy to hear you had an amazing stay and that our staff and accommodations lived up to your expectations. We appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

This is truly an elegant hotel in NOLA. It is conveniently located to downtown, the French Quarter and a short drive to Uptown. We were upgraded to a very nice suite on the 17th floor overlooking the Mississippi River. The service was incredible. We enjoyed drinks before dinner and the breakfasts are incredible. We didn't get a chance to eat at the hotel's restaurant but it is supposed to be great. We'll check it out next time. If you are visiting NOLA with a car, this is a great hotel to stay at. The parking is a bit expensive, but the valet service is quick and the hotel is very easy to get in and out of to your destination by car. This will definitely be a go to hotel for us in NOLA.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Erik P,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed our convenient location, spacious accommodations and most importantly, our incredible service. We appreciate you sharing your experience with others and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
105 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel is aptly named. Upon entry into the porte cochere, you find yourself in a charming little courtyard that immediately reminds you are in New Orleans. New Orleans evokes such a strong sense of place, more so than many other American cities and this hotel is a great reflection of its old world elegance, charm, and sense of hospitality. Traveled for business and stayed 2 nights as an independent traveler. I think it would be perfect for families. This hotel is located a few blocks away from Bourbon street so it is quiet, even though it is directly across the casino. I stayed in a suite which was spacious and charmingly appointed. Bathrooms are provided with Molton Brown bath amenities. The bathroom needs some updating to sinks and tubs, peeling paint in these 2 areas. Room service was great. Service was very hospitable. The public spaces are nicely done as well. Lots of hunting paintings, embroidered French fabrics, old world touches with nice antiques. Valet was efficient and fast. Even though they have some deferred maintenance issues- like the AC in rooms which is really noisy; and some of the window gaskets need replacing, you can hear and feel the wind coming through in certain places; I thought this was a great value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pkmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear pkmiles,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed our ambience, location and service and that it suited you for your business needs. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a suite nice attention to detail. Service is outstanding and lounges are posh. Toiletries are first rate and rooms are quiet on upper floors. Beds are comfortable and linens are quality. Don't forget to shut the drapes the sun will wake you up!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank pillowandfork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear pillowandfork,

Thank you for taking the time to write about and post a picture of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed our accommodations, amenities and service. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others and look forward to welcoming you back for another luxurious stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary this past weekend (Thurs-Sun). I have stayed in many hotels in the French Quarter and the CBD district. I have always wanted a reason to stay here, as every time I would walk past the hotel, (either going to the casino or casual strolls) it would always draw me in.

I will get to the point here and delve in later. The Windsor Court is going to be your most luxurious and enjoyable stay in N.O. period. Everything about the hotel is amicable, magnetic, and engaging. Having stayed in many hotels in the FQ and CBD, the Windsor is right off of Canal, next to the Double Tree, behind Harrah’s. We would walk all over to the FQ daily and have ZERO regrets. I may get some flame for this, but the Grill Room at the WC on Saturday night is incredible. Live jazz music, an incredible menu, fantastic cocktails and more; my wife and I enjoyed this more than Commander’s Palace. I literally cannot give enough praise for this Hotel as we literally will not have any other choice when returning to N.O. in the future.

Delving in here – and now having a great reason to stay there (anniversary), I booked the hotel. The courtyard entrance is just a sublime piece of nature that welcomes you in. We were greeted by Jeremy, at the front desk, and he very efficiently explained almost everything about the hotel and then upgraded my wife and me to a club level room suite. I initially was under the impression that the “club level perks” were somewhat of a gimmick. I could not have been more wrong. Any guest can opt-in to the Club Level perks for $100 a day. The sticker price may shock you, but it is definitely worth it. Our favorite waitress in the club level was Stephanie – she knew what drinks we were going to order as we stepped into the room! They have an extended continental breakfast until 11am, afternoon Tea and snacks, cocktails and hors d'oeuvres at 5pm and dessert cordials at 8pm. Mind you this is all free per your $100 ticket. It brings a very home-like feel and provides some great stress relief throughout the day. Also, Darlene would welcome us often as well and was extremely knowledgeable of all the goings-on in the city and gave us many great ideas and advice on where to go!

The rooms are very spacious (800 sf) and are outstandingly decorated. The Polo lounge is also a fantastic hangout if you are just looking to relax and listen to live music (away from the crowds). We could not have had a better anniversary and a huge thank you to Jeremy, Darlene, and Stephanie!

Room Tip: Splurge on the $100 club level access (at least once). You get a great view of the river and much m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Houston T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Houston T,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed account of your stay with us. I am so happy we could provide you with the perfect anniversary stay! Thank you also for recognizing Jeremy, Darlene and Stephanie. I will ensure to pass along your kudos. I appreciate you sharing your experience with others and look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,812 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,136 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Court Hotel

Property: Windsor Court Hotel
Address: 300 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windsor Court Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Business District, just three blocks walking distance of the French Quarter, Mississippi River and Warehouse/Arts District, Windsor Court Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond and Forbes (formerly Mobil) Four Star Awarded hotel. This luxury hotel has almost all-suite accommodations; an outdoor heated swimming pool; Club Level accommodations including a private lounge; newly opened boutique Spa; two cocktail lounges featuring live music nightly; a salon for traditional Afternoon Tea; and the most premier AAA Four Star and Forbes Four Diamond Restaurant in the city, The Grill Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Windsor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Court New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing