We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my best stay, but still love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I love the Windsor Court and have been staying at this hotel at least once a year for a dozen years. It's old English charm, central location, comfortable large rooms, stunning river views, etc. never get old. However, this was my worst stay ever and that includes right after hurricane Katrina. Upon check-in, my reservation was inaccurate and they did not have the room I requested available (at least they had a room). Disappointing. In my room, I experienced constant annoying little things-- any one of which could be overlooked but all together added up to a subpar experience including electrical outlets that didn't work (so that I dried my hair by the mini bar instead of the bathroom), a light bulb burned out on the nightstand (which I reported upon arrival and was never changed), a hairdryer that didn't work (which was replaced immediately), turn down service was skipped 2 of the 3 nights I stayed (no, I didn't have a do-not-disturb sign out), a silk dress that I had hung over a chair was folded up by housekeeping (if I had to wear it again it would have been a wrinkled mess-- who folds a guest's silk dress?), etc. I told the staff person of all of these issues and more when checking out and she apologized and thanked me for informing her but I have not heard from management and there was no offer for any compensation for this or a future visit. If I didn't know that this was an exceptionally bad experience for the hotel then I would not be able to recommend it, however, given many past wonderful stays, I will return. However, if I had a similar repeat stay, I would reconsider.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank GlobalGirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear GlobalGirlz,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your most recent stay with us. As a valued repeat guest, your feedback is very important. I am happy to hear that over the years, we have provided you with excellent experiences, but I am very disappointed to hear that we did not live up to your expectations on this particular stay and that your comments were not passed on to me or any of my other managers. Please feel free to contact my office or our Customer Experience Manager, Tara Minamoto, at tminamoto@windsorcourthotel.com and we will ensure your concerns are addressed. I apologize for your frustrations and for these oversights. We look forward to the opportunity of turning it around for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

950 - 956 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Was in town for one night on business but wish I could have stayed here longer. The staff is very friendly and attentive and the rooms very nicely appointed. My only complaint is that I couldn't figure out how to turn on the TV in bedroom. Luckily the room had a sitting room with another TV that seemed to work better. The breakfast and lunch buffet was very good as well. The decor- let's call it mid century British fancy- is tasteful and in good condition. Not my exact preference, but it gives one an idea of what it may be like to live in Downton Abbey today. And the location can't be beat.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank schwammy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear schwammy_11,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that our service, food and location served your needs excellently. We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Windsor Court is our favorite NOLA hotel. Traditional elegance is what sets this property apart. The suites are spacious and well appointed. Breakfast in period setting over-looking the entry courtyard transforms you to days long gone--Eggs Windsor with freshly squeezed orange juice and New Orleans coffee is the perfect way to start your day.......and the piano bar down the hall is the perfect ending.
Fresh flowers are always plentiful throughout this property as are a well mannered staff........always a treat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLSMDJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear SLSMDJD,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I am so delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable visit and that we are your favorite hotel in New Orleans. We know there are many hotels you can choose from, so we appreciate your patronage and your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is awesome. Great location, about 10 minutes to the French Quarter and Bourbon Street. The staff was very friendly, courteous, and helpful. The rooms were very clean, although the furniture was a bit outdated. The pool area was clean and very nice as well as the gym. The concierge was also very knowledgable and friendly and helped us decide on dinner and local attractions within the city and outside the city. We were staying during graduation weekend at Tulane, so we were under the impression it would be very hectic in the hotel during this time. We were impressed how well the staff handled a lot of people. Overall, I really liked this hotel and would definitely recommend it to anyone traveling to New Orleans.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room overlooking the pool and city. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zackc625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear zackc625,

Thank you for writing about your May stay with us. I am so happy to hear that our location, guest rooms, and courteous and helpful staff contributed to a great stay with us! We appreciate your recommendation and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for your future visits to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time at this hotel, but we'd heard wonderful things, so thought we'd give it a try for our six night visit to New Orleans. The check in process was smooth and easy, and the suite was beautiful. It was incredibly quiet despite being a large property. But everyday following housekeeping service, we wouldn't know what to expect. Some days we'd have one (or no) hand towels, and some days they'd remove our bath mat (only to have it reappear with turn down service). Overall I'd say the hotel was quite comfortable and most of the staff quite professional and responsive.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SoCalGirlSouthBay_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear HermosaBeachTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that, overall, you had a comfortable stay and that you had pleasant encounters with all of our staff; however, I am disappointed to hear about your inconsistent housekeeping experience. This is certainly not up to the Windsor Court standard so rest assured I will be addressing this with our team. Thank you for your comments and for your patronage. We hope to still have the opportunity to welcome you back for future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nice hotel that was well maintained. The service was very friendly...a bit pricey for mostly normal suites, but they were clean and spacious. The location is very convenient to downtown, french quarters, harrah's...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhollisatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear rhollisatl,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Windsor Court. I am pleased to hear our central location made it convenient for you to enjoy the many facets of the city. I am also pleased to hear our service and accommodations were to your satisfaction. We appreciate your comments and your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We booked this for a pre- cruise stopover. This is the best hotel we personally have stayed in. From the checkin experience to the room. When we arrived you sat of the concierge desk to checkin. No waiting at counter. We booked this on Hotwire and since the Saints were playing in NOLA hotel rooms were at a premium. The hotel is located 200 yards from the rear entrance to Harrahs Casino. We were upgraded to a very nice suite. All the furnishings were first class. All the service people addressed us by name and went out their way to make our stay comfortable. I would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor but there are many higher floors. Since we were upgraded to a suite I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear scmexico,

Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us. We are so delighted and honored to hear Windsor Court is the best hotel you have ever stayed at and that our location, service and accommodations worked perfectly for your pre-cruise stopover. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
7,817 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
3,195 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,688 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
4,659 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Court Hotel

Address: 300 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $302 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Business District, just three blocks walking distance of the French Quarter, Mississippi River and Warehouse/Arts District, Windsor Court Hotel is a member of the Legend Collection of Preferred Hotels and Resorts and a Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond hotel. This luxury hotel has almost all-suite accommodations; an outdoor heated swimming pool; Club Level accommodations including a private lounge; Boutique Spa; fitness center; Polo Club Lounge featuring live music nightly; a salon for traditional Afternoon Tea; and the most premier AAA Four Star and Forbes Four Diamond Restaurant in the city, The Grill Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windsor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Court New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing