We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel With an Incredible View!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #81 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Hotel With an Incredible View!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Westing is a very nice hotel with a stunning view. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. The breakfast downstairs was pricey, but good. The buffet is the way to go as it provides a combination of hearty and healthy. The bar has a light selection if you want to stay in for lunch or dinner. The light in the bathroom is incredibly bright and will blind you if you aren't prepared. Beds are very comfortable. No matter what side you are on, the view is great, but a river view is the best. The staff is very nice and friendly although one of the bellhops was a little too friendly with the ladies. The elevators were a little out dated, but function just fine and are pretty fast. The one problem is that you have to change elevators on the 11th floor. The pool is outdoors on the roof which provides an amazing view but if it is heated, it's not a very good heater thus making it cold and the wind makes it even colder so high up. Within walking distance of everything important such as Cafe du Monde, the National World War II Museum, and the riverfront. A great place to stay in New Orleans.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for the nice review and in visiting us at Westin New Orleans! We're delighted that you had such a great visit with us and it sounds like you were able to visit some really great areas of our unique city.

Our staff takes pride in delivering friendly and personal service to our guests, so we'll be sure to share your compliments. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    579
    301
    118
    70
See reviews for
333
471
63
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

The location is fantastic!
The rooms need some updating...
Also, I opted for 'the green' program and did not get rewarded my points, even after calling about it a few weeks later and being promises that they would be reflected in my account.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckdnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments about your experience at Westin New Orleans Canal Place! We are making several enhancements to the property over the next few months that I am certain you will enjoy on your next visit to the Big Easy.

In terms of the make a green choice points, please contact us at your convenience if you have still not received them for us to look into this further. I am sorry that you have experienced a challenge in receiving them. We hope to see you again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This place has a 4 star rating from AAA maybe when it first opened. The view from the lobby is awesome overlooking the Mississippi river, but from there it goes down hill. One elevator not working the 4 days we were there. The carpet throughout the hotel needs to be replaced, the furniture in the lobby needs to go to the dump. The beds are nice and comfortable. That is about it. Maybe the other reviewers were on the river side of the hotel as we were not, maybe those rooms are better.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naaldwijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for visiting us at Westin New Orleans Canal Place! We are currently addressing all of the issues that you would like to see improved and have just taken our last original elevator out of service for modernization a few weeks ago. All 6 of our elevators in service are brand new! We also completed our Westin Workout facility a few months ago with the latest and greatest new work out equipment.

Over the next few months, we will continue to make several property enhancements including all new carpet in all of our guest corridors and meeting space. We are also excited about our lobby refresh which should be completed later this summer or early in the fall.

We hope to see you back in the future to see the improvements we are making!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My stay here was very comfortable. Excellent location and easy to get everywhere we were going. The dual elevators needed to get from street level to guest rooms is annoying, but manageable. The place smells delicious... Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acjanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We're delighted to have welcomed you to Westin New Orleans Canal Place and it's wonderful to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one! Comfort is a brand signature with our Westin Heavenly Bed and its 7 layers of supreme comfort. The smell that you enjoyed is also another Westin signature in our White Tea scent. White Tea is part of our heavenly bath program which helps our guest reach their potential with a calming and rejuvinating experience.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 days and t was fantastic , really interesting how the lobby is on the 11th floor giving a good view of the city , room had a view of the city from the 22nd floor , bell man was courteous and recommended some good places to go for some southern food.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared9312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thanks for visiting us at Westin New Orleans recently. We're delighted that you had a great visit and appreciate the nice feedback! Our views are indeed breathtaking and our bell staff certainly does a fantastic job of giving our guest personal service, as well as great suggestions from a locals perspective.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Westin for my first stay in New Orleans I opted to upgrade to a suite. The location is the best right on the river and a few blocks from all the great restaurants, bars, casino, shopping And bourbon street. Service was really good, staff was willing to go above and beyond. I had a dress that needed hemming quickly and they found a way to get it down. The hotel itself is in dire need of upgrades. We had a suite and the views are amazing. Watching the sun rise over the river. Priceless. The hotel room decor is run down, the bathroom fixtures were falling apart. The rug in my room was all tore up and the toilet was pulling away from the cracked floor.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelqueen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Hello and thanks for visiting us at Westin New Orleans! We appreciate your nice comments regarding our service and are glad that you enjoyed our majestic Mississippi River views. Many of the desired upgrades you've mentioned will be completed by the end of the year. We have already modernized our elevators, as well as our Westin Workout facility, and are currently progressing through our guest corridors to replace all of our original carpet. We will then move on to our guest room bathrooms, followed by our exciting lobby re-design.

We hope to welcome you back to see the improvements we have made!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the Westin Canal Place Hotel during Jazz Festival weekend. The hotel was busy but not crowded. Moreover, the staff of the hotel was always nice even though they were being constantly being bombarded with questions from guests. The room was specious and comfortable with all the normal Westin amenities. The breakfast was quite overpriced, in my opinion, and was mediocre so you might find some alternative breakfast options.

I must add one thing. I forgot a package that was shipped to me (call it a hangover). I called the concierge from the airport and she happily shipped me the package. She was so nice and very cooperative with getting this done.

I would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirDumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks for staying at Westin New Orleans, as we are thrilled that you had a great Jazz Festival visit! We certainly get busy during "fest" season in New Orleans, but our team takes pride in providing personal service and delights in delivering great guest experiences. I'll be sure to thank our concierge team personally for efficiently getting your package to you as well.

We hope to see you soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#80 of 165 in New Orleans
2,257 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#75 of 165 in New Orleans
3,454 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#72 of 165 in New Orleans
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 165 in New Orleans
2,517 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#64 of 165 in New Orleans
2,358 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 165 in New Orleans
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Property: The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing