We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not up to par!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #67 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not up to par!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend. Ok my husband and I check-in the receptionist tells us for being a Starwood member we can get one free cocktail from bar or free points. Well that's fine but its two of us as for as the drink goes. She tells us we can only get one drink. Ok we'll take the points. What two people going to do with one drink??? The rooms are a decent size for New Orleans. However when we got to our room it smelled like rubbing alcohol. At the night the loud train blowing, annoying. Not to mention my neighbor mones and groans so the walls are very thin. A lot of moisture in bathrooms kinda mildrewy. One free water complimentary for the whole weekend. Shouldn't you at least bring another the next day and by the way its Two guest. SMH.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeKendra30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Greetings,

Thanks for providing us feedback on your visit and your comments are right on. We'll work to improve based on your suggestions and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    487
    252
    96
    54
See reviews for
259
373
50
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

The good: the staff was friendly and quick to resolve problems. A bellman came promptly when I needed to check out. The service express line was answered quickly.

The bad: There were a lot of little problems that can be attributed to inattention to detail. I was charged for valet parking when I did not park at the hotel. There was no menu for room service in my room. 90% of the items on the room service breakfast menu are not on the breakfast hangtag; this led to an error in my breakfast order. One of my toiletry items looked like it had been used by a prior guest and not replaced.

Overall: The staff was nice about fixing problems, but it was annoying to have so many little problems.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JustPassingThrough22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

After leaving the Saints game, we decided we wanted one more night. I grabbed my iphone map and started tapping/calling familiar sounding hotels. Prices were in the upper $200s/300s for most rooms until I came across The Westin for $189. We booked and WOW, what a find. The hotel has to have the best views in New Orleans. The Westin couldn't be more convenient. The rooms were clean, roomy, and VERY comfortable.

I'll say this, I've always enjoyed staying at different hotels for my frequent family trips. I just may be done with that. The Westin may be my permanent stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsted222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saraland, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband is at a conference here now so we are spending 3 nights. It definitely needs to be updated but it's not bad so far. The views are amazing from our room on the 24th floor. The bed is comfortable and the room is a nice size.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom-N-Merita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is clean with large rooms, great views, and is well located. It is not luxurious, however. We booked using starpoints so felt that we got what we paid for. It's a big hotel so if you are expecting personal touches, look elsewhere. I wouldn't book this is if I was looking for an extra special getaway or luxury, but for a nice hotel in a great location, I'd stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Was a little nervous after reading the reviews here but we were very pleased with every aspect of this hotel. The service, location and accomodations were perfect for our pre cruise stay of 2 nights. The beds were super comfortable, the view from our 27th floor room was amazing, the pool was clean and fun and much appreciated after a hot day in the Quarter! Would absolutely LOVE to go back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alligrrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great place to stay when visiting New Orleans. The staff will bend over backwards to make your stay a pleasant one. On a scale of 1 - 5, I would grade the staff a 6. Rooms were very nice but you can almost see the need for a little bit of an upgrade. Room rate was quite good but the taxes are ridiculous. Stadium tax - $15.00?

Room Tip: Get a room with a River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamrock06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#74 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 769 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#76 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,757 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#48 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,019 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#18 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Property: The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing