We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,823)
Filter reviews
1,823 results
Traveler rating
600
644
347
139
93
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
600
644
347
139
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloor lobbygreen barheavenly bedgreat locationfrench quarterrooftop poola river view roomstarbucks coffeeharrah's casinobourbon streethotel lobbyparking garageself parkguest roomsconvention centershower headcafe du
Filter
Updating list...
1,477 - 1,482 of 1,823 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012

It need a little renovation tough, the elevators are super slow, we had the 26th floor and lots of workers were there, maybe they are renovating right now, the elevators are priority to update. the best was the location, to walk around french quarter and across street harrahs casino. Also the shopping mall in the place.
Other bad point is that rooms werent ready when we arrived and reservation was made 2 months earlier.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. I'm glad you enjoyed our location and the convenience of The Shops at Canal Place. Please accept my apologies on some of the other issues you encountered. We are currently undergoing an elevator modernization project which will drastically improve their speed and consistency. In addition, we sustained some damage from the recent Hurricane Isaac and are doing all we can to efficiently repair the affected rooms.

We appreciate your patience during this time of progress and look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
David Rosenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I always wanted to stay here, the lobby and sitting area with those beautiful vaulted windows - it's stunning. We were warned the elevators were being serviced/renovated. We did have elevator problems immediately upon arrival, but it was 11:00pm. The elevator was filled with drunk people. It never happened again after that first night. My advice to you: Don't let the intoxicated visitors operate the elevator. They hit the stop buttons, they ignore alarms when the thing is overcapacity (over weight), and they refuse to get off the elevator when it is overloaded. It's a bad combination. Summer is supposed to be the off-season, but NOLA is booming. When else can they revamp their elevator service? Also there are stairs available. Staff was wonderful. Breakfast in the room was tip-top. Didn't use the pool.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room. Much better.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahfru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed our lobby with its exquisite view from the 11th floor. Thank you very much for your patience and understanding while we undergo our elevator modernization project. We anticipate they will be much more consistent on your next visit with us.

Thank you for choosing The Westin New Orleans Canal Place and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,

David Rosenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Everything about this hotel served us perfectly. We were two couples visiting New Orleans for the NCAA men's Final Four tournament in April, and ended up with accommodations at the Westin as part of a ticket package. The location is very convenient for the French Quarter, Riverwalk, Convention Center and even Superdome. What surprised us the most was how peaceful and quiet the rooms are. Our room had a great river view...as long as you accept that the Mississippi is an industrial river through NOLA, then you can enjoy watching the barges and other working boats coming and going and get a glimpse of the city along the river. If there is a concert at the park between the river and the hotel you will definitely hear the music even on the upper floors. The rooftop pool was a great surprise and it provided a great view and a welcome escape from the busy city streets. The rooms are a nice size with a roomy bathroom and very comfy beds/pillows and everything was clean and in good working order. We usually travel with our three young children, and I think this room would have accommodated us all very well. The entrance to the hotel can be a little confusing in that it is essentially above The Canal Place shopping mall. You enter either the mall or a small lobby on the ground floor and then take an elevator up several floors to the hotel lobby. We made the walk to the Superdome for games in about 15-20 minutes and found it to be the quickest way to get there. We did not take advantage of food or room service at the hotel, but we did have drinks at the bar and found the staff there to be polite and prompt. Our check-in was swift even with large numbers of guests checking in at the same time during this very busy tournament time. We didn't require much in terms of help from concierge or getting around NOLA as my husband is from the area and we are very familiar with the city, so I cannot comment on that hotel service, but I will say that at a very busy time when the hotel was completely booked we received excellent service in every other respect. I found this hotel a top-notch choice as a base camp for exploring New Orleans while providing a quiet and relaxing place to return to for the night. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Higher floors on river side are quiet and have view of the Mississippi River and French Quarter
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wejustgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Your compliments and detailed review of your stay at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place are truly appreciated. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your festive weekend at the NCAA games, our location, rooftop pool, spacious guest rooms and more. We're glad you were able to enjoy a good night's sleep on our Westin Heavenly Bed after long days of celebrating and sight-seeing.

We can't wait for your next visit to New Orleans and to welcome you back to our hotel.

Warmest regards,

David Rosenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Having stayed in many new luxurious Starwood properties in Asia, one has a certain expectation for a Westin hotel. Well, it was old and service not really up to Westin standard.
Thanks to Platinum suite awards we got a large 75 m² suite. Funny thing though (we encountered that also in other Starwood US properties), no fridge. We had to ask for one.
We got two bottles of water free (usually, a Platinum gets 4, in a suite 6-bottles); we never got a refill. We also never a got a refill of shower gel - we had to ask twice. One day our room was not made up; usually, you get a notice that they weren't able to do it and to call for this service at a later time. Evening turn-down service is also not known in US (they would hopefully have refilled shower gel). In fact, we are just staying in another Starwood hotel, also no shower gel refill - weird way of saving money. I mean the cleaning lady sees that there are two adults and one child staying.
Generally, the way they make up the room is sloppy. Towels go missing, etc.
There wasn't even a room service menu after we checked in.
Thanks to Platinum we got free continental breakfast. This caused on each day of our 6 day stay some confusion. It seems there is only one headwaiter in charge. So you explain that to two waiters and then the headwaiter comes with the bill anyway. It also may take up to 3 waiters to get coffee. The attitude (hey, they get free breakfast) was generally not very courteous. We are used to other levels of service in a Westin hotel. Anyway, free continental breakfast means free access to their tiny buffet. On three days there was a cook also for eggs - how come not on other days? Not enough people staying at the hotel?
The pool on top floor is not serviced, thus very dirty on weekends. Also water quality got worse by the day.
I made the mistake of ordering room service. After one hour I called again. Well it was forgotten, thus had to wait another 30 min.
For express checkout you usually get the bill on the night before checkout. Wasn't there. Upon check-out they asked me about it because they had already charged everything to my credit card.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwithkid99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. I apologize that your time with us did not meet your expectations. As a Platinum SPG, your business is very important to us and your loyalty is appreciated. Your feedback is being addressed with the appropriate departments so we may make service expectation adjustments as necessary. We hope you will consider staying with us again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

As soon as we arrived I knew I had selected the right place! Staff suggested great restaurants and music spots. I was there for 3 nights with a friend and we enjoyed the rooftop pool for relaxing after walking around. The rooms were clean and staff was friendly. I liked being close to everything. Walked everywhere from the hotel, great shops nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mundo-es-un-libro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. Thank you for your compliments on our staff and location. I'm glad you were able to visit our rooftop pool and soak in the panoramic view of the city; it truly is magnificent.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Warmest regards,

David Rosenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews