We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Renovations needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #84 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at lots of Westins in my day and this one just isn't up to their normal standard. Staff is very good but there aren't enough of them. The location and views of the city are great! But the public spaces and rooms are pretty worn. Elevators are being replaced now which is good because they are pretty shabby for a Westin. That said, my room was quiet, the bed was comfortable, and it had a safe, tv with lots of options, and was well equipped. Unfortunately, all of the furniture, carpet and wallpaper looked rather beaten down, kinda dirty. I would give this hotel a rating of 3 to 3.5 stars provided the room rate doesn't exceed $185/night. If more than than that, I would stay elsewhere until the renovations are complete. Hopefully, they'll make the investment as the bones are there for 4+ star property.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickeyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We welcome all feedback from our guests - good and not so good. Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience and I can assure you that we are working extremely hard on everything you have mentioned. Our guest rooms, guest corridors, lobby, and more are all being improved on a daily basis with our hotel having a completely revitalized product by this time next year. We have also just completed our modernization 5 of our 7 guest elevators and also our Westin Workout facility, which is now something that our guests are absolutely raving about.

I'll be sure to share the kind comments about our staff which they always appreciate to hear. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,225 - 1,231 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very close to trolly, french market and casino! Only complaint was that there were two full size beds and not queens. Would think with the prices they get they could spring for two queens but of well, we didnt sleep much anyway.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyandheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to respond! We are happy to hear that you had a great experience with us and enjoyed our amazing city. Our location and views are the best in New Orleans, as you are truly just a few steps away from whatever your interest may be.

The determination for us in going with two double beds rather than two queen beds was to provide a more spacious room for our guests. We receive great comments about the size of our rooms with one king bed, two double beds, and our suites - but I can completely understand your preference. On your next visit, you may prefer a room with one king bed and one of our heavenly rollaway beds or possibly an entry level suite such as the Bienville suite with a heavenly rollaway bed. Please give us a call prior to your next reservation in order to ensure we are providing the most convenient and comfortable experience possible. Thanks again!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First off, I believe that the staff and employees at this particular Westin were outstanding and were always available with a smile to help me out. That being said, the elevators were awful and the hotel really needs an update. Many of the chairs in the lobby sitting area were thread bare and the 1990s carpet was in need of sore replacing. I was also disappointed with the gym but I understand it is due to be updated. Overall, I had a positive experience at this Westin, but I do believe management needs to take very seriously all of us business travelers who have recommended an upgrade as there are a whole hell of a lot of nice hotels in New Orleans in the Westin's price range. Last thought, this hotel is in an excellent location to enjoy the French Quarter and all it offers. No spa?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbrooks17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

We are disappointed that you had a less then perfect experience with us, but want you to know that we are currently working on all of the concerns you have mentioned! Our elevator modernization project became closer to full completion last week when our 4th and 5th of 7 elevators were completed. Over the past week, our guest are no longer noticing our elevators which is our goal. While our lobby does have the best view of the Mississippi river and French Quarter in the world, the furniture and carpet are indeed starting to show their age. However, we've taken feedback such as yours to heart and are scheduled to revitalize this area in the coming months. In terms of the Westin Workout facility, it was just completed and has become a great source of guest satisfaction. There's nothing like it in the city. We also have built a massage room adjacent to the Westin Workout facility where our guest can reserve a full compliment of massage services through our concierge desk with just 24 hours notice. We are sorry you just missed out on experiencing a few of these just completed enhancements, but we are extremely confident that your next visit will be well worth the wait as we continue to evolve each and every day.


Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

If you can get beyond the inconvenience of having to take two elevators to get to your guest room -- one to the 11th floor lobby because parking is on floors 1-10 (NOLA is underwater and parking is above ground!), the other elevator to the guest rooms -- then this hotel is well worth the stay. From the lobby you can see breathtaking views of the entire city and beyond thanks to a collection of really large floor-to-ceiling windows. Views from the guestrooms are even better. The service staff was great and very responsive. It is really too bad the new fitness center will be finished next week. Guess it means I'll just have to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing east; you will not be disappointed. The views are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krobins110276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thanks for the compliments! Our views really are amazing which is why we are certain that our goal of being the best hotel in the city will come to fruition in the near future as we continue to refresh our property. We're sorry you did not get a chance to enjoy our recently completed Westin Workout Facility which is in a class of its own in our city. As you mentioned, you will definitely have to come back to experience it in what will surely be an even more rejuvenating stay! We look forward to seeing you soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

It took a minute to find the parking garage. The hotel has a mall garage garage as the 1st 10 floors that cost only 18$. Which is a great deal in New Orleans. The Mall is the first 2 stories with high end stores. On the 3rd floor is a movie theater. The theater rooms are smaller with relaxing recliners. It also was wait service. The hotel lobby is on the 11th floor. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location. It is directly across the street from the casino and on the edge of the french quarter so you are away from the noise. We didn't have any problems with elevators that others noted. Another couple did get stuck on the elevator for 5 minutes they said but the hotel staff was very nice apologizing for the issue.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We have turned the corner on our elevator modernization project and now have completed 5 of our 7 hotel elevators which has dramatically improved our speed and efficiency. We certainly have a great location and amazing views which we are glad you enjoyed. We're continuing to work on various improvements throughout our property as we evolve and grow, which we hope you have the opportunity to enjoy on your next visit!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I am born and raised in NOLA, and know my way around very well. When I take a visit home I generally have preferred to stay in one of the better known and established hotels. I found a great discount on Westin Canal Place for the week before Christmas, and thought I would give it a try and save a few bucks. I am so glad I did! The location is perfect, especially if you don't want the added expense of a rental car - a short walk to the Quarter, a short walk the other way to the Dome, Convention Center, casino, or the streetcar to Uptown. The room was spacious with a fantastic view of the river, and the bed was very comfy. The hotel elevators were undergoing some work during my stay, and sometimes there was a sort of lengthy wait, but it was pleasant to chat with other guests plus while waiting I enjoyed the view of the bridge and Westbank from the elevator lobby so much I didn't care. The bar was small and friendly, the desk staff helpful, there was a shopping mall a short glass elevator ride away, and the rooftop heated pool sealed the deal. I expect I will make this hotel my regular place to stay whenever I can manage a visit to NOLA. Who Dat!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HawaiiMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

It was great to hear that you had such an exhilarating stay! We'll be sharing this with our staff to show them the benefit of the hard work we have committed to in order to improve our service. We hope to see you again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Doormen were great. Registration was backed up but management brought out more staff. Amazing view of the river from the lobby. Room was very spacious and fairly clean. We found a piece of what we thought was petrified bacon under the bed while checking to make sure we hadn't left anything behind before checking out. There were no wash clothes in our bathroom when we arrived. Elevators were down and an annoyance all weekend. The wait times were unbelievable. I felt so bad for the two wedding parties that were at the hotel this weekend. Every time we tried to ride the elevators we ran into some from one of the wedding parties trying to get where they needed to be. Green Bar staff were not attentive. We stood at the concierge desk for 10 minutes, no one from registration desk offered any assistance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMLSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Feedback is a gift and we thank you for giving it to us, as it is the best way for us to understand where we need to improve. We have shared this feedback with our team and I assure you that we are working hard on improving some of our operational processes to enable a better guest experience. Additionally, we have recently seen a dramatic improvement in our elevator efficiency after completing the modernization on 5 of our 7 elevators a few days ago. We should have the final two completed in the next few months, as well as a number of other improvements at our property. We're sorry you had a disappointing experience with us on this occasion, but are confident that you'll see a remarkable difference on your next visit.

We can't wait for the opportunity to welcome you back!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#77 of 167 in New Orleans
2,320 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#71 of 167 in New Orleans
831 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 167 in New Orleans
3,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 167 in New Orleans
2,595 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#68 of 167 in New Orleans
2,395 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#21 of 167 in New Orleans
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $152 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing