We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (714)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveler rating
283
261
98
36
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
261
98
36
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsruby slipperhigh ceilingsfront deskgreat locationfrench quarterfour posterwindowless roomwithout windowsfoot ceilingscanal streetvalet parkingolder hotelwithin walking distancecomfortable bedswould stay here againbeautiful roomwalked everywhere
Filter
Updating list...
487 - 492 of 714 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

First off, the Pelham has a great location. It's a four-minute walk from the French Quarter and a 20-second walk to several trolley lines. You can rent a car if you want, but we walked everywhere with ease. Stumbling distance from Bourbon as well.

The rooms are nothing mind-blowing (at least ours wasn't), but the beds are comfortable and the rooms have a good New Orleans feel. Our room was windowless, so I can't speak to the view, but we were comfortable. The furnishings are sparse (TV, nightstand, a few lamps), but who goes to NOLA to sit in their room? I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. We were on a tight budget and they never once offered something out of our price range.

We're planning to go back to New Orleans and the Pelham is high on our list of places to stay.

Room Tip: If you don't mind sleeping in a windowless room, there are some very affordable options.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cnacke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Location of hotel was very good... within walking distance of main tourist attractions. Street was quiet with little traffic. Staff were friendly but not very helpful. Room was clean on arrival but no housekeeping during our stay. There was no window in our room ... so no view. Also the soundproofing of the rooms not great... noise from neighbouring rooms was disruptive.

Room Tip: ask for room with a window and view!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5inatent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Positive: We selected The Pelham based on Travel Advisor reviews. We used Booking.com for our arrangements. The location for us was prefect. Located in CBD just one block of Canal - a short walk to the riverfront, streetcars, French Quarter, the shopping mall, the casino. We enjoyed the fact that it was situated on a street not heavily traveled making the immediate surroundings quiet. The Staff was helpful and courteous. The four days we stayed there we were always warmly greeted when every we retuned from a venture. The room, an interior room with no windows, was nicely decorated, clean. Our room had 15 foot high ceilings so we did not feel claustrophobic. USA Today placed at the door daily. The air conditioning worked great considering the hot humid August weather outside. Shower only - which was ok for us but this might not be suitable for others. Great food at The Ruby Slipper - open for breakfast and lunch.

On the down side: The Wi-Fi signal was strong on the first day after that very weak - 1 bar. We had to depend on 3G connection. We could not get the safe to work properly. That was a little inconvenient. The price of parking is very high. This is not the hotel's fault. Parking prices in this area are high ($25 to $40 a day). This can take an unexpected chunk out of your travel budget. Ruins great deal you got on a room or rental car.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has windows and a bath tub if you need those for your comfort zone.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kendallbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Staff lovely, very helpful. Lovely rooms, excellent aircon it was so silent! Perfect location, walking distance to everything. Reasonably priced. The only thing that's missing is a pool/gym but otherwise this place is great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lpasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

In a normal hotel you go out to enjoy the city and when you came back at 3pm you find it nice and clean
NOT IN HERE
Both the housekeeping personal and the front desk guy made really lame excuses and I didn't got my room clean
We paid for 2 nights but only received service for one
I will never return

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corina0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews