We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay before cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #82 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice stay before cruise”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights before cruise. Overall made a good impression and would consider again on next visit to new orleans. Staff was very professional and helpful. Checkin was a bit slow but check out from room was quick. Great location, things are easy to get to. In the quarter but quiet area,

Only two negatives - needed to call desk to have them deliver key to mini bar, seems like key should just be in each room. Last morning went to take a shower and no water. Contacted desk and they said just found out city was doing work which caused problem but were working on correcting it. Had to wait about a half hour, not hotels fault but very inconvenient,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie5756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing the feedback from your recent stay at Westin New Orleans Canal Place. We're happy to hear that you had a great visit with us, as we are working extremely hard on a daily basis to ensure that truly great guest experiences are every day occurrences. However, we are also disappointed with the water pressure issue that occurred in the city that Sunday morning while many of our guests were waking up and preparing for their trips home. It was certainly not the last impression we wanted or any of our competitors wanted for our departing guests in what had been a typically vibrant and fun New Orleans weekend.

We hope you stop by to say hello on your next trip to New Orleans, as we’d be thrilled to welcome you back!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    572
    297
    115
    69
See reviews for
325
463
60
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The rooms are very well appointed, beds are comfortable, service is fantastic! The elevator system is a little weird, having to use one set to get to floor 11 where reception is, and another set to get to the rooms, but that didn't detract from our stay. A five-star experience all around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
It's great to see that you had such an exhilarating stay at Westin New Orleans Canal Place! We'll be sure to share your experience with our team to recognize their efforts in delivering personalized guest service on a daily basis.

We hope to welcome you back soon to see the continual enhancements we are making to make your next trip to New Orleans even better!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

we stayed at the westin on the first day of our trip for one night. we were glad it was only one night. it's not terrible, but I'm glad that we booked with aeroplan and didn't pay the astronomical rates indicated on the website otherwise I probably would have given it one less star.

there are 3 redeeming qualities at the hotel:
-the bed which was like sleeping on a warm fluffy cloud
- the dual waterfall showerheads in the bathroom
- the view of new orleans

this is the only reason i gave it three stars. although we knew that you had to pay for wifi, we were shocked to find out that you had to pay for local calls too...something that wasn't indicated anywhere in the room and we hadn't noticed on the website. fortunately we asked before making a call. as the clerk downstairs could not tell me what the cost was per minute or per call, we didn't chance it.

the rooms and hotel are in sore need of repair. there was an elevator that goes up to the rooms in the lobby that hadn't been madeover yet. on our last use of it during our stay before going to bed, we thought for sure we were going to get stuck with all the weird noise and shaking it was doing and joked about it...low and behold, i woke up the following day to notice a team of repairmen working on it with an out of order sign. there was a second elevator out of order too and we were only there for one night.

the carpets are shabby, and the furniture in both the hotel and the rooms are nothing out of the ordinary. at one point while we were getting ready to leave for the evening, someone came by and started giggling the door handle. i looked in the peephole to see this huge beefy man in a beige trench coat with a clipboard. since he didn't knock afterwards, i still have no idea if he was staff or not.

there are a lot of locations in the city that are nicer for the same price. stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: get a room with a view of the mississippi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicat48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for the feedback from your stay in February to better allow us to improve! As you mentioned, we are currently modernizing our elevators with one original elevator still in service for a few more weeks. In a short matter of time, this project will be complete and Westin New Orleans Canal Place will have the newest elevator system in New Orleans. Additionally, we have just completely modernized our Westin Workout facility, have begun replacing guest corridor and guest room carpet with a fantastic new design, and will be completing several other enhancements to our property over the coming months. While your most recent visit left us with several opportunities to improve, I can assure you that we are working as hard as we can to ensure your next visit is closer to the perfect experience we would wish to deliver. Thanks again!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Way to go Starwood. Very nice property and excellent service in the hotel. Roof top pool pleasant surprise and hotel is connected to nice shopping, and a movie theater. Views are very nice even from the lobby check in. Room was perfect Westin. Gym decent enough. Location is good. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I had a great room that faced the French Quarter and the water. I am sure the other rooms on high f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gymtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are extremely excited that you had such a delightful experience and look forward to seeing you again in the not so distant future!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Before checking in, I read all the reviews about the low water pressure in the bathroom and did not realize that I would experience the same. The moment I got my key and before even dropping my bag, I went into the bathroom to flush the toilet and lo and behold, no flush. I phoned the front desk immediately and to Westin's credit, had a plumber in our room within 3-5 minutes (with a follow up call thereafter) . Whatever the plumber did worked for 2 flushes and for the rest of our 2 day stay, we had our fingers crossed to see if our toilet would flush. Couldn't quite understand the problem with the water pressure esp considering that dual showerhead (which was indeed Heavenly!) had no problems with the water pressure. Oh well...

Now about the rest of room...I think our room was 2311 facing the river , actually not just the river, but the river bend. We could have spent all day and night watching those cruiseships make those turns. The view was spectacular, the bedding was crisp and clean and that dual showerhead is out of this world. The front desk staff was also extremely accomodating and friendly. Weird entrance, great location, bad toilets...still a great stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arpee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments about your stay and also for notifying us of the challenges encountered during your visit. I can assure you that we are addressing the issue mentioned about your room with our engineering team immediately due to your feedback.

Thank you for allowing us to improve and we hope to see you again in the future as we continue to evolve and grow our property in order to better serve our valued guests in the future.

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Westin for 2 nights. Day 1 the maid service never arrived to clean the room. The walls in the rooms are very thin, you are awakened by voices of people walking up and down the hall and also hotel room doors slamming shut - this was extremely bothersome when we wanted to sleep in until at least 8 am. The rooftop pool is very nice and we did enjoy hanging out there.

There was nothing about this property that wowed men for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabogirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us! I am sorry that your stay was not more than "ok", but we will work diligently to improve based on your valuable feedback.

We hope to welcome you back in the future for a better experience and feel free to reach out to me personally prior to your next visit!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Disappointed in the overall experience! Stayed here Dec. 21- Dec. 24. Will say that the location was superb....Right on the edge of the French Quarter and walking distance to Poydras and Canal. Very good location if that is your priority, and it was important for my husband and for myself.
Arrived late evening and there was no one at the valet entrance on Iberville to help us with luggage so we had to figure out the elevators, etc. by ourselves. Check in was quick and efficient. Room was o.k. but below previous Westin standards for room decor. We were on the 27th floor reserved for Starwood guests> no visible upgrade of any kind in room decor although we had a great view of the Mississippi.
Elevators were a frequent cause of distress since they were being refurbished and only 1 elevator was operational at any time. Not great when you are on the 27th floor! The delays were a good 20-25 minutes each time we wanted to descend from the room.
The staff behind the desk had limited knowledge of New Orleans and directions were often incorrect. We were told that the restaurant August was a 20-30 minute cab ride from the hotel when it was around the corner!
I always stay at Westin/Starwood properties and was very disappointed with the overall service at this location. We chose this hotel because of location, and we got a great Papa Noel rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letty0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hello and thank you for staying at Westin New Orleans Canal Place! We appreciate your valuable feedback which we will utilize to improve our physical property and guest services in the future. We will certainly follow up with our associates to ensure they have an insider’s knowledge of our local area in order to personalize their recommendations to cater to our guests individual needs.

In terms of the elevator wait times, we were experiencing challenges in December as there were several delays in completing the modernization of the 4th and 5th of our 7 total elevators which resulted in the long waits you described. We have seen a dramatic improvement in expediting our guest to and from their rooms ever since this turning point and are due to complete our 6th elevator in a few short weeks. Lastly, we are making several other enhancements to our guest rooms, guest corridors, lobby area, and more over the coming months and hope to enjoy the opportunity to welcome you back to see the improvements we have made.

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#83 of 163 in New Orleans
2,217 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 163 in New Orleans
3,420 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#71 of 163 in New Orleans
767 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#60 of 163 in New Orleans
2,335 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Property: The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing