We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #87 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Fantastic hotel... lobby with the most magnificent view of the Mississippi river... wonderful staff!!! Hotel was just a few blocks away from the French Quarters, Jackson Square, Cafe Du Monde and the River bend!!One can hear Dixie music played by the Natchez ( Mark Twain) boat on Sunday mornings as soon as you step out from the hotel... I miss New Orleans already...I will definitely go back to this city and stay in this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Even if your room has no view.. the magnificent lobby at the 11th floor of the hotel will give you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adabella U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,080 - 1,086 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

I am a New Orleans native and think I have stayed at every hotel downtown over the years. I was very disappointed with the Westin on this trip. The staff was friendly and helpful and the lobby is beautiful with amazing views of the river. However, the elevators were apparently unairconditioned, and only two seemed to be working, causing long waits and packed elevators. On the guest room floors, the elevator lobby and hallway carpets were horribly stained and discolored. The ice maker on our floor was not working and the catch drain was growing something nasty. The hallways were long and bare and kind of creepy - I didn't feel totally secure. The room itself was spacious and comfortable, as was the bathroom. However, until some upgrades are done to the hallways above the lobby, I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Cotton77025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Not all that cracked up to b..parking was horrible. .was not explain that the parking lot was not theres we sent 80bucks in parkin. .construction went on in another room. .geez never again..also they charge 200 for incidentals crazy...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel two nights on the first leg of our trip from Florida to Texas. Our room was on the 24th floor and the view of the Mississippi and the French Quarter was spectacular! We brought our dog with us and he was happy as a clam with the river front park right across the street to walk him and Café Dumont within walking distance, along with being two short blocks from the French Quarter. The staff was extra friendly. The room was immaculate and service was exceptional. The location of this hotel was the perfect distance from seeing all the sights of the beautiful City of New Orleans. The only drawback was that we could hear a party of guys drunk and yelling in the hallway at 3am - totally oblivious to the time and people sleeping. When asked if they would be quiet they were indignant. Go figure, I drank my first beer once too (lol). However, we won't throw the baby out with the bathwater and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Book a river view room to see the glorious Mississippi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I will be staying later this year but had a conflict with my non-refundable reservation due to an unplanned change in my flights. Volker, who I believe to be the front desk manager, went out of his way to try to accommodate our changes. He was under no contractual obligation to do so and was helpful out of sheer goodwill. It's little niceties in service like this that I rarely experience anymore so I'm really looking forward to our upcoming visit if Volker's helpfulness typifies the service ethic of the hotel staff. Well done!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank RoyLScam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed at the Westin Canal Place for a short weekend conference. Was skeptical at first because its so big, but boy was I surprised. The staff have outstanding attention to detail from the moment you walk in, and are willing to go the extra mile for any reasonable request.

The restaurant has a new chef and I would recommend their pizzas if you need to have something quick for lunch, but definitely go into NOLA for dinner.

My room was excellent, ask for a corner room if one is available facing the water. The roof pool has spectacular views of the city. Bourbon St. is only a short walk, as are some of the finer restaurants in the business/warehouse district.

Enjoy your stay, I sure did.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BryanDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I found it to be over price buy their locations excellent if you want to explore the French Quarterservice was last than par what they were not be supplying the a coffee products that way it was supposed to be. In yhe to be pressure to make the Hotel greener they are withdrawing from provider services are considered to be basic for this quality and expectations there will be no repeat trip

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodyfromusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#78 of 166 in New Orleans
2,357 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#74 of 166 in New Orleans
3,547 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#17 of 166 in New Orleans
2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
1,519 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 166 in New Orleans
1,000 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#73 of 166 in New Orleans
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $143 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splitty, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing