We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #81 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The room overlooked the river...wow is that cruise ship going to make the turn. Also overlooked the park....lots of street kids. Also overlooked the French Quarter.....easy walk. Casino next door....didn't use it. Hotel staff does a good job.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank granpagolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you very much! We’re happy you enjoyed your stay so much. It is always amazing to watch those huge ships make that turn on the Mississippi River! We will certainly let our staff know that you appreciated their service. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    579
    301
    118
    70
See reviews for
333
471
63
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Not impressed with our 5 day stay at this hotel for it's price. Apart from it's location for shopping and Casino and the nice river view, the hotel could do with some up dating and refurbishing. The room we were given had a noisy vent fan.We notified reception on this and apart from sending someone to look at it with no improvement, the reception staff seemed indifferent. The concierge was helpful with information. Room and bathroom cleanness was superficial and odors were camouflaged with chemicals. Pillows had a faint smell of urine! the sink taps in the bathroom was loose and wobbly. On our last day (Saturday) the room was not done or cleaned until we called reception at 6 pm to have it done, although we were out all day! Will not be going back, lots of other hotels to consider for next visit.

Room Tip: Check out the room assigned for noise level, view and cleanliness before settling in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We apologize for the disappointing service and conditions you experienced during your recent stay with us. Your comments will assist our Housekeeping and Engineering Departments in improving procedures to prevent issues such as this in the future. We appreciate your review.

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great hotel, great location, great staff, great stay. Stayed here for the essence music festival. Located right above the mall whic was not so great for my wallet. Centrally located between theconvention center and bourban street.
Will stay here again. Had a great view of the water towatch thefireworks on the fourth of July.

Room Tip: the higher the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzqueenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thanks for the nice review and in visiting us at Westin New Orleans! We're delighted that you had such a great visit with us. We hope to welcome you back once again this summer for Essence Festival!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, right near the Harrahs casino, bourbon street and of course Cafe du Monde where you can get the most amazing beignets. The rooms were nice with a great view. I thought the staff was nice and very helpful with directing us to some great tours. Bar was nice and so was the gym. breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We’re glad you enjoyed your visit to New Orleans, and took advantage of our great location to really experience the city! Our staff takes pride in delivering friendly and personal service to our guests, so we'll be sure to share your compliments. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This was our third 5 night stay in New Orleans. Our first hotel was the Sheraton, second one the W French Quarter and now the Westin Canal Street. All of these hotels had their special touches. However, you cannot beat the Westin for the mix of service, beautiful room with awesome views and location. It is also attached to a high end mall which is easily accessable by elevator from the inside of hotel. We received an upgraded room which was really 3 rooms with an entryway. Champagne with fruit and chocolate waited for us when we arrived. (it was our anniversary) Living area, full bedroom and a 2 room dressing/bath area. Floor to ceiling windows overlooked the Crescent City wrapping around the Mississippi River. Incredible day and night. They could not do enough for us. Also the lobby is on the third floor with great seating and beautiful river views. Doorman was hilarious. Will be going back!

Room Tip: Ask for river view suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cornboar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your anniversary stay! We’re happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. We’ll be sure to share your comments with our Staff. We appreciate your review and hope to see you soon!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I had a business conference at the Westin last week and I have never experienced such poor customer service. We were unfortunate enough to have Tamika check us in and she was not only unhelpful but downright rude and aggressive. The night before we stayed at the Sheraton and the front desk there was very nice and helpful. Everyone in our group agreed the Sheraton was much nicer and had much better service. Also the hotel is next to the train track so ask for a room far from it or bring your earplugs.

Helpful?
5 Thank C597044
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We apologize for the disappointing customer service you encountered from our staff. Your comments will assist us in improving our guest experience. We appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back in the future to see the improvements we have made.

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Nasty hairs an mystery stains from previous guest (or housekeeping) on the bathroom floor and fixtures. They only stocked rooms with decaf, too.
I left a kind note for housekeeping to please clean the floor and get the blood of the toilet seat. After returning, more decaf and now there were more stains on the toilet seat??? Complained at the front desk and he just punched it into the computer. Could have given me a few coffee packets for the next morning. Staying 3 nights for a sales meeting so I'm stuck here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HonestAbe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
We apologize for the very disappointing service and conditions you experienced during your stay with us. Your comments will be shared with our Department Heads in an effort to improve procedures and prevent this from occurring again. Once again, we apologize and thank you for letting us know about your visit.

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#80 of 164 in New Orleans
2,256 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#75 of 164 in New Orleans
3,453 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#70 of 164 in New Orleans
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
2,515 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#64 of 164 in New Orleans
2,358 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 164 in New Orleans
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Property: The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing