We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Ranked #73 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Location is just far enough away from the crowds of the French Quarter that it's a bit calmer but close enough to be a quick walk to the chaos when you're ready for it. Super close to Lafayette Square (which was awesome to catch the last of the Wednesday night concerts in the park; just moments after we arrived in the city we were listening to music, eating oysters and drinking Abita).

It appeared to be an older hotel in need of a small refresh; in our room the bathroom needed updating... there were exposed pipes holding up the shower curtain with gaps in the ceiling. On the upside there was a great staff; front desk was really nice, the doorman was AMAZING, seriously the 5 star hotel kind. He was great with everything from directions every morning to umbrellas when it was raining to a cab to the airport, very cool throughout our whole stay. Coffee was delivered every morning with the paper exactly as we asked. Overall, what it lacks in character and newness, it makes up in cool people and location. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    415
    133
    64
    38
See reviews for
159
532
67
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is well located and well furnished. In a quiet area. We were there to attend a Congress. The personel was serviceable. Everything we asked for was provided. Excellent. New Orleans is a nice city and the experience with the hotel made our stay a wonderful time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Antonio544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

My fiancé and I wanted a good place to stay for the weekend to get away from our jobs and relax. As well as, a hotel that is affordable and convenient. This was absolutely worth it. Checked in and the valet took the vehicle to park it in a safe designated place and we were able to walk the town all day. Wish I would have been able to stay longer !!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SS-JH-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Having stayed at other Omni's in the past, I expected the highest dedication to customer service and excellent accommodations. The Omni Crescent totally dropped the ball on this stay! Beware if you are a Select Guest Member and do not book with the Omni directly, you lose some of the perks of membership. After a stern lecture from the front desk on "Not hanging out the morning coffee request card", which I never received and was rudely told "I don't even get now because I booked with another travel site". That was fine, I was just "asking". Then, after listening to a dog bark all day and into the night, I asked to be moved to a similar room - I was the one being inconvenienced here, by the way. They kindly moved me to a SMALLER ROOM WITH A VIEW OF THE TOP OF THE PARKING GARAGE. When I voiced my disapproval of this option, they "upgraded to a jacuzzi with NO VIEW". Not happy with this either - this entire process entailed me PACKING UP AND MOVING WITH NO ASSISTANCE, I stayed in that room for the night. The room is obviously outdated and listening to the LOUD HUM OF THE AIR CONDITIONERS was too much for anyone to sleep at all. I guess if you want to sit in the jacuzzi tub and turn the jets on the entire time you are here to drown out the air-conditioners, this might be the ideal room for you. And regulating the temperature of the room is impossible with the old, out-dated thermostat on the wall.

I tried to get in touch with the general manager, whom I was told "left me a message on my phone" (which I never received), I decided to cut my loses and move to the Omni New Orleans. It is disappointing when this incident of poor customer service taints all the reputations of other Omni's. Omni Crescent - you have need to stay at the Omni Mandalay at Las Colinas - they were amazing and it is because of how awesome I know a Omni can be, that we will give the Omni New Orleans the chance to do some service recovery to make up for your short comings.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite if you want a view. Inside rooms are awful - no view, A/C noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Our front desk staff should not have given you a stern lecture on any topic. We apologize for not being more cordial when you arrived. We are also sorry that throughout the room moving process no one offered to help you with your luggage. That is unacceptable. Our general manager is very attentive to our guest’s needs, but we’re sorry if there was miscommunication and you didn’t receive a message from him. Please accept our apologies for the issues during your stay. We are glad to hear you decided to try our sister hotel in the French Quarter and are fans of the Omni Mandalay as well. We’ll work to improve our service and share your review with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Definitely not the nicest place in NOLA but ompare the price. Very good location w/n 3-4 blocks from French Quarters and 7-8 blocks from WW2 Nuseum. hotel breakfast is weak but great place around corner. Staff is friendly but don't expect them to help very much with your luggage( they will let you use the cart). I found my room to be very small and dark. Great lighting in bathroom. I would recommend to others but explain about simple amenities,

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johnd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post about your stay with us and for the compliments on our staff. We will however work to assist with luggage when possible. We hope you will consider us next time you visit New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

stayed at Omni Royal Crescent for a week on a leisure trip to NOLA. Everything was exceptionally good from breakfast to customer service, cleanliness, price and location. You can't go wrong. Try Mother's restaurant for authentic southern food....about 2 minute walk from hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank 76Dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

My fiancé and I really enjoyed out honeymoon experience. The hotel location was superbly located in the quarter. We enjoyed the romantic package, Champaign, chocolate covered strawberries. My fiancé really enjoyed the 100 credit toward room service. We will definitely come back to stay at Omni in NOLA.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Israel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,313 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#35 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#15 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Crescent Hotel

Property: Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Address: 535 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Crescent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential-style Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown New Orleans business district, 2 blocks from French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Royal Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Omni Royal Crescent Hotel New Orleans
Omni Royal Crescent
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing