We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place! Very clean rooms! Love the decorations in hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windsor Court Hotel
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place! Very clean rooms! Love the decorations in hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great experience, restaurant was outstanding, rooms are very large and bed sleeps great! Supersize restrooms. Love the decor! Nicole at front desk was helpful! Elevators are quick. You could sit inside and see parades! Easy walk to World War 2 museum! Love the bike taxi that picks you up and takes you into French market. Great staff of guys that greet you when you arrive! Hopefully will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tharcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear tharcher,

Thank you for posting your review on your recent visit to New Orleans and the Windsor Court. I'm happy to hear you had a memorable Mardi Gras stay with us and that our service and amenities were to your liking. We appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay and look forward to welcoming you back here with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    302
    107
    62
    35
See reviews for
290
625
46
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the Windsor court hotel over Christmas and new year 2012-2013 and were very impressed. The gym was great, the bar was great, the rooms were large with very comfortable beds. Service was friendly and competent. I loved the fact that there was a harpist playing in the lobby for high tea - I don't know if that is just for the festive season but it was very impressive and gave a lovely atmosphere, as did all the attention payed to the beautiful Christmas tree with the little train running around it.

I can highly recommend the truffle mac & cheese and truffle chips as snacks. The bar wasreally good, and we quickly learned that a lot of New Orleans locals light to go there for "celebrity spotting". Since I'm from Switzerland I didn't actually know who any of those "celebrities" were but it was fun to have them pointed out and listen to all the positive chatter about them.

The hotel is a ten minute walk from Bourbon street and a five minute walk from the Mississippi, aquarium and insectarium. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gadget G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Gadget G,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your Christmas visit with us. I am so delighted to hear you enjoyed yourselves. While the harpist and Afternoon tea are offered year-round, the hotel certainly looks its best decorated for the holidays. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another memorable visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

A non digital family member stayed and had a number of disappointments.
Though the renovations were beautiful...
Light bulbs were burned out in the room and they had to tend to that,
A curtain was falling and looked unkempt,
The bathroom did not have a vent, steamed up too much and made prepping for dinner difficult,
Veal in the restaurant was not very good and over-priced,
Papers were not delivered to the room as requested,
And my favorite...they were trapped in an elevator for about 15 minutes.
The wine and cheese that arrived in the room was at least a small gesture but didn't really compensate for a highly anticipated visit being so fraught with so many silly hiccups.
Sadly Windsor Court does not live up to expectation and in the face of so many hiccups the experience was not managed well. In the future, when the occasision calls for a luxurious place, we will opt for the Ritz Carlton.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TeresaSummer2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear TeresaSummer2009,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on behalf of your family member. I am disappointed to hear that they encountered so many challenges during their stay and that we did not live up to their expectations. Please know that their experience is certainly not the norm and that I will be addressing your concerns with our team. We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you and your family back here with us so that we can provide you with that special stay you were looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our first stay in New Orleans. The hotel is in a great location and has a very old New Orleans feel. Room service breakfast was quite good as well as our mini meal at the Bar on our first night. The rooms do not have in room movie selections or in room check out which was not good for us since we traveled with our kids and we usually count on that service. There was a tall gentleman at the concierge desk was that rude and stuck up. I kept trying to be polite but he did he could not help himself from being the exact the opposite and of no help. We were almost on the top floor but could still easily here the traffic below, not ideal for sleeping but great view. Other than that a nice hotel but will definitely try something else next time.

Room Tip: Make sure to be on a top floor to avoid traffic noise at night while sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YMGBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear YMGBR,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us; however, I'm disappointed to hear about your interaction with our Concierge. This is certainly not indicative of the service culture that we can and do provide. Rest assured, I will be following up with our team about your experience. We appreciate you taking the time to write about your visit and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for the stay you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD, USA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed at the Windsor Court for three nights during the Super Bowl. The hotel is located just outside the French Quarter and is an easy walk to Bourbon St., Cafe Du Monde and many other must-see spots.

The lobby has a nice charm, stylistically a bit out of date, but everything is perfect repair and properly placed. Bell and desk staff was friendly and unobtrusive.

Our suite was well-appointed and spacious. Furnishings appeared to be recently refreshed and were clean. Seating made sense and was comfortable. The desk area had ample connections and plugs. Wet bar area was well-stocked and accessible. Both the living room and bed room had separate balconies, affording a great street view and nighttime vista.

The bedroom featured a king, with two end tables and two dressers. Closet was a bit tight but workable. The bed itself seemed soft, but slept well. The pillows were down (or similar) and not to my liking, but I never requested replacement. Not a big deal.

The bathroom was clean and in generally good repair. Natural stone was used throughout. Some of the grout and stone did reveal the actual age of the place and could use replacement. The private toilet area is a nice convenience.

The cable package is quite extensive, but the Phillips televisions change channels at a maddeningly slow pace. The alarm clock was blessedly simple to use (a feature I always appreciate). One of our two cordless phones had a message light blinking constantly, but with no message present. And wifi coverage was good and speed adequate for general surfing and email purposes.

As for room service: the food and service was good. Over the several days, we had the burger, lobster mac and cheese (which was delectable), a grilled pizza (which was disappointing, but not terrible) and a few excellent desserts. All were delivered in reasonable time, even after the Super Bowl. The cost of the food, however, was incredibly high PLUS required 22% gratuity, PLUS tax, PLUS a $2.50 service charge. Look, I'm used to room service expense and understand the economics of it, but this was over the top. Good thing that most of the food was very good.

Overall, a great hotel, in a great city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobinBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear BobinBaltimore,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review of your stay with us. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and in New Orleans. I am pleased that we were able to provide you with the experience you were looking for and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Large suite on club level was a nice oasis - the club lounge offered a nice breakfast & other services during the day which I didn't have the opportunity to experience. Plenty of space & not too crowded. My room was very comfortable & I had a lovely view of the water. Suite was large, well appointed & very clean. Mostly very friendly & accomodating service (front desk at early morning checkout was just ok). Gym had a good variety of equipment. Could hear a train periodically, however, never hotel neighbors.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SF94597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear SF94597,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay on our exclusive Club Level. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here in the early 90's and it was one of the greatest hotel experiences we've ever had. The room, the food, the service and ambiance were truly world-class. So we decided to splurge and stay here again last week. The hotel itself still had the same world-class elegance we remembered and the rooms remain quite spacious and lovely. Unfortunately, the food and service has undeniably slipped quite a bit. Room service was consistently slow but most surprisingly, the food itself was average at best. We ordered room service three separate times including a late night dessert plate and the word we both used to describe what they delivered was "generic". Considering the high price we paid for cookies and ice cream ($30), we would have at least expected "very good", especially for a hotel of this price and reputation. Alas, most Marriott's would have delivered food that was much better. Calls to housekeeping for an extension cord yielded a "I'm sorry sir, we don't have one." Getting ice was a challenge as you have to call room service vs. go down the hall or having housekeeping provide it with turndown service. When the ice was delivered to our room, it was in a white tub that they left on the wet bar - very unattractive. Their televisions offer no in-room movies/entertainment just basic cable and for some inexplicable reason it took forever to change the channels. You cannot even check your bill or check out via your television. These are standard features at most hotels these days. Finally, they charge $45/day to valet park, more than it costs to rent a car in NOLA. The Windsor Court is a quiet and elegant hotel. The bones are there for the Windsor Court to be a truly great hotel again. But they have a lot of work to do to regain the five star qualities they possessed on our previous stay. Truly great hotels do not miss a thing and for us, on this particular stay, their attention to detail was lacking in several key areas. I hope they turn things around, especially their food service, which for NOLA was very mediocre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear mickeyway,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your most recent visit with us. I am disappointed to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. As a repeat guest, I appreciate the fact that you know we can be better. I will certainly present your feedback to our team as we are constantly striving to improve. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to provide you with that special experience I know we are capable of providing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,815 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,200 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Court Hotel

Property: Windsor Court Hotel
Address: 300 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Business District, just three blocks walking distance of the French Quarter, Mississippi River and Warehouse/Arts District, Windsor Court Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond and Forbes (formerly Mobil) Four Star Awarded hotel. This luxury hotel has almost all-suite accommodations; an outdoor heated swimming pool; Club Level accommodations including a private lounge; newly opened boutique Spa; two cocktail lounges featuring live music nightly; a salon for traditional Afternoon Tea; and the most premier AAA Four Star and Forbes Four Diamond Restaurant in the city, The Grill Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Windsor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Court New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing