We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a brilliant time here”
Review of The Pelham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pelham
Ranked #92 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Had a brilliant time here”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I stayed with two other friends in a room on the 3rd floor, while another two friends were in a room on the ground floor. We were there for a total of 10 days & loved every moment.

My friends on the ground floor didn't have windows, but they didn't have any problems with this, they loved the high ceilings, and the convenience of being so close to the community coffee machine. The only complaint I heard from them was that the cleaning staff had a tendency to move a stuffed toy a friend of mine had with her from her bedside table to the center of her bed, but by the end of our stay, it had become a game between her and the cleaning staff.

Our room on the 3rd floor was spacious, we had two double beds, a large screen tv, wardrobe, cupboards, suitcase stands. The room was cleaned daily, the beds were comfortable. Loved the big windows, even though there wasn't much of a view. The bathroom was clean, with plenty of bench space & a full wall worth of mirror.

The staff were friendly, regardless of the time or day. The community coffee was excellent. I personally would rather have a high grade coffee machine that produces drinkable coffee in the lobby, than the standard cheap coffee machines supplied in some hotels that produces something that doesn't even smell like coffee let alone taste like it.

I loved the fact that the hotel was joined to The Ruby Slipper restaurant, which was a wonderful place to go have breakfast each morning (except on weekends when there's a line up of people waiting to be seated that goes out the door).

The hotel is on a small side street, the doorway is well lit, and while the streets leading to the hotel are a bit dark at night time, I dont feel it's fair to hold the hotel responsible for something that is clearly outside of their realm of control. It was a short walk to enter the French Quarter, 10 minute walk to get to either the Green Trolley line, Riverwalk, Harrods or the Mardi Gras World shuttle, & 15 minutes to get to Cafe Du Monde, Bourbon Street, or Jackson Square. One of the main streets, Canal Street, is a block over from the hotel.

The only time I ever had an issue in the hotel, was one day when we kept returning to our room to find the door open. We were unable to find an explanation for the door being open, nothing was taken, & each time we spoke to the desk staff they were apologetic & more upset than we were about the door issue.

Overall, I loved this hotel. If I ever have a chance to return to New Orleans, I will stay here again. And I'll be recommending it to any of my friends planning on visiting NOLA as well.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kizzarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    219
    77
    31
    32
See reviews for
103
189
20
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2011

This old building has a lot of charm but the front desk staff could have been more helpful. They did not seem to have much information about the area restaurants and sites. Also, the air conditioning was on in December so they provided a space heater for the room in order to get a comfortable temperature - it worked, but we had to go down to the desk to get it and we weren't informed about the issue upon check in, which would have been nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yarntemptress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I really have mixed emotions about this hotel. It was my first time visiting New Orleans, so I was really excited about just being in this wonderful city. However, I wasn't that blinded by excitement to recognize that my place of lodging wasn't quite up to snuff. Let me start by listing the positives. Perfect location, friendly hotel employees, fair price, and clean room. Now, the cons. No customer service once you are there. My boyfriend misplaced the tv remote control and called the front desk to get a replacement. He was told that he would have to come to front desk to pick it up because there was no one else working who could bring the remote to the room. Housekeeping came in the morning to clean the room, but we were still in bed and asked them to come back later. There was no later. Housekeeping never returned, so we had to go and pick up clean towels from the front desk later on in the evening after returning from a day out. We were told the same thing by front desk that we would have to come and get the towels because no one else was there to bring them to our room. There was no complimentary coffee in the room. Only community coffee in the lobby. The bed was so lumpy that my boyfriend awoke limping. He said that he'd had better sleep at a campground. Verdict - If you just need a place to just crash while in New Orleans, this is the place. But, if you're looking for luxury or just average hotel treatment, keep on lookng for another place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groves, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I recently stayed here with some friends to celebrate my birthday for the weekend of November 18th-20th 2011.We got a good price considering the fact that most of the hotels in this area were much more expensive. The location of this hotel was perfect. It was a couple minutes walking distance from Harrah's casino, Bourbon street, and the French Quarter. We valet parked our vehicle through the hotel and we payed about $30 per night including tax for valet. We walked everywhere the whole trip, we didnt use our car once.Our room was nice, maybe a little on the small side. The first night we stayed our air conditioning didn't work so we called the front desk and they promptly sent the maintence man in to fix it. The next night our vents over the toilet were leaking so bad it looked like it was raining in our bathroom, our toilet was soaking wet and we used all of our towels to catch the water leak. When we called the front desk to tell them they said they would try to send a maintence man to fix it and they had no clean towels to send to us now but they will bring some when they have some available. As we got tired of waiting we decided to go ahead and leave and go to Bourbon street for the night and hopefully it would be fixed when we get back. When we returned to the hotel that night it still was not fixed so we called the front desk again and they said that they didnt have anyone to fix it that it was too late at night that they could send someone in the morning or switch us rooms. We declined switching rooms since it was so late at night and we were ready to go to bed. We had to go all the way down stairs the rest of our stay to use the bathroom due to the fact if we used ours we would get dripped on from the vent. The next morning it was time for check out and our vent was still not fixed and they just now brought clean towels to our room ( now that we were leaving and didnt need them) I went down to talk to the lady at the desk to see if we could talk to a manger. She said the manager was not there but she would take our number and he would call us. She also said they just switched owners so that is why the room repairs have not been taking care of yet. When we got home I was waiting for a call from the manager on Monday and he had not called me yet so by 1:30pm I called and spoke with Shawn(either the manager or owner) i didnt have to wait long for him to get on the phone and i explained our situation and problems and he was very understanding and listened to what i had to say and he credited our card back a one night stay.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The hotel was overall great, very clean and welcome. The one thing me and my wife felt uneasy about was the entrance to the hotel is off of a side street that was very dark. Walking back to the hotel at night from the quarter wasn't very pleasant. We had someone try to follow us back and beg for money.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErickJ51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have visited New Orleans on a number of occasions staying in various hotels, we stay mostly near the casino but after the last trip staying at the Doubletree (the one recommended by Harrahs )we looked else where and found the Pelham, just a block away.
Its a boutique hotel which as recently been bought and is under a new owner and management. We found the hotel and the rooms clean, the staff was very very helpful, the price including valet parking was excellent. The hotel is very convienent for the casino, riverwalk and the quarter. There is a breakfast and lunch resturant attached which was very good and we throughly enjoyed our stay over the weekend. Compared to the Doubletree the room was large and open, and the price was excellent. Talking to the manger there is going to be alot of improvements coming, for my money its great now, its definetly going to be our hotel in New Orleans from now on

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We came to hotel. They gave us a room with no windows and no heat. It got down to the 40's/50's instead of giving us a new room with heat they get us a space heater that turns off every hour and kept us up most of the night. Instead of putting us in a new room. Next day they send in maintenance who fixes it. We get back to our room to relax before dinner and a few minutes later another guest walks through our door claiming that they gave her our room. Few minutes later we get a call from the front desk who instead of identifying who they are or apologizing for the mistake they just made just states what's ya'lls name... I give it to her and she asked why we did not move rooms. I advised that it was never offered to us and tried to explain...she cut me off and said good bye..again no apology or any customer service. The next day we stop in before our dinner reservations and see that it's 5:00 PM and our room has not been cleaned. We ask if they could have someone clean the room and give us new towels, we get a "certainly" as the reply. We return from our dinner and evening tour to find an unclean room and no fresh towels. The front desk replies that they sent the cleaning staff home for the night. I have made a complaint with the BBB of New Orleans and never want anyone staying there!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jillybean030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
La Galerie Hotel
La Galerie Hotel
#114 of 164 in New Orleans
287 reviews
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#46 of 164 in New Orleans
1,287 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#79 of 164 in New Orleans
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelham

Property: The Pelham
Address: 444 Common St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2415
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#85 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pelham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelham Hotel is in the heart of what you come to New Orleans for. Only minutes from the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino, the Riverwalk and the Warehouse District, distinctive styling, uncompromised convenience and a friendly staff await you. Historically located on a site that was formerly the plantation of Jean Baptist Lemoyne de Bienville, founder of New Orleans, the Pelham Hotel offers a grand scale of personal service and attention to detail in an intimate boutique setting reminiscent of old-world European grace. The hotel offers the luxurious living standards of elegant New Orleans combined with personal attention and an unwavering commitment to your happiness. This historic landmark hotel offers 60 uniquely appointed guestrooms featuring grand 18-foot ceilings, original old brick walls, crown molding and 10-foot-tall windows. Each room is fitted in imported white linens, duvets and antique furnishings. In-room amenities include a self-programmable safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and radio alarm clocks with iPod/MP3 connections. Marble floors, granite vanity tops and curved shower rods adorn each bathroom. Adjacent to the Pelham Hotel is the highly acclaimed Ruby Slipper Restaurant, featuring local flavors such as BBQ Shrimp & Grits and Bananas Foster Pain Perdu along with traditional favorites for breakfast and lunch. Surf the web or catch up on some work with peace of mind as all guests of the Pelham Hotel can enjoy free wireless Internet access! Hotel is 100% Smoke-Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pelham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing