We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“One-of-a-kind views of Mississippi River and French Quarter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #69 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“One-of-a-kind views of Mississippi River and French Quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Westin Canal Place is unique among hotels in New Orleans by offering absolutely amazing views of the Mississippi River. Situated just outside of the French Quarter, the hotel was able to avoid the height restrictions in FQ construction. The view from the lobby is great and worth making a stop even if not staying at the hotel.

I paid extra for a River View room because I wanted to make sure that I had a room facing the Mississippi. For my visit, I apparently did not need to shell out the extra money. A very surly and disgruntled guest in front of me was given a complimentary upgrade to a View Room because he is an SPG Gold Member. I was exceedingly nice to the front desk person, but since I had already paid for a View Room, I wasn't given any upgrade. It seems that in SPG-land that Gold upgrades are limited to view-only and that you need to be Platinum in order to get a suite upgrade. But I think all of that is more of an issue with general SPG policies.

Anyways, the view from my room was spectacular. It overlooked the Mississippi River and the French Quarter with Jackson Square and other prominent sights. I spent a thoroughly enjoyable evening watching the river traffic and wondering what was on all of the barges. The hotel might not be the newest Westin property, but the vantage point and the view from the rooms facing the Mississippi River are one-of-a-kind.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DC_United_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us! It's impossible not to enjoy our views as they are without a doubt the best in the city. As you mentioned, even if you're not staying at our property you should at least come by to sip on an inspired cocktail from one of our Bar Craftsmen at the uniquely local Green Bar (recently featured in New Orleans Magazine for its award wining cocktails) and enjoy our majestic views.

Without getting technical, you understand the SPG program quite well. Our Platinum members are eligible to the "best available room at check in up to a select standard suite" and our Gold members are eligible to an "enhanced room" at check in when available. Thanks again for the note and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    523
    264
    103
    59
See reviews for
283
411
54
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
191 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is an adequate Westin property. Great location to be able to take in the French Quarter, Harrah's and the Convention Center/Warehouse District. Attached to an upscale mall that includes Sax, Anthropologie, Brooks Bros, J Crew, etc as well as Morton's Steakhouse. You can pick up a street car pretty much right outside the hotel to go to the Garden District or just to save some steps if you are going to the French Market or Cafe Du Monde. I recommend the river view rooms for the extra money because it is cool to wake up to the barge activity quietly navigating the Mississippi River. Tip: Higher floors are more expensive, same rooms. The property has been updated with clean and minimalist decor and furniture, but in general I felt it was showing some wear. We actually switched rooms due to maintenance issues. I tend to judge a hotel by the condition of the hallway carpet and these were is need of cleaining on both floors that I visited. The bar area and main lobbies are great (on the 11th floor, great views).

Room Tip: Pay extra and get the river view. Higher floors are the best but cost even more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winstonteaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thanks for the nice compliments and also informing us of the areas where you'd like to see us improve! We have installed new guest corridor carpet on one of our floors already and are slowly working through the rest of the hotel. On the positive side, we are completing this work in an unobtrusive manner for our guests which also means that progress can be slow during the busy stretches such as what we have encountered with the Super Bowl, Mardi Gras, and convention season. However, we can assure you that we are indeed working on a modernization project to refresh the hotel which has already resulted in the completion of our new Westin Workout Facility and 5 of our 7 guest elevators. We’re improving every day and hope you come back to see us again soon to enjoy the experience first hand!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
211 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Not sure about some reviews that said rooms were tired....ours was very nice. The mall below the hotel does not have that much in it, but there was a Starbucks. The hotel is right across the street from the Harrah's casino. We did not have to walk more than 4 or 5 blocks for any restaurant we went to, and all were great.

Had lunch at the hotel restaurant during the conference I was there for, and I we all enjoyed our meal.

It is on the edge of the French quarter and not right in the thick of things, but overall we liked the hotel and had a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krutec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time out of your day to give us such nice comments! We're excited that you had a great stay. We tell our guests all the time that there is no need to bring their car, but if they do to plan on leaving it with the valet for the weekend. Depending on your interest or the direction you walk from our hotel you'll find shopping, world famous restaurants, museums, music, and more. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future as we continue to evolve our property into the best in New Orleans!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Very well treated at the hotel here. They do a good job given the hotel is on the upper floors. I was fortunate to get a concierge level (29) suite upgrade which had a stunning view of the river and the French Quarter. Staff is great. It is pretty darn close to Bourbon Street. A mardi gras parade ended just outside canal place - very cool. Did not have time to enjoy other features but will try to come back on a vacation. Note they have no concierge lounge.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We're glad you had a great visit with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your next visit and hope that you'll have a little more time to experience our property and unique city. We'll see you soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford CT
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Best thing about the hotel is the location. It's close to the Quarter and great restaurants and far enough away from the crowds and the seediness. The view from the lobby is nice as is the view from the room I had. Other than that, the rooms are tired and need to be renovated. The bathroom is the worst part - not really clean, fixtures old, toilets don't flush properly, very small, small shower. The actual room is pretty basic, not enough outlets. Overall, not great. I would not stay here again. It's ok for a night but not for a vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaplesVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thanks for the feedback on your recent stay with us! We are currently in our first phase of a full property refresh which has begun with our elevators and our recently completed Westin Workout Facility. In the coming months we will be working to modernize many of the other areas that you have mentioned thanks to our guest giving us such valuable feedback. One of the guest room improvements will involve a renewal of our bathrooms to make them truly heavenly. We hope to see you again soon to see the continuous improvements we are making!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Bottom Line: Great 4+ star hotel right at the edge of the French Quarter, perched atop a mall and right on Canal Street. Phenomenal lobby area on with a massive window view of the Mississippi and French Quarter. Comfortable spacious suites and terrific service.

I stayed at the Westin for a business conference. Driving in from the airport, be aware that the Westin sits atop a parking garage and mall, and the drive-up entrance is at the rear of the building (from Canal Place), which can be a little confusing for tourists. Parking is in the garage itself (and not cheap, but convenient).

Westin's service is impressive. My stay had been extended by a day, and I knew it was booked solid. When I presented my request to extend a day along with my (barely used) bonus points card, I was immediately upgraded to a suite and told the extra day posed no problem - and at the conference group rate. Talk about locking in my future business! The concierge was also terrific. When I asked her for a map and recommendations for oyster restaurants, she gave me three, along with background and history of each and drew directions for me. And those recommendations were spot on.

The suite room was enormous, facing out over the modern city. Wifi, very comfortable bed and bedding, and a large bathroom with a standshower and huge vanity. I believe I received a renovated room - they had signs up about it - everything was super modern and fresh.

No complaints here and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FSOTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are so excited to share your feedback with our team and the specific comments about our concierge staff. They will be delighted to know that they were able to impact your visit in our unique city. Thanks for noticing the improvements we've been making and we can't wait to see you again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Westin was the right place for us to stay in New Orleans.

At checkin, we were upgraded to a riverview room just by asking. And the view was wonderful --the boats on the river, the late afternoon storms brewing from the gulf and a romantic morning, sunlit view of the French Quarter. The hotel is located right beside the French Quarter -- a peaceful retreat but easy to walk to for dinner. A river front park is just across a parking lot for walking the dogs. Room service food is good and not badly priced. Various reviews mention the elevator problems -- we did not have much in the way of problems during our stay and they are being worked. on. Many thanks,also, for the doorman who made an eighty year old women feel like sixty.

In short, we receommend the Westin as your hotel in New Orleans!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2DogsCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We're really appreciate your nice comments and are delighted that you had such a great stay with us! As you mentioned, our elevators are being worked on and we've made some great progress in just recently completing 5 of our 7 elevators in our modernization project. The views are what we are known for, but we really enjoy hearing about our friendly and personalize service which I will certainly share with our doormen. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#80 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#75 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Property: The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing