We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Road Trip 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #72 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Spartanburg, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Road Trip 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

My friend and I spent 2 nights here while traveling from Texas to Virginia Beach. We had originally only planned to stay over one night, but enjoyed our stay so much that we stayed an extra night. We had originally had reservations for Renaissance, but mistakenly neglected to see if they were pet friendly (which they weren't) and we had a toy yorkie with us. As disappointing as it was to find that we had arrived in town and had to start a new room search right off, as it was late, we were happier when we got to the Westin. We loved that it was so convenient to all that we wanted to see and do. Being upstairs from great shopping was an added bonus. Even riding the elevator was a treat with the great views. The staff was awesome and the room and bathroom was so much nicer than the one that was at the Renaissance!! And the price was GREAT!! We went to priceline.com and did the "last minute" deals and typed in 4 star and to our surprise we got a room for under $100 taxes, fees and everything!! After one night we decided to stay again. I called the desk and they quoted me $134 without the taxes so I did the priceline thing again and was excited to get the same hotel, same room AGAIN. I will definitely stay at this hotel again on my next trip to New Orleans.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaDLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    556
    285
    112
    64
See reviews for
314
447
57
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel was well located on the edge of the French Quarter and well within walking distance to Bourbon Street, Jackson Square and the French Market. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we paid extra for a view of the river - it was well worth it. We were on the 20th floor and the view was excellent.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely visit again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IainDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
125 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Spent 2 nights here for a wedding & overall, stay was very good. Unlike the Westin Pasadena, the I would definitely describe the beds in this hotel as 'heavenly'-soooooo hard to get up, regardless of time of day! The difference in the bedding between the 2 hotels, from the same chain, is just amazing-makes me wonder just how closely Westin actually monitors their properties. As others have noted, views from the hotel are amazing, especially the 11th floor lobby, but our room on the 15th floor, overlooking the River & French Quarter, was pretty spectacular, too. Interestingly, the 1 full service restaurant the hotel has is not open for dinner, just breakfast & lunch (until 2) only. Bar food is available in the bar the rest of the time. We could not figure out whether there is any room service available-certainly there was nothing in our room to indicate it was. Also interesting is the fact that the hotel only provides plastic cups in the guest rooms & bathrooms-while that is certainly the norm in hotels like the Hampton Inns, it was very surprising to find in an up-scale full-service hotel like this. Would absolutely stay here again just to enjoy the bed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillSTL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

There are some very good points for this hotel, but one big bad one. It's in a great location...close to all the action in the French Quarter and the Riverwalk. Lots of great restaurants and sites close by. The rooms are nice and big, but furnishings are a little tired. Staff was very friendly and helpful...really appreciated them. Other issue was that the rooms were a bit noisy...hallway noise was louder than I'd expect from a quality hotel.

The biggest problem, as pointed out by others, is those bloody elevators. Awful! The wait was downright painful. That takes it down a star.

Overall a good experience, but the loud hallways and elevators detracted.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for the great comments from your recent Westin New Orleans experience! Our staff will definitely be given kudos for their attentive and friendly service on your behalf. We apologize for the noise and elevator issues you experienced during your stay. We are currently upgrading our elevator system which will alleviate that issue when completed. We appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New Orleans.

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was amazed by the beautiful views from the 11th floor lobby area, as well as, in my room. The rooms were very spacious and I enjoyed my stay overall. I stayed on the 27th floor in a room with a view of the river and french quarter. I also enjoyed the view from the rooftop pool. The only thing that put a damper on my stay were my noisy neighbors and having to call security at 2am and 3am and then again at 8am when they got up and made noise again. I was pretty annoyed that security wasn't able to shut them up. My first night was great but the noisy next door neighbors ruined my last night as I didn't get a good night sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We’re happy you enjoyed your overall visit, especially the beautiful views of New Orleans that our central location provides. We apologize that you experienced noise issues from the neighboring room. When our Security Team responds to a noise complaint, our standard policy is to issue a warning to the guests informing them that a complaint has been made. We will certainly discuss your experience with our team to ensure that the correct procedures were followed. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New Orleans.

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Truly loved my stay at the Westin New Orleans Canal Place. Upon arrival, as a Starwood Preferred Guest, I was immediately greeted with a smile, then upgraded to a king room with river view. The horn of the tug boats, view of the winding Mississippi, and view of the trolly cars added to the ambiance I found so complete in my 18th floor room.

The room was immaculate, large by New Orleans standards, mirrors for days, and an extra nice comfy bed. The A/C was room controlled with super refreshing cold air, as it was in the 90's and super humid.

The lobby is breathtaking, with Mississippi River and French Quarter views.

This hotel is situated atop a mall(Canal Place) with high end stores. Also there is a huge Las Vegas style casino right across Canal St. There is an aquarium right out the door too.

All in all, this 4 star hotel provided the comfort, cleanliness and "get away" atmosphere I hoped for.

Great Stay !!

Room Tip: River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longbeachmjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review and in visiting us at Westin New Orleans! We're delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and we’re happy to hear that you really enjoyed our unique city. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have stayed in New Orleans before, and we enjoyed this hotel so much more than a higher priced hotel nearby that we stayed out our last trip. Yes the elevator situation is a bit annoying if you use self park, but 18 dollar a day parking versus 40 valet is well worth a little extra work.
The roof top pool was amazing late at night, and there was plenty of room for 3 of us in a double queen room.
We had a great view of the river, and as others have said the lobby is beautiful. The location is great for hitting the French Quarter or the Market. The trolley is nearby, but we found it to be easier to grab a cab or walk, the trolley was always super busy, however it was labor day weekend.

This will be my go to hotel from now on!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SafireDrms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks for staying with us recently at Westin New Orleans, and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your visit! As you mentioned, our location puts you in the perfect spot for hitting the town, or just kicking back and enjoying our fantastic views of the city and the Mississippi River. We’re happy to be your “go to hotel” in New Orleans and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#69 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,301 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#80 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#79 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#15 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#58 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Property: The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing