We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They're Back!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Court Hotel
Ranked #7 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They're Back!!!!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Windsor Court has it's sparkle back!!! This hotel has always been a favorite but had fallen on hard times ...stayed there last week and the renovation is a major success. Our Jr. King Suite was lovely...new everything!!! Not sure the upgrade to the Concierge Level is worth the money.... Limited hours of service, slim choices of beverages ( no Chardonnay??? Please...a Pinot Grigio ???) tidbit food not worth eating ...but ... It is a beautiful view!!! One thing I was surprised at was the disassociation with American Express.....this was a major factor for me. Too many rates to navigate online...with a group of 9 ladies traveling we were amazed at the different rates and upgrades some got and others did not! General consensus ...bring AMEX amenities back!!! My other thought would be....if you like to gamble ...you are right across the street from the casino...if you want the FQ...it's a hike or a $10 cab fare!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view....and think about the Club Level. Not worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Mimi060,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience to our hotel. I am glad you have noticed the updates we have made since your last posting. In regards to the AMEX amenities, I am pleased to let you know that we will officially be back with AMEX's Fine Hotels & Resorts Hotel program once again this Fall. If you are coming to town prior to that, please book through your AMEX agent and we'll be happy to extend those amenities in the meantime. Thank you again for your comments and continued patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back here with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,115
    316
    108
    63
    37
See reviews for
312
644
47
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Onancock, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I recently had a wonderful stay at the Windsor Court Hotel. The staff was very helpful in answering our questions, making dinner reservations/suggestions, and pretty much anything we needed. We stayed in a guest suite, which was plenty of room for the two of us. The room had a nice sitting area with a sofa and armchair, and the bathroom had a big walk-in shower. The rooms are tastefully decorated and I believe recently renovated. We really enjoyed the spa and the pool as well. The hotel is far enough away from the noise of the French Quarter but it's still an easy five minute walk away. Everything was really just perfect. Stay here if you're planning on going to New Orleans anytime soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Holly B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent visit to New Orleans and the Windsor Court. I am so pleased to hear we provided you with a perfect stay! I believe our location, staff and room size are the best in the city, so I'm glad to hear you were able to enjoy it. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I was looking forward to spending a 4 day weekend in New Orleans and we've never stayed at the Windsor Court. I have always been told that it's the nicest in the city and we had to finally give it a try. The hotel is very nice, with respect to the bars and restaurants and staff. I was not impressed with the room. The walls needed painting badly. Also, the bathroom was tiny. We were in a room near the elevator, which we heard all night. I thought about requesting a move, but didn't go thru with it. The staff was wonderful, but for the price, I would gladly go back to the Ritz for 5 star quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamBigJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear BirminghamBigJim,

Thank you for your review of our hotel on your recent visit to New Orleans. I am disappointed to hear our room product did not meet your expectations as what you described is certainly not up to our standards. I am sorry we were not able to provide you with the accommodations you were expecting; however, I am happy to hear that our staff was most accommodating. We would love for you to give us another opportunity to provide you with the stay you were looking for. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I have taken high tea at this hotel numerious times, they seem to get better each time. The tea is taken in the lounges with a wounderful server. The preparation is great as are the teas to choose from, scones, cloted cream and raspberry preserve. It is such a relaxing experience in such a high engery city.

The hotel is one of the grand dams of New Orleans, anything you want they will attempt to get.
Not a place to be missed.

Room Tip: If you enjoy gambling, it's about a block from the casino But don't let that be a deterant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connie391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear connie391,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to New Orleans and the Windsor Court. We appreciate your kind words and are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea experience in Le Salon. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Booked 1 full suite for 4 people - 2 adults and 2 teen (17+17) at Windsor Court. Checked in at 5 PM but there was only 1 bed (1 king) in our room.
Left for dinner and sightseeing and mentioned that we wanted 2 extra beds to our room. Came back after 4 hours - no extra beds and no "turn down" in our room. Mentioned again that we wanted 2 extra beds - no problem. After 1 hour - no beds - new visit to Front Desk - no problem. 1 more hour - no beds - new visit and finally only 1 extra bed to our room. At 11:30 PM we could finally go to bed. They where only allowed to place one extra bed in a full-suite. What about the last person? - he could sleep on the sofa they said!?

Why accept a booking for a family (4 persons) when there is not enough beds??

We booked another room for our teenagers and stayed there for another 2 nights. Our 4 last nights in New Orleans we stayed all together at another hotel!

Room Tip: Do not book a family in a full suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear SteRos,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent visit with us. I'm sorry to hear we were not able to meet your requests and I apologize for any miscommunication in regards to your reservation. Should you find yourself in New Orleans in the future, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department directly at resv@windsorcourthotel.com to ensure we have all of your requests taken care of prior to your visit. It is our goal to meet all guest requests and exceed all guest's expectations. We look forward to the opportunity of providing you with such a stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Windsor Court has always been a favorite of mine. Having just undergone a major renovation, top to toe, it is now back to it's old glory. The rooms are spacious and much more updated. The linens and the beds are heaven. Service is always perfect and the staff really makes you feel like they care, and want to make your stay special.
The one thing that was lacking was on the Concierge Level. That used to include hot food and all day drinks (not that we'd stay there all day, but you could pop in for a glass of wine or champagne or even a cocktail before heading out or after coming back to relax). That has all changed. They did have food but it was barely palatable. Breakfast consisted of a scarce offering of fruit and breads and a cold quiche that was hard as a rock. Afternoon lunch / tea was a few tea sandwiches and a salmon roll, and soft drinks or wine / champagne. But they take all that up at 3pm and then don't bring anything else out until 5pm. So if you want a glass of wine and some cheese and crackers, you'll have to wait until 5. This was definitely not up to the old Windsor Court standards, and I would not pay the additional $ for the Concierge Level next time. (The Ritz Concierge level is still open all day, with hot food offerings) But all in all, the Windsor Court is a lovely hotel, with a caring staff, and is the perfect location if you like to walk across the street to gamble at Harrahs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyQinHou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear SuzyQinHou,

Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel during your recent visit to New Orleans. I am disappointed to hear that the Club Level did not meet your expectations, but am grateful for your feedback as that is the only way we can improve our offerings. We have a new Executive Chef starting this month and I am confident she will bring the level of food quality back up to your expectations. We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future so that you can give it another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Growing up in south Louisiana the Windsor was the only luxury hotel in town. As the Roosevelt, Ritz and others swept into town the Windsor fell into the background a bit. But after wonderful, wide-ranging renovations it is squarely back on top. Both in facility and in service.

The Windsor really has everything a luxury hotel in New Orleans should have: great views, incredible rooms and lobby, exquisite concierge level, knock out bar, unbeatable location. It's been updated from the top to bottom but kept the service that always made it great.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorCourtGM, General Manager at Windsor Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Patrick H,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Windsor Court. I am happy to hear you enjoyed all of the updates we made to continue to keep our jewel great. Thank you also for recognizing our team of professionals that are the true keys to making this hotel special. We appreciate your patronage over the years and look forward to welcoming you and your family back for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,211 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,552 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 163 in New Orleans
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,116 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Court Hotel

Property: Windsor Court Hotel
Address: 300 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Central Business District, just three blocks walking distance of the French Quarter, Mississippi River and Warehouse/Arts District, Windsor Court Hotel is a member of the Legend Collection of Preferred Hotels and Resorts and a Forbes Four Star and AAA Four Diamond hotel. This luxury hotel has almost all-suite accommodations; an outdoor heated swimming pool; Club Level accommodations including a private lounge; Boutique Spa; fitness center; two cocktail lounges featuring live music nightly; a salon for traditional Afternoon Tea; and the most premier AAA Four Star and Forbes Four Diamond Restaurant in the city, The Grill Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Windsor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Court New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing