We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #72 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great location for everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed during a convention and wanted a location that was easy access to the French Quarter and convention center but out of the noise and chaos. This hotel was perfect. Shuttle busses to the convention center started here and were waiting for us each morning. Close enough that we could walk back when we wanted. Easy access to the river walk, French Quarter, casino and excellent dining. Accommodations were as expected. Nothing fancy - like all other older Westins. Located in a shopping area so access ok but you have to take an elevator to the lobby. Self parking was available in an attached garage but a bit pricey. Room ready when we got there overlooking the casino. Free printing of airline boarding passess available in the business center.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors overlooking the river for the best views. We managed to get a room on an upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaTravelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for the nice note regarding your recent stay with us! We are delighted that our location was convenient for you, as we feel that it is perfect for just about every visitor to our unique city. As you said, we are perfectly appointed to all of what makes New Orleans such a great place to visit, but with our own seemingly private sanctuary overlooking the majestic Mississippi River allowing one to feel the calm that is Westin. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    557
    285
    112
    64
See reviews for
315
448
57
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

My family and I have been waiting for our rooms for 3 hours, I checked in at 3PM and all I got was attitude. We booked weeks ago and no one in my group has gotten their room. This has not been your typical Starwood Experience. I'm exhausted, I just want to sleep!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to provide us with your comments, and apologize for the wait and disappointing service you experienced during check-in. We did have issues with room availability on the day you arrived due to late check-outs from a previous group. However, we pride ourselves on our service and your comments will assist us in improving our service standards. Thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Westin is in a great location, walking distance to the French Qtr, next to a mall and casino, right on the Mississippi. The hotel is a bit of a faded grande dame, however. Stains on the room's wallpaper, torn sheets (see pic), and funky shower faucets bring it down a few notches. That, and the supremely overpriced hotel restaurant (with mediocre food and $5 for a cup of house coffee) prohibit me from raving. Still, you could do worse. Or better ;)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobeginwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Hello and thank you for visiting us at Westin New Orleans. We apologize for the disappointing conditions you experienced during your recent stay with us. We will certainly be sharing your comments with our Housekeeping and Food & Beverage Teams to improve our service for future guests. In terms of the wear and tear you noticed, we are working on all of the areas you've mentioned and have already modernized several areas of the property including our Westin Workout facility, replacing all of the carpet in the guest corridors and public areas, and our exciting lobby re-design. We appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New Orleans!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

The location is perfect for walking to all the tourists attractions (Cafe Du Monde, Bourbon Street, River walk, etc.). The facility is very modern and the room is spacious with very nice view of the river (if you could get a room on that side). Walk over to the Drago's Seafood restaurant (inside the Hilton) for a wonderful charbroiled oyster dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nvomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thanks for the nice review and in visiting us at Westin New Orleans! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and in our unique city. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
275 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

We recently stayed at the Westin Canal Place for two days. We have stayed in the following New Orleans: Hilton Riverside, Monteolone, Astor Crowne Plaza, Loews, Royal Sonesta, Provincial and Sheraton. I would rate the Westin near or at the top of the list of those hotels.

We arrived around 2pm and valet parked. Efficient valet although a bit pricy at around $40/night. You can self park for cheaper right by hotel.

The lobby is on the 11th floor and you have to either take glass elevators in Canal Place Mall or elevators by valet parking. The lobby is awesome and has what I consider easily the best view of the river and French Quarter than any hotel in New Orleans. Some people complain about having to use two separate elevator banks and I can understand where that might be an issue during a crowded period. We had zero issues with the elevators.

Check in was efficient and room was not ready. I gave my cell number and they called me about fifteen minutes after checking in and the room was ready. I had booked a French Quarter Suite and I got room 2909, which is on the top floor (Starwood Preferred Guest Floor).

The suite was huge at about 1200 ft2. The king bedroom is a standard Deluxe room but the adjoining parlor was just incredily huge. The view was this floor was just flat out awesome. If view is important then look no further. The room was spotless and this suite has one full bath and one half bath. The half bath connects to the parlor.

We used a rollaway bed since this suite has no sofa bed and the mattress on the rollaway bed was nice pillotop mattress. We order room service breakfast twice and the breakfast was one of the best in New Orleans in my opinion. Never waited more than 15 minutes for breakfast.

The toilets in the bathroom are water savers so they flush slow. Water pressure is about average. The pool is on the roof and you have to climb up stairs to get there. The view on the roof was incredible.

This Westin hotel is now on the top of my New Orleans list and I would not hesitate to recommend to my friends and family.

This is a pet friendly hotel but we did not bring our small dog. Unlike the Loews, where dogs are restricted to one particular floor, you can have a dog in whatever room you want at the Westin.

Excellant stay here!

Room Tip: Choose river view or French Quarter view, you will not be disappointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Was there for medical conference. Hotel seems out of the way at first as it is not on a Main Street, but then you realize it is perfectly fit in between the convention center, casino, and French Quarter. Rooms were average for a Westin. Doorman was awesome at check-in and each time I was headed out. Rest of staff was so-so. Very small business center. Nice view of water from main lobby.

Room Tip: Facing water
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boog89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We were in New Orleans for a conference recently and stayed at the Westin Canal Place. If you want a nice quiet spot away from the chaos, but still within convenient walking distance to the sights of New Orleans, this is it! It is nestled right on the Mississippi (our room had a great view!) and sits above an upscale shopping mall (very very convenient!). The staff is helpful and friendly and the rooms in pretty good shape. It is what you would expect from a Westin, which is a good thing. The internet was a bit slow at times, but adequate for our needs. Most touristy areas and the convention center are a quick walk away, including the famous French Quarter and street cars. There are many great restaurants within walking distance (two amazing places: Restaurant August and Domenica). Taxis are easy to catch with the help of the great valet staff. Overall, we were very pleased with our decision to stay here and definitely would again.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for one facing the Mississippi. Ours had a great view of the river and the French...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milly6020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#69 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,302 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#79 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#78 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#15 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#58 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Property: The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing