We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Outstanding staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Royal Crescent Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Ranked #47 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were in town for Frech Quarter Fest and to see some friends. We arrived at the hotel around middayon Friday, well in advance of the 3:00 check-in time, and were very happy to find that our room was ready. The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating, including when we asked to store some bicycles overnight. Kendall was great, as was the young man on duty at the front desk with her (I think his name was Eric, but I may be wrong). All staff was very personable and pleasant. We would definitely stay here again. Great location for being near the Quarter without being in the Quarter. Room was nice and bed was comfortable. All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to complement our staff and let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you at the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    379
    112
    49
    28
See reviews for
142
494
61
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was a good hotel for me. The room was small, but it had all I needed. King size bed was comfortable, although there were stains on the bedspread which always grosses me out a bit. The pillows were very comfortable and seemed long. The desk in the room was a good size and it had one AC outlet right in front, but only one--so if you want to charge your cell phone you have to find another outlet. The bathroom was great - very spacious, although housekeeping likes to place the wastepaper can right where your feet should go. The shower had hard pressure and warmed up immediately. Good towel selection. The only full length mirror was hidden in the closet and the room was a bit dim. When you open the maze of curtains, you see a lovely building staring back at you. You are not paying for the view. The turn down service was great, they leave a bucket of ice and the TV on the relaxation channel and turn down the bed. In the morning you can have coffee delivered right to your door. This was my favorite part of the stay. The staff were courteous and generally pretty helpful, one was willing to call me a cab if my shuttle didn't show and another assisted me with getting parking service for a visiting friend.

Room Tip: Get a corner room, the walls are pretty thin and you can hear your neighbors, but you also hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rheesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We’re glad you enjoyed your stay overall. We would like to apologize for any cleanliness issues, especially the bedspread. If that happens please alert us immediately and we’ll replace it and have housekeeping go over the room again to make sure it’s clean. While we do have a great location, not every room has a view. Thanks for joining our Select Guest program. Morning coffee delivered to your door is a great perk. Please come back next time you’re in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice small hotel. Wish it had a better bar. In a great location as just slightly on the edge of the French quarter to easy to walk into it but not too noisey as it was crazy busy.
Rooms really lovely. Walls Are thin but did not disturb us. Beds very comfy and really lovely bathroom. Joined the free loyalty programme so benefited from free wifi. I thought the turndown service could have included a chocolate not just switching the tv on and putting some ice in the room. Overall a good choice

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AnnieL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thanks for staying with us on your visit to New Orleans. We're glad you enjoyed your time, and we'll consider adding the chocolate to turndown. It's a great suggestion. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for the weekend in November while we were in town for a wedding. The wedding party was staying at another location, but I chose to book this hotel for its prime location, trendy yet quaint design, and I found a deal on jetsetter.com. The staff was extremely friendly and made our trip wonderful. Knowing hotels in NOLA have small rooms, I was expecting the small size, yet was pleasantly surprised with the attentive design which helped to make the room seem bigger than it was. The bathroom was a good size with a very small countertop. Being an old hotel, we could hear some muffled conversation and coughing of guests in the rooms next to us but it did not bother us too much as we were not in the room that often. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant one morning and loved it, excellent food and service. Overall we had a great stay at this hotel and I would definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RF0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for booking our deal on Jetsetter. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back in New Orleans soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We loved our recent stay at the Omni Crescent. I had called the hotel beforehand to check on the view/windows situation from the King jacuzzi suites. They told me honestly that those rooms do not have windows. The gentleman told me that they did have the omni suite available during our stay! It is a lovely corner room (807) with 700 sq feet. The room was gorgeous with 1 and 1/2 baths,a comfy king bed, large sitting area with a couch, two club chairs and ottoman, floor to ceiling windows on all walls and two flat screen tv's. The suite was super quiet with black out drapes on all windows....very hard to get out of bed in morning.

The location of the hotel is perfect as well. We used the St Charles streetcar several times and the pick up point is a short one block away. We ate breakfast at Mother's (roughly two short blocks away) and The Ruby Slipper (very yum! and one block away). We did not eat at "Dress It" the restaurant on site. We ate dinner closeby at Luke's which is on the St Charles streetcar line. There is a PJ's coffeehouse nearby on Canal Street too. The hotel is probably a 20 minute walk to the end of the French Quarter around Frenchman Street but only 5 to 10 minutes to get to the French Quarter itself.

The staff is exceedingly friendly and helpful. Kendal efficiently checked us in and was always ready with recommendations and was more than happy to make any restaurant reservations for us! They truly made us feel special.

Amenities are the icing on the cake and the hotel had plenty. There are robes, an in-room safe, a mini fridge,espresso machine (didn't use) and a lighted make-up mirror in each bathroom.

Valet parking is $26/day. It was very easy to get our car whenever we needed it. The valets were extremely friendly as well.

A perfect experience to cap our wonderful time in New Orleans.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

t his hotel is like a Parisian hotel particulier.
the staff is friendly. the decor is elegant Empire style.
there is a charming hot tub and balcony.

the restaurant has a tiny bar and surprisingly good restaurant serving poboys and hamburgers.

the suites are ideal for a family

Room Tip: suites well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asudarshan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again next time you're in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, ON
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Good stay with excellent service from all staff. Stayed in a room with two beds and very high ceilings. Very short walking distance to transportation, nice places to eat, canal street and the french quarter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpsinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,816 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#30 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 928 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#50 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,080 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Crescent Hotel

Property: Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Address: 535 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Crescent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential-style Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown New Orleans business district, 2 blocks from French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Royal Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Omni Royal Crescent Hotel New Orleans
Omni Royal Crescent
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing