We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, great price!”
Review of The Pelham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pelham
Ranked #91 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We found this hotel on bookit or kayak for under $90 (off season). It is beautiful! The room we were in had 18 foot ceilings, marble counter tops in the bathroom, and a bed you had to climb up into. We loved it! And the guy at the desk actually told us we could save some money if we wanted to park at the all day lot across the street rather than valet. It was half the price! You walk across the street and you're on Decatur, which has fantastic bars and restaurants. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 599 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

I am not a diva, so I thought this hotel was charming in a great location. If you have stayed in a hotel in Europe, and didn't insist on staying in an American style chain hotel, you will get why this place is cool. The building is clearly old, in a good way. We did get a room with a window, and at a really good rate. The ceilings were 20 feet high with windows to match. It was a short scenic walk to Mother's for dinner and Cafe DuMond for breakfast. Troy at the front desk was very polite and helpful. If you like boring cookie cutter rooms with no character, stay somewhere else and leave this cool hotel for people who appreciate the local culture. Valet parking was $30, as it is in all the hotels I checked in this area.

Room Tip: Getting a window is no guarantee, but if you're nice to the front desk staff, it should increase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tygerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My first recommendation is that if you are going to New Orleans and want to woo your significant other, this is not the hotel to plan on. It is a fantastic place to just fall down after a night of Boubon Street. The rooms are not fancy at all and the bathroom is useful. It's an old hotel and I believe it knows that i.e. don't expect a lot.

The bonus is that it is in a great location. Just a quick walk to Canal Street. So if you are in town for a game, a wild time, this is your place. A romantic getaway? Not so much.

Room Tip: Bring a cover sheet if you are slightly germaphobic....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

A bit dissapointed with the hotel as we have heard a lot about this hotel but was not upto the standard we had expected this to be. Though we did not have any major complaints but just was not what we have expected or hoped for.
The location was great and staff did try hard to please.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The location is great because it isn't right in the craziness of the French Quarter but just a short walk away and always felt safe! The website we booked our trip through messed up our reservation and when we got there Thomas (at the desk) moved around everything and went out of his way to accommodate us (to make a long story short), but where a large chain would not have cared as much. Gorgeous and decently large room with a lot of character! The staff is always friendly and will do anything to help!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

If you are looking for some deluxe hotel that costs 400 a night this isn't it. This is a charming hotel with the best customer service that you could imagine. Thomas is quite thorough and Kimberly was the highlight of my stay. Not only was she charming but she also gave me first rate service that made me feel like i was at the Ritz. All in all, i would definitely book here again simply because of Kimberly and Thomas.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustLookingForFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I chose to stay here for a weekend in NOLA while celebrating a friend's wedding. There is no denying that The Pelham was a value compared to other surrounding hotels. It is centrally located in a safe area. Like many NOLA hotels, some rooms do not have windows. I requested a room with a window FIVE months prior to our arrival and then again a week before and didn't get it. So, waking up in a dungeon was a little disorienting. The rooms are small, but charming, and with high ceilings. We were on the first floor and it was extremely loud at night because of the elevator. It made this God-awful knocking noise. The hotel served it's purpose, as we were only in the room to sleep. Go for it if you don't mind loud elevators and dark rooms.

Room Tip: Request a room with a window. Request a room on a higher floor. Call to book, don't book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#64 of 166 in New Orleans
1,504 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
1,392 reviews
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelham

Address: 444 Common St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2415
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $98 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pelham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelham Hotel is in the heart of what you come to New Orleans for. Only minutes from the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino, the Riverwalk and the Warehouse District, distinctive styling, uncompromised convenience and a friendly staff await you. Historically located on a site that was formerly the plantation of Jean Baptist Lemoyne de Bienville, founder of New Orleans, the Pelham Hotel offers a grand scale of personal service and attention to detail in an intimate boutique setting reminiscent of old-world European grace. The hotel offers the luxurious living standards of elegant New Orleans combined with personal attention and an unwavering commitment to your happiness. This historic landmark hotel offers 60 uniquely appointed guestrooms featuring grand 18-foot ceilings, original old brick walls, crown molding and 10-foot-tall windows. Each room is fitted in imported white linens, duvets and antique furnishings. In-room amenities include a self-programmable safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and radio alarm clocks with iPod/MP3 connections. Marble floors, granite vanity tops and curved shower rods adorn each bathroom. Adjacent to the Pelham Hotel is the highly acclaimed Ruby Slipper Restaurant, featuring local flavors such as BBQ Shrimp & Grits and Bananas Foster Pain Perdu along with traditional favorites for breakfast and lunch. Surf the web or catch up on some work with peace of mind as all guests of the Pelham Hotel can enjoy free wireless Internet access! Hotel is 100% Smoke-Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pelham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing