We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location - Cheapest Parking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #69 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location - Cheapest Parking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Canal Place over the 4th of July holiday and really enjoyed our time there. Awesome location and very nice hotel. Great views of the Mississippi River and comfortable clean rooms. Would highly recommend staying at a hotel like the Westin that is close to the river as opposed to deep in the quarter. Parking is so much easier and was only $18 (validated/self-parking) compared to upwards of $40 at many other hotels. Just be sure to use the parking “garage” connected to the hotel. Stay away from any street level lot around that area. Hotel is right across from Harrah’s Casino so you have that if you like it. Aquarium of the Americas is across the street also. 4 blocks from Bourbon Street with an easy walk down Iberville. Jackson Square only four blocks away – easily accessible by walking along N. Peters St., the River Walk or Street Cars. Definitely would pick this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LSULVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    523
    264
    103
    60
See reviews for
284
411
54
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Offers top-notch, modern, clean rooms with bed linens by Westin that are heavenly.

We were originally assigned a 14th floor room without a view, but when we said something to the front desk they immediately switched us. Kudos for excellent service!

Parking is $18/day with validation. Be sure not to park in the lot across the street (on the canal side). They won't even let you turn around in the lot, and will charge $6 just for entering. No grace period. Learned this the hard way, but I used that hour to check in, unload my bags, etc. So it turned out okay.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room above the 14th floor. If you are on the 14th floor facing downtown (towards th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Let me start with the fact that I have never taken the time to write a
review of anything online. My husband and I stayed here during July 4th weekend. I have nothing but great things to say about the front desk and bellman, they were amazing. The beds were super comfy and I adored the shower head.

My issue was first with the lack of eating options in a hotel itself. I expected a hotel of this caliber to have options for all meals. My second was the pool area with rotting wood rails and stained chaise cushions . I had planned an afternoon of poolside lounging but was turned off by the lackluster and dingy options. The third and final issue was with the housekeeping. We were at the hotel for 4 nights. Durning this time out sheets were never changed, and that is despite BBQ sauce on a pillowcase, our towels were sparingly replaced, and the bathroom was only wiped down not actually cleaned. The room was very clean upon check-in but as the days went by our bed was remade, hair was swept up, and the room
was possibly vacuumed at most.The soap buildup in the corner of the shower was noticeable day 2 and even more evident our last day. My husband and I aren't complainers but were annoyed at the thought of having to tell someone the bathrooms weren't cleaned so instead of calling to complain and excuses I cleaned it myself. Seems silly but we are of the mind laziness is a top down learned behavior.

We loved the location and the view of river was wonderful. We are planning another trip next year just not planning to stay there and discouraging our agent from using them also.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaydxn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at the hotel during the extremely busy July 4th weekend. Considering the volume of tourists in New Orleans at this time, I thought the hotel staff handled the volume well. As far as the location, it is what it is. All sides do not have the picturesque views of the river and the city, but we are talking about New Orleans. Yes, it was a little odd to register on the 11th floor, but there is a mall (with great shopping, I might add) and a parking deck below. I don't think drivers would want to park any higher than 10 floors!


I was more concerned about renovations after Hurricane Katrina. Fortunately, I did not smell any mold or musty odors. Yes, there was a small area of chipped paint above the shower, but not to the point where I was concerned about showering. The toilets flush very slow, but they do flush which is key for me. The beds looked very clean and I felt comfortable sleeping on them. I am not comfortable with the "green policy" when your stay is more than 3 nights but when we asked for fresh towels, they were quickly provided.

Overall, I liked the hotel. I felt safe and it was close to everything that I wanted to do. This Westin is the hotel for me and for the right price, I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenCityGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Hotel is in a great location, literally inside the mall. The Casino is across the street and the river right in front of you. Since the Hotel is shared by the mall and offices you have to take elevators to get to the main lobby and the guest rooms (no biggie). The rooms are very comfy and big. We stayed in a Riverfront Room and the view was great. We can see the River Boats floating at different times during the day. Room Service was really quick, staff friendly and the rooms were very clean. Clean is important in New Orleans. New Orleans already has a smell, so after a long day you want to come back to a clean room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

A nice hotel, very close to lots of restaurants, shopping, and attractions! The staff was friendly and made sure that we had a room with a king (although we had to wait one day!) The view was great; parking was a bit of a pain ($18/day is steep.) The view from our room was great...we had a nice view of the Mississippi. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable, and noise level was fairly low. I'd have no problem bringing my family back to stay next time! We walked up to the pool on the roof, but every time we went up, it was packed. Also, the restaurants were full, but we didn't try them...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBIC_Strait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

There were a few problems with our reservations but they made good on them for the most part. However they sent our adult kids to the W for two nights and it was very unsatisfactory. The Westin did a good job in making up for the errors and we had a great stay at their hotel. Wonderful view and a a good location for walking around the town.

Room Tip: Confirm your reservations a few days prior and print out your confirmations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#80 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#78 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#30 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Property: The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing