We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at the Pelham” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pelham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pelham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Click HERE & save 10%
Ranked #82 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time at the Pelham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I loved our stay at the Pelham Hotel. I had called for a room with a window ahead of time but to my luck we get there and did not get one. I was a little disappointed but when we got to our room and saw it we thought this may be alright right and it was. The room was very clean and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The ac was great kept the room very cold " like my wife and I like it ". We had everything we needed. The man at the front desk Troy was great he was very friendly and did his best to make us comfortable. We were only a few blocks from the French Quarter so we did not have to use our car at all, we had it placed in the garage and did not see it again until the morning we left. This hotel was very classy and a very beautiful building. I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends and family. The prices for the room was much more affordable than surrounding hotels. When we go back we will most definitely be staying at the Pelham.

Room Tip: You can try to get a room with a window, but do not worry my personal feelings are that all the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    176
    62
    27
    26
See reviews for
79
146
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hosts and wait staff were friendly and resourceful when it came to arranging attractions. The room was clean and comfortable with high ceilings and nice appeal. Location was downtown, but far enough from the main bourbon street action to allow for a quiet night's sleep. I would book again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Pelham is located just a couple of minutes walk away from French Quarter. It is in Central Business District and also very close to Warehouse District. Perfect location! The rooms are spacious and clean. The best part of our stay was the service! The front desk clerk, Thomas, was very knowledgable and eager to help. We didn't plan our trip out very well, so every day he gave us a new map with restaurant recommendations and even walking routes. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaykettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Loved this historic 108 year old hotel. Great location, walking distance to the French Quarter, Mother's and Harrahs, if you want to gamble and more. Great staff, most notably, Troy. Thank you Troy for recommending and booking our Historic Trolley Tour, loved it, especially the walking tour through the Saint Louis Cemetary. I highly recommend this hotel and plan on staying there again on my next trip to NOLO.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed mid May for a conference at the Pelham Hotel,had a lovely room on the 2nd floor,which had recently been refurbished,high ceilings,beautiful bathroom,triple glazing on the window could not hear much going on outside on Magazine St,rooms were very clean,the front desk staff were very helpful with recommendations on where to eat and go out at night,only ate at the Ruby Slipper once due to the demand and wait time,had a great breakfast.
Due to the conference in town all rates were high and the Pelham was good value compared with the other hotels I was looking to stay at,could not fault the position located near the French Quarter,Casino and Wharehouse district,we did not need to use a taxi during the time we stayed.
Will be coming back to the Pelham with my parents next year when we visit the U.S.A.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The cost was average and that is why I booked the room. It is in the heart of downtown. Location is great. The pictures of the rooms on ANY site you look at are NOT the room you will get. The king bed room I booked did have a king size bed but it took up the whole room. Plus it didn't have any windows. I am pretty sure they found a big closet and made it into a room. I addressed my complaints to the manager, who was never there, and got no results. Only stay here if there are no other options.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We saw from previous reviews that some of the rooms do not have windows. Rooms that are older and small are no problem for us, but we called ahead to request a room with windows and were assured that our request could be honored. We would have booked elsewhere if we were told that this might not be possible. We missed a connecting flight and knew we would be checking in late, so I called the hotel to let them know this as soon as I found this out. I was told no problem. When we arrived, we were told that the only room that was available had no windows. I was told that we could be moved to a room with windows after our second night (we were staying for 4 nights). I was too tired to look for another hotel at that point, so we just put up with it. That first room (313) was very small, very dark (too few lamps/lighting), and had a kind bed that only was accessible from one side, as it was placed against the wall. The toilet was loose and rocked slightly when you sat on it. Two nights was way too long in this room. We were moved to room 317 for the second two nights, which was a very nice room with huge windows. It had much more room to move around and a bigger bathroom. The first room didn't have any sitting area. The front desk staff was very friendly (with one minor exception). The housekeeping staff was wonderful--wish I had the name of the gentleman who seemed to head up cleaning of the the 3rd floor--he was very kind and helped me carry my luggage to the front desk to store it between room moves. Wish they kept the coffee out all day--I really enjoy a cup in the evening. Water pressure in shower was great. Would have given this a 4 rating if not for the first room and our request for windows denied.

Room Tip: There is no guarantee of a room with windows and because of this, I will stay somewhere else next ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yoopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#57 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#47 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#28 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#42 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelham

Property: The Pelham
Address: 444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#85 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pelham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelham Hotel is in the heart of what you come to New Orleans for. Only minutes from the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino, the Riverwalk and the Warehouse District, distinctive styling, uncompromised convenience and a friendly staff await you. Historically located on a site that was formerly the plantation of Jean Baptist Lemoyne de Bienville, founder of New Orleans, the Pelham Hotel offers a grand scale of personal service and attention to detail in an intimate boutique setting reminiscent of old-world European grace. The hotel offers the luxurious living standards of elegant New Orleans combined with personal attention and an unwavering commitment to your happiness. This historic landmark hotel offers 60 uniquely appointed guestrooms featuring grand 18-foot ceilings, original old brick walls, crown molding and 10-foot-tall windows. Each room is fitted in imported white linens, duvets and antique furnishings. In-room amenities include a self-programmable safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and radio alarm clocks with iPod/MP3 connections. Marble floors, granite vanity tops and curved shower rods adorn each bathroom. Adjacent to the Pelham Hotel is the highly acclaimed Ruby Slipper Restaurant, featuring local flavors such as BBQ Shrimp & Grits and Bananas Foster Pain Perdu along with traditional favorites for breakfast and lunch. Surf the web or catch up on some work with peace of mind as all guests of the Pelham Hotel can enjoy free wireless Internet access! Hotel is 100% Smoke-Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Pelham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing