We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad,Bad<bad” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pelham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pelham
Ranked #84 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Belton, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad,Bad<bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Old I can understand. Peeling paint , drapes falling down, faucets didn't work right, ect.. The repairs that had been made looked like it was done by monkeys..They even charge you a safe charge.The safe didn't even work. Front desk was always clueless and less than helpfull.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    207
    72
    30
    28
See reviews for
93
173
20
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

It's all about location for me and my daughter who enjoy great weekends in the French Quarter. This unique location holds a wonderful history that makes it more special. The access to everything you could need is only steps away. Expect to see upgrades as it has recently been purchased by the Hampton Inn. There is a new staff, hi Kiki. The restaurant next door is now operating as the Red Slipper. We have to hope that the price point does not change. We like!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank independent24365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

I recently stayed here for Essence and it was a total disaster! We requested a room with a window before arriving, but when we arrived, we were told that all "window" rooms were booked.....this is just the beginning. When we entered the room, it reaped of mildew! We brought this to the hotel's staff attention and were told that the hotel was under renovation....as if this makes it ok for it to smelll this way. During our entire 5 night stay, the toilet flood every single night! We were told that due to the htoel being under renovation, they have not been able to address the plumbing issues. Ater every shower, the water from the tub leaked unto the floor. The bathroom ceiling was practically falling apart. The bed leaned towards the floor after every night of sleep, and the icemaker stayed unstocked. When we asked for clean towels, we were told that the entire hotel only had 60 towels, and that getting additional towels were limited. On the bright side, we were able to speak with the manager on the last day of our visit. Maintenance were most helpful, they practically did everyone else's job. I usually give everyone the benefit of doubt, even after reading the reviews, but in this case, the reviews are true, this place is an absolute dump! Please do not stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrettyGirlsRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

I came to the hotel for a romantic trip with my husband and I honestly loved the location because we walked everywhere from the mall to bourbon st even to the riverwalk the hotel is now under new ownership and the staff came to my aid when I needed directions or any type of information they also made sure that we were enjoying ourself's disregard the other reviews that are negative because honestly the cost and location are amazing

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrsjanvierward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

The Pelham was adorable. It is in the right spot for all tourist sites but costs the fraction of other major hotels. This hotel has an antique feel. If you are a laid back person who is not to concerned with the hype of the night life then this hotel is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilarmygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Lake, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

I'm originally from New Orleans but Live in Michigan now. Came to visit family and went the cheap way and stayed at the Pelham. Obviously you get what you pay for.... First check in was ok but the front desk man did not know anything about the parking and told me the Valet was 32.00 per day. There's a parking lot across the street that charges 25.00 for 24 hrs! and was warned that the Valet took aprox. 20 min to come and get your car and to bring it back. So I just parked across the street... Once we got to our room, the A/C did not work. Called the front desk and they came up to try and fix it but couldn't, so we got another room. This one was bigger and had the marble countertops like in the pics but the room was kinda yucky feeling. I stayed there for 6 nights! (unfortunatelly, I pre paid 2 months ago). Then I left and went to Biloxi for a few days and came back for 2 more nights, and was put into a room like my original room and we couldn't get the A/C to work, so an actuall maintenance man came up and pressed a few buttons and it worked; however, my blow dryer did not, so I had to request a new one. On a positive note, they responded pretty quickly to my complaints. But my last night we set the A/C to as low as we can 65 but when we woke up sweating, it was stuck on 78 degrees!!!! Now I get home and find that I have over 250.00 in misc fees. I called the hotel and was advised that everyone there was new and that they have a new system so they don't know where the charges came from, and at check out was told that I was good to go because i had pre paid. (I went throught Cheap tickets.com). Also, be warned They do not change the sheets, I had to doubles and one did not have a fitted sheet just 2 regular sheets, and the other the fitted sheet was put on inside out and there is no way that every night they put the sheets on the same. There is no dresser to put your clothes in, just a hanging closet. Also, No fridge or Coffee maker :(

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAGE08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talladega, Alabama
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

Stayed here for Memorial Day weekend with my best friend. Very close to casino! Pulled up and no one came out to help us. Went in to check in and no one even greeted me. I had to speak over the front desk "group" to introduce myself and ask for help. A stranger off the street had to hold the front door open and help us pull the luggage trolley in. got checked in and the room was fairly nice. Could not get the air conditioner to turn off the whole time though. Stayed cool or hot. You would think if you turned the thing on auto and put the air at 72 it would turn off at 72. NOT! got down to 62 and then I would have to shut the whole system off until it got warm again and then turn the air conditioner on again. This happened at night when we were in the room trying to sleep. You could hear everything on the street and we were up pretty high. Low water pressure. everything else was good though. Beds slept wonderfully! will stay here again for the price! Parked at casino and didn't have to pay for parking!

Room Tip: really close to casino
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephaniB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#55 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#68 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelham

Property: The Pelham
Address: 444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#85 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pelham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelham Hotel is in the heart of what you come to New Orleans for. Only minutes from the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino, the Riverwalk and the Warehouse District, distinctive styling, uncompromised convenience and a friendly staff await you. Historically located on a site that was formerly the plantation of Jean Baptist Lemoyne de Bienville, founder of New Orleans, the Pelham Hotel offers a grand scale of personal service and attention to detail in an intimate boutique setting reminiscent of old-world European grace. The hotel offers the luxurious living standards of elegant New Orleans combined with personal attention and an unwavering commitment to your happiness. This historic landmark hotel offers 60 uniquely appointed guestrooms featuring grand 18-foot ceilings, original old brick walls, crown molding and 10-foot-tall windows. Each room is fitted in imported white linens, duvets and antique furnishings. In-room amenities include a self-programmable safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and radio alarm clocks with iPod/MP3 connections. Marble floors, granite vanity tops and curved shower rods adorn each bathroom. Adjacent to the Pelham Hotel is the highly acclaimed Ruby Slipper Restaurant, featuring local flavors such as BBQ Shrimp & Grits and Bananas Foster Pain Perdu along with traditional favorites for breakfast and lunch. Surf the web or catch up on some work with peace of mind as all guests of the Pelham Hotel can enjoy free wireless Internet access! Hotel is 100% Smoke-Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pelham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing