We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,859)
Filter reviews
1,859 results
Traveler rating
617
651
354
141
96
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
617
651
354
141
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews floor lobby green bar heavenly bed great location french quarter rooftop pool a river view room starbucks coffee harrah's casino bourbon street hotel lobby parking garage self park guest rooms convention center cafe du jackson square
Filter
Updating list...
1,529 - 1,534 of 1,859 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We brought our dog for graduation weekend and were nervous to say the least as to how we would be recieved. Some guests were not too pleased to see a dog in the lobby and before we had even checked in we shouldered some dirty looks from guests. Then, while standing in line to check in the nicest bell hop came to say hello to our dog, asked him to sit & gave him a mouth full of treats! Every staff member was amazing!! The rooms were great. The location was amazing & it was an overall great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PapaLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your time at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. We understand that dogs are part of the family and it's important for them to be welcomed. We're glad our staff were accommodating to your needs and that you enjoyed our location.

We look forward to welcoming you and four legged friend again in the future.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our group from Washington state spent 5 days at the Westin for a national church youth gathering. I had read negative reviews about the elevators, but we really did not experience long waits. We thoroughly enjoyed the beds and bedding that provided good sleep after our long days. We enjoyed fixing Starbucks coffee in our room as well as indulging in the Starbucks always available to us in the lobby. Mmm!

Room Tip: ask for the river view if available
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skal_1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. We are thrilled you chose our hotel as your accommodations during your church gathering; it was a pleasure having you all. We're glad you enjoyed our Heavenly Beds and our complimentary Starbucks coffee in the lobby. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warmest regards,

David Rosenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

The only bad thing about this hotel is that you have to take two elavators to get to your room and one of them is really slow. Other than that they have nice rooms, and a great pool. At the roof where the pool is there's a great view of the French Quarter! It's also right by the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

I'm so glad you took the time to visit our rooftop pool deck and were able to soak in the views of the French Quarter and Mississippi River. Please accept my apologies on the wait time for the elevator; we have just begun our elevator modernization project and we appreciate your patience during this time of progress.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

On July 2nd we had planned on just running thru the city and leaving but were a little tired and decided to call around for a hotel. Evey hotel we called were way over priced so we decided to look on our GPS in the vehicle and look what hotels it listed and Westin was on it our last choice well when she said $109.99 because my husband works for the Government we had to go that's a great deal. OMG I love this place! Not only was the view wonderful but the Front Desk agents were so nice and helpful. We had a view of the river and part of city how lucky can you get? On the roof was their pool my kids loved it! The pool had a see thru balcony so you could see the city as you swim. Then at night the pool turned bright blue bright green and purple. The bed was very comfy and room was very clean "very" :) Also the bottom floor was a big mall with the finest stores and other side of hotel was Harrahs this hotel is just in a perfect location. We had the best time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Number1Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. With there being so much to do and see in New Orleans, it's hard to just breeze through and we're glad you made time to stay the night and truly enjoy our wonderful city. I am also glad to hear you found a great rate by using the GPS function on your phone. Thank you for posting a picture of our pool at night and it's great to hear that you and your kids enjoyed your time on the rooftop.

We can't wait to welcome you again on your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

David Rosenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Had a wonderful trip from Scotland to the Deep South in early June. The Westin is a beautiful hotel in a magical city. We had a very well appointed large room with a view of the river. Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is central for many attractions. The lobby on 11th floor, above very classy mall, is magnificent with wonderful views. From here we set off on our adventure on the American Queen, a beautifully refurbished paddle steamer that took us on a week's cruise on the Mighty Mississippi. I do not have one bad thing to say about the hotel or the cruise - comfortable stateroom, wonderful food, well organised and interesting daily trips and great entertainment in the evening. Best holiday I've ever had (except maybe for Hawaii!!! that's another story). Do stay at the Westin. Do cruise on the American Queen.

Room Tip: I was on floor 16 and had a river view
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggieanne1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place. I am pleased to know you enjoyed your guest room and stunning view of the Mississippi River. I am so glad we could be a part of the best vacation you have ever taken and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip across the pond.

Warmest regards,

David Rosenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews