We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking Distance To French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #78 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Walking Distance To French Quarter”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel was very nice, clean, good location, however, the elevators were a disaster. I don't know what the problem was, but unless it was very late at night.... you had to wait forever for an elevator. They had four elevators, but apparently it was not enough for the number of guests in the hotel.

Room Tip: Be patient with the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenFromAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, however we apologize that you encountered issues with our elevators. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New Orleans.

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    565
    293
    114
    67
See reviews for
321
460
59
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chattanooga
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Westin for 2 nights for our first trip. I was very pleased with the hotel. It's in a great location for exploring the French Quarter. Just a short walk to Café Du Monde and the Natchez Riverboat. The street car is right out side the door. The valet and front desk were both very friendly and helpful. We had no problem navigating our way to the lobby and our room. We were upgraded to the 29th floor river view when we arrived and the room was very spacious with an incredible view and easy access to the rooftop pool. The beds were very comfortable and clean. We had breakfast both days at the hotel restaurant while expensive, was very good. Overall we were very happy with our stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher floors have incredible views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chattmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for visiting us at Westin New Orleans and for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We're delighted that you had such a great visit with us and it sounds like you were able to visit some really great areas of our unique city. Our staff takes pride in delivering friendly and personal service to our guests, so we'll be sure to share your compliments. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The South
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My family stayed in rooms 1505 & 1506 this week. We had a great stay at the Westin, from the valet to front desk, everyone was friendly and efficient. The rooms are very large, both were doubles. Very comfortable bedding, clean - the bathroom is quite large, too, with plenty of counter space. We walked to Café du Monde, short drive to Mahalia Jackson Theater & to Mandina's restaurant, farther down Canal St.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OleMiss91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for visiting us at Westin New Orleans recently. We're delighted that you had a great visit and appreciate the nice feedback! Our location certainly does put you in close proximity to many of the attractions New Orleans has to offer, and it’s wonderful to hear that everyone from our valets to our front desk staff welcomed you and took care of you during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The best thing about this place is the location to the French Quarter (and it's across the street from Harrah's casino). They had a two headed shower that seemed like a great idea, but if you flushed the toilet, the water pressure dropped big time and it was like sitting under a flower vase. We had a river view room (and the view is nice), but it sits unobstructed to the train lines and a couple of times a night the horn from the trains would go on for a few minutes and it would wake you up. The other thing was the windows were getting cleaned, but they failed to mention that, so we probably gave the cleaners a good show when we came out of the not so awesome shower - most of the time hotels mention that there will be people outside so keep the curtains closed. All in all, we love being in New Orleans but we won't be coming back here.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, don't get a riverview room - maybe the sound from the trains is muffled on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffs_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for providing us with detailed feedback from your recent stay with us at Westin New Orleans. We are disappointed to hear of the issues that you encountered during your stay, and we will address these with our team so that we may improve our guest experience. We would be grateful to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future to see the improvements we have made as a result of your comments.

Thank you,
Matthew Mickal
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had read all of the reviews and new that this was not the pinnacle of the Westin properties; however, I knew what I was heading for and the hotel met those expectations. The pool is on the 29th floor and is great - not incredibly clean, but a wonderful view. The location of the hotel is great - within walking distance of the Quarter and the Convention Center. It is right next to the Aquarium.

The Good - Excellent location, great pool, staff was very friendly and courteous. I had a problem with some noisy guests on the floor (as is common in New Orleans) and the staff sent someone to handle the issue very quickly. Jasmine did our check in and although it was her first day, she did a good job and was very courteous. The rest of the staff assisted very readily as well.

The Not So Good - Added fees are not easily spelled out. Parking in New Orleans is expensive. The hotel has a parking garage, but in looking at the web site, we didn't see that lot that adjoins the property was private and not part of the hotel. Instead of $40.00, for two vehicles, it cost us $70.00. There are tons of extra taxes imposed by the local government as well. Don't go on a trip to downtown New Orleans thinking that the rate shown on the web site is what you will pay - it is well short of the actual cost of the room. Internet in the room also costs extra. (I do a lot of business travel and this alone will keep me from staying at this hotel for a business trip.)

The hotel is a little run down, although not horribly. It could be cleaner overall. Signage is not at all clear about where to go to get to the lobby (11th floor) from the street, nor how to get back down to the street from one's room.

Overall the stay met my expectations, but don't go in without doing your research. You will be very unhappy if you don't count all of the costs of your stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for visiting Westin New Orleans and providing us with feedback from your experience! We're delighted to hear the great comments about our associates and will work to improve on some of the areas detailed that could have been better.

We do offer several internet packages and for expanded bandwidth which is typically needed for video streaming, there is a charge. However, for your basic internet needs required for browsing websites, we do offer this free of charge in our entry level package listed when first logging on. We're sorry for the confusion; as this is something we just initiated to directly address this concern from many of our past guests. We will continue to work to improve upon all guest feedback that allows us to provide better satisfaction in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Be prepared to be confused upon check in. You pull up to the front door and figure the lobby is inside....wrong, it's on the 11th floor. If you self park ($18 a day) you have a 50/50 chance of taking the wrong elevator, which doesn't go to the 11th floor. so you head to floor one and try to locate the one that takes you to the 11th, check in take another elevator to the upper floors. I had read that they were redoing the rooms so I requested one of the "new" ones but was told they are all partially done and none have been totally revamped so she gave us one with new carpeting (I didn't believe her btw). Rooms are Westin-like with nice matresses. We had a refrig that was locked but we didn't have a key. Now the good stuff: Great rooftop pool with a fabulous view. Excellent workout room. Fantastic location. Not much in the way of New Orleans flair but you could do way worse here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boatscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us recently at Westin New Orleans! I can certainly understand the confusion of getting to our 11th floor lobby for the first time after self parking in the garage, but we will work to be more informative to make it easier for all of our guests in the mean time. One thing is for certain, there is not a hotel in the city that beat our views from our lobby as well as our guest rooms, and we're glad you experienced them.

Over the course of the year, we have modernized several of the areas that you have mentioned and will continue to do so over the coming months as we continue to revitalize our property. We hope to see you back soon to see the improvements that we are making on a daily basis!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went to New Orleans for a conference. We stayed here on 21 floor. The conference was at the hotel. The room has a great view of the river. It also had strange musty Oder the hotel looked worn, and needed new carpet.
Location was key, and the Westin was walking distance to almost everything.
Front desk was very personable and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickySpencerRouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for staying with us recently at Westin New Orleans and it was great to hear that you had a great visit! Our staff gets extreme satisfaction from nice comments such as yours which makes it all the more rewarding to do whatever we can to make guests feel at home while visiting our property. To address one of your concerns, we will be updating all of our guest corridor, meeting space, and lobby carpet over the next few months which should make an uplifting impression on you during your next visit to NOLA! We’ll see you soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#83 of 162 in New Orleans
2,186 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#76 of 162 in New Orleans
752 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#72 of 162 in New Orleans
3,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 162 in New Orleans
2,428 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#61 of 162 in New Orleans
2,316 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Property: The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing