We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great service, excellent views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Ranked #69 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, excellent views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

If you can get beyond the inconvenience of having to take two elevators to get to your guest room -- one to the 11th floor lobby because parking is on floors 1-10 (NOLA is underwater and parking is above ground!), the other elevator to the guest rooms -- then this hotel is well worth the stay. From the lobby you can see breathtaking views of the entire city and beyond thanks to a collection of really large floor-to-ceiling windows. Views from the guestrooms are even better. The service staff was great and very responsive. It is really too bad the new fitness center will be finished next week. Guess it means I'll just have to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing east; you will not be disappointed. The views are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krobins110276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thanks for the compliments! Our views really are amazing which is why we are certain that our goal of being the best hotel in the city will come to fruition in the near future as we continue to refresh our property. We're sorry you did not get a chance to enjoy our recently completed Westin Workout Facility which is in a class of its own in our city. As you mentioned, you will definitely have to come back to experience it in what will surely be an even more rejuvenating stay! We look forward to seeing you soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    523
    264
    103
    59
See reviews for
282
411
54
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

It took a minute to find the parking garage. The hotel has a mall garage garage as the 1st 10 floors that cost only 18$. Which is a great deal in New Orleans. The Mall is the first 2 stories with high end stores. On the 3rd floor is a movie theater. The theater rooms are smaller with relaxing recliners. It also was wait service. The hotel lobby is on the 11th floor. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location. It is directly across the street from the casino and on the edge of the french quarter so you are away from the noise. We didn't have any problems with elevators that others noted. Another couple did get stuck on the elevator for 5 minutes they said but the hotel staff was very nice apologizing for the issue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We have turned the corner on our elevator modernization project and now have completed 5 of our 7 hotel elevators which has dramatically improved our speed and efficiency. We certainly have a great location and amazing views which we are glad you enjoyed. We're continuing to work on various improvements throughout our property as we evolve and grow, which we hope you have the opportunity to enjoy on your next visit!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I am born and raised in NOLA, and know my way around very well. When I take a visit home I generally have preferred to stay in one of the better known and established hotels. I found a great discount on Westin Canal Place for the week before Christmas, and thought I would give it a try and save a few bucks. I am so glad I did! The location is perfect, especially if you don't want the added expense of a rental car - a short walk to the Quarter, a short walk the other way to the Dome, Convention Center, casino, or the streetcar to Uptown. The room was spacious with a fantastic view of the river, and the bed was very comfy. The hotel elevators were undergoing some work during my stay, and sometimes there was a sort of lengthy wait, but it was pleasant to chat with other guests plus while waiting I enjoyed the view of the bridge and Westbank from the elevator lobby so much I didn't care. The bar was small and friendly, the desk staff helpful, there was a shopping mall a short glass elevator ride away, and the rooftop heated pool sealed the deal. I expect I will make this hotel my regular place to stay whenever I can manage a visit to NOLA. Who Dat!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiiMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
It was great to hear that you had such an exhilarating stay! We'll be sharing this with our staff to show them the benefit of the hard work we have committed to in order to improve our service. We hope to see you again soon!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Doormen were great. Registration was backed up but management brought out more staff. Amazing view of the river from the lobby. Room was very spacious and fairly clean. We found a piece of what we thought was petrified bacon under the bed while checking to make sure we hadn't left anything behind before checking out. There were no wash clothes in our bathroom when we arrived. Elevators were down and an annoyance all weekend. The wait times were unbelievable. I felt so bad for the two wedding parties that were at the hotel this weekend. Every time we tried to ride the elevators we ran into some from one of the wedding parties trying to get where they needed to be. Green Bar staff were not attentive. We stood at the concierge desk for 10 minutes, no one from registration desk offered any assistance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMLSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Feedback is a gift and we thank you for giving it to us, as it is the best way for us to understand where we need to improve. We have shared this feedback with our team and I assure you that we are working hard on improving some of our operational processes to enable a better guest experience. Additionally, we have recently seen a dramatic improvement in our elevator efficiency after completing the modernization on 5 of our 7 elevators a few days ago. We should have the final two completed in the next few months, as well as a number of other improvements at our property. We're sorry you had a disappointing experience with us on this occasion, but are confident that you'll see a remarkable difference on your next visit.

We can't wait for the opportunity to welcome you back!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Weston Canal Place is in a perfect location- just far enough from the crowd to be quieter, yet right on the edge of the action. You can't ask for better. Ask for a room with a view and you can see across the French Quarter towards Jackson Square and still have a river view with the barges and cruise ships traveling on it. Restaurants are within blocks from the hotel, as is Cafe du Monde. The area felt safe and is well-lit. A small mall and a Starbucks is attached. The staff is extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the area. As for the rooms- they are spacious and clean. Outside noise is at a minimum, but hallway noise can be a bit loud at times.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myzygy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Wow! Our team was excited to see that you had a near perfect experience with us and we are sharing your feedback with our team to show that the hard work we are putting in is paying off. We can't wait to welcome you back again in the future!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I came to this hotel after checking out of another hotel in New Orleans. A calm feeling surrounded me as soon as I got to the lobby floor... I will say, there was no one outside, and it is not well marked...but it is lovely when you step off the elevator.
I paid a bit extra for the River views -- but fog and rain prevented me from seeing anything.

One drawback as a sola traveler -- the restaurant is VERY small, and there is only one restaurant. I went downstairs to eat dinner after a full day of meetings, and the bar was full, and there are only a few tables for dinner. I was quite surprised, especially for a Westin.

I ended up ordering room service.

All of this being said, I would stay at this hotel again, and have suggested it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Try to get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusTraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We appreciate the feedback and are delighted that you experienced the majestic views from our lobby! Additionally, we have commenced on a several phase project to revitalize our property which will include seating and dining options which take advantage of our unparalleled views of the French Quarter and Mississippi River. We hope to see you again soon to see the improvements we are making!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The staff is great, its a great location, but from the lobby to the rooms, this place needs a thorough cleaning. It just looks weathered and our room was a little beat up. The bed frame was partially broken at the wheel base. Some kind of stain under the glass top of the dresser (found a cigarette butt under the dresser). Carpet in bad shape. I think this hotel is always busy, but its time to spruce this place up!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BilrusandFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth J, Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks for the feedback about your stay! We work diligently to improve from all feedback that we receive and will share this with our housekeeping team to directly provide them specific information that they can focus on. Internally, we've recently evaluated some processes to improve in this area and we are already starting to see the results from our guests via our guest surveys. We are also commencing on a full property refresh which has already started with our guest elevators and our recently completed Westin Workout facility. We would be delighted to see you back to experience the improvements we are making!

Be Well,
Kenneth Jacques
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#80 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#75 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin New Orleans Canal Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Property: The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Address: 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin New Orleans Canal Place 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is perched high above the city on the upper floors of Canal Place, which also features upscale retail such as Saks Fifth Avenue, LuluLemon, and Tiffany & Co. Guests enjoy spectacular views of the river and French Quarter from our lobby, River 127 restaurant, guestrooms, and meeting spaces in a relaxing environment where they experience our Six Pillars of Well-Being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin New Orleans Canal Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin New Orleans Canal Place Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Westin
Westin Canal Place
Westin Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing