We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Choice When Staying in the CBD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pelham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pelham
Ranked #82 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Fredericktown, Missouri
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Choice When Staying in the CBD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was our first time back to NOLA in 17 years; we had an unscheduled trip to meet with a new client.

Having previously lived in the area, we had not many occasions to investigate lodging in the area, but the client recommended the Pelham. Rates are quite reasonable, the rooms were very neat & well-kept, and most of the desk staff was very cordial & accommodating. We had an inside room ... and yes (for those complaining of having no windows), a lot of the hotels in the CBD are "backed up to each other" in a square, so not all rooms can have windows. As there is no scenery to speak of (since all of the buildings are so close), I can't imagine wanting a window that would only allow views of other windows & buildings, as well as letting in a lot of outside noise.

Having said that, the lack of microwave & fridge was not a concern ... the real reason to come to NOLA is for the food, so who wants to have food & the inherent mess in the room?

I can't think of one complaint that wasn't/couldn't have been taken care of ... we are really rather low maintenance, I guess ... everything operated correctly, did not have to take stairs, and the room was comfortable. Well, there is one complaint: the cost of parking in the CBD environs is actually quite heart-stopping when added to the price of the room, but c'est la vie ... we WERE in the CBD.

The only drawback was the fact that there was construction/renovation going on everywhere, so lots of obstructions to walk/drive around which causes confusion for those unused to driving in downtown traffic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScribeLynn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    176
    62
    27
    26
See reviews for
79
146
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

The first day was good.
The second day I left early and when I got back at 2pm my room door was wide open. A bit of lack of security with no one around. On entering the room I found that there were building materials all over the place . Apparently they were replacing the windows.
To add insult to injury the room was not serviced that day. I got the builders to remove their materiald and asked to talk to the owner - several times. No luck.
"We thought you you would be out longer" "Do you wsnt to move rooms"
Lack of security, room not serviced and no one getting back to me. Oh I forgot - yhe noise from the workmen outside my window.
My first time in NO. A pity it was tainted.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knoppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just off canal street and easy walking distance to the French Quarter. staff was wonderful and accommodating to our requests. very enthusiastic and recommended several restaurants that really gave us the flavour of the city.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a window - not much of a view but was strange to us that a hotel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 13kim13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I booked this stay several months in advance with Thomas, he was very helpful and very courteous. I kept in touch with him through the months upon our arrival, and he was very pleasant to deal with and knew what my friends and I were looking for as far as our rooms go. He was very accommodating and as we arrived he was even more accommodating as he assisted us in picking our rooms with much detail.. As far as which floor we wanted , and also Rooms with windows. Thomas then assisted us with a map and gave us tips on where to go for entertainment in new Orleans , such as restaurants , bars, music, etc. We took his advice and it really made our trip more fun, he gave us great tips. The entire front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful throughout our four days. The rooms were spacious and we slept very nicely, no problems at all. Also the Pelham is walking distance to every fun spot in new Orleans , that was a big plus for us. Our next trip here , we will definitely stay at the Pelham... Great service , excellent staff, very
helpful. Much thanks to Thomas and the staff there, you made our stay at the Pelham very memorable!

Room Tip: Every room there is very nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, MS
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Pelham was very clean and staff was very nice and friendly. There was plenty of hot water and towels. The bed was very comfortable. But, the room (410) was too small for 2 double beds. There were a couple of electrical outlets that did not work. There was not TV channel lineup, no info about the hotel. No coffee in the room, but they had a kerig thing in the lobby. It was fine with us, we went to NOLA to see the city not sit in a hotel room. Valet was very nice and timely.

Room Tip: Rooms 409, 410, 411 very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhondaFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I used to work in New Orleans and never knew this hidden gem existed. Small but cozy, the Pelham is convenient to downtown and the French Quarter. Staff was very nice. My room didn't have a window but the decor was fresh and the room was comfortable. A ceiling panel was drooping in the bathroom but I didn't feel threatened that it would fall. I guess I should have called about it but didn't, figuring housekeeping would see it the next day. Parking was $30....valet only. VERY little room on the street when you check in so this could be a problem if there is an event in town. All in all, very satisfied with my stay here and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colemanx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Although our room was small and did not have a window, we were very happy at The Pelham. The hotel has character! It was very clean and the staff was wonderful. The desk clerk offered suggestions regarding tours and the location was great. I would recommend The Pelham.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#57 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#47 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#28 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#42 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelham

Property: The Pelham
Address: 444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#85 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pelham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelham Hotel is in the heart of what you come to New Orleans for. Only minutes from the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino, the Riverwalk and the Warehouse District, distinctive styling, uncompromised convenience and a friendly staff await you. Historically located on a site that was formerly the plantation of Jean Baptist Lemoyne de Bienville, founder of New Orleans, the Pelham Hotel offers a grand scale of personal service and attention to detail in an intimate boutique setting reminiscent of old-world European grace. The hotel offers the luxurious living standards of elegant New Orleans combined with personal attention and an unwavering commitment to your happiness. This historic landmark hotel offers 60 uniquely appointed guestrooms featuring grand 18-foot ceilings, original old brick walls, crown molding and 10-foot-tall windows. Each room is fitted in imported white linens, duvets and antique furnishings. In-room amenities include a self-programmable safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and radio alarm clocks with iPod/MP3 connections. Marble floors, granite vanity tops and curved shower rods adorn each bathroom. Adjacent to the Pelham Hotel is the highly acclaimed Ruby Slipper Restaurant, featuring local flavors such as BBQ Shrimp & Grits and Bananas Foster Pain Perdu along with traditional favorites for breakfast and lunch. Surf the web or catch up on some work with peace of mind as all guests of the Pelham Hotel can enjoy free wireless Internet access! Hotel is 100% Smoke-Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Pelham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing