We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #66 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
416 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Westin for my first stay in New Orleans I opted to upgrade to a suite. The location is the best right on the river and a few blocks from all the great restaurants, bars, casino, shopping And bourbon street. Service was really good, staff was willing to go above and beyond. I had a dress that needed hemming quickly and they found a way to get it down. The hotel itself is in dire need of upgrades. We had a suite and the views are amazing. Watching the sun rise over the river. Priceless. The hotel room decor is run down, the bathroom fixtures were falling apart. The rug in my room was all tore up and the toilet was pulling away from the cracked floor.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelqueen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Hello and thanks for visiting us at Westin New Orleans! We appreciate your nice comments regarding our service and are glad that you enjoyed our majestic Mississippi River views. Many of the desired upgrades you've mentioned will be completed by the end of the year. We have already modernized our elevators, as well as our Westin Workout facility, and are currently progressing through our guest corridors to replace all of our original carpet. We will then move on to our guest room bathrooms, followed by our exciting lobby re-design.

We hope to welcome you back to see the improvements we have made!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    503
    254
    98
    55
See reviews for
272
391
52
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the Westin Canal Place Hotel during Jazz Festival weekend. The hotel was busy but not crowded. Moreover, the staff of the hotel was always nice even though they were being constantly being bombarded with questions from guests. The room was specious and comfortable with all the normal Westin amenities. The breakfast was quite overpriced, in my opinion, and was mediocre so you might find some alternative breakfast options.

I must add one thing. I forgot a package that was shipped to me (call it a hangover). I called the concierge from the airport and she happily shipped me the package. She was so nice and very cooperative with getting this done.

I would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirDumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks for staying at Westin New Orleans, as we are thrilled that you had a great Jazz Festival visit! We certainly get busy during "fest" season in New Orleans, but our team takes pride in providing personal service and delights in delivering great guest experiences. I'll be sure to thank our concierge team personally for efficiently getting your package to you as well.

We hope to see you soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a nice hotel and located perfectly on the edge of the French Quarter and Garden District. Easy walking distance to Canal Street and Bourbon Street. Very friendly staff. Hotel is nice and clean. I'll speak to the elevators since I saw some commented on them - the hotel is in the process of renovating the elevators - two are new and the other two are in the process of being renovated. The two older ones were working, but dated looking. Rooms were older but have been remodeled and are super clean. I would stay here again - it is the perfect location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MindyS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Westin New Orleans and for taking the time to comment about your experience! We're glad you noticed our "super clean" rooms and we'll be sure to give our housekeeping team the positive feedback. We are also proud to report that as of this week, all of our elevators in service are the newest in the city. Over the coming months we are also updating our guest bathrooms, lobby, guest corridors, and more.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Staff was very friendly upon checking in and during the entire stay. The room was huge and they put us on the high floor with great view of New Orleans. We walked to everywhere as everything was so close.

If you are looking for good New Orleans Jazz music, walk down Bourbon Street past the party clubs (they are fun but after the first night partying we wanted to see something else..) down towards Frenchman. We had a great time!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for a great view of Mississippi and downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissCapo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing some of the highlights from your Westin New Orleans visit! We're glad to hear that you had a great time and appreciate the compliments on our associates. You certainly gave an insiders perspective of the local hot spots that our concierge team is typically known to provide as well. However, there is always something new to experience, see, sip, or taste in our unique city - so we can’t wait for you to come back and visit again!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent - steps from the riverwalk, Harrah's casino, and the french quarter. The river views - from the lobby (and my room) were outstanding. The lobby area was impressive.

Yet, I was surprised at the shape the hotel was in. The elevator walls had what appeared to be ripped off plaques and small holes (size of a quarter) near the floor buttons. My room was okay, yet the carpet always seemed dirty and the bathroom needs refurbishing. The spigot in the bathtub had come away from the wall (gross). You could tell it was caulked a lot - yet, the caulk didn't hold. Also, the wall next to the bathtub was rusty. Also, the room smelled - of cheap cleaning liquids. Lastly, the A/C was not working in my room - the fan was on but the air was not cold. Engineering came up and ripped off that nasty panel (inside - ick) he had to turn the cold water on and then it was fine). The hallway on the 18th floor had a lot of stains.

The Westin brand makes me think of higher end - i.e. heavenly bed - more amenities. I was disappointed with this property. I was in room 1809. I had friends in the Hilton Riverside and I saw 2 rooms - both were much nicer than my room in The Westin and for a lower price.

The staff was very helpful and nice. I ate breakfast & one lunch in the lobby restaurant and the food was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BellaClaire429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for the feedback from your Westin New Orleans experience! We're glad you enjoyed our breath taking views and that you were able to delight your taste buds with some of our local cuisine. However, we’re sorry that you were disappointed in some of the wear and tear that we are currently working to revitalize.

We have just completely modernized our 6th elevator this week giving us the newest elevators in New Orleans. I'm very excited to report that the elevator you wrote about will never be seen again! Additionally, in the next few months we will complete several other enhancements that will positively affect your next visit to NOLA. Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your visit and we truly hope to welcome you back to enjoy our many improvements first hand in the near future.

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel, was very dirty and under staffed to be a four diamond hotel. My room was not up to par, not very well kept up mismatching paint, missing grout in the tiles, stained carpet, very empty though. The bathroom was very dirt there was hair all over it. The condition of the room was dreadful. Housekeeping slams doors all day long.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLJ_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for providing us with detailed feedback from your recent stay with us at Westin New Orleans. We are disappointed to hear of the mishaps that you experienced, but I assure you we will address immediately with our team to ensure this is corrected immediately. We would be grateful to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future to see the improvements we have made as a result of your comments!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

There is a lot to like about this hotel, not the least of which is the 11th floor lobby offering a panoramic few of the Mississippi River and an energetic mix of both business and pleasure travelers. The location, at the edge of the French Quarter and attached to upscale Canal Place, is also a plus. Both the rooms and baths are on the large side. So why the less-than-stellar review? The answer is in the shabby condition of both the common areas and the guest rooms. The carpet throughout is thread-bare and stained to the point where it looks like a crime scene. There were tiles missing in our bathroom and the grout was less than clean. The veneer in a lot of the furniture was chipped or had worn through. Here's hoping that this usually-reliable chain invests in some capital improvements soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveybf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for the feedback from you recent experience at Westin New Orleans. We are actually currently working on or have upcoming plans to work on all of the areas that you mentioned in need of an update. We have completed a new Westin Workout Fitness Studio and new elevators just recently. We are currently working on new guest corridor carpet and will be updating our guest bathrooms and lobby shortly as well. We hope you experience our exciting enhancements on your next visit!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#77 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,844 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 930 reviews
French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#72 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,822 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#30 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#50 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Property: The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Starwood, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing