We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice boutique hotel in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Ranked #72 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
DE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel in a great location!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for the weekend in November while we were in town for a wedding. The wedding party was staying at another location, but I chose to book this hotel for its prime location, trendy yet quaint design, and I found a deal on jetsetter.com. The staff was extremely friendly and made our trip wonderful. Knowing hotels in NOLA have small rooms, I was expecting the small size, yet was pleasantly surprised with the attentive design which helped to make the room seem bigger than it was. The bathroom was a good size with a very small countertop. Being an old hotel, we could hear some muffled conversation and coughing of guests in the rooms next to us but it did not bother us too much as we were not in the room that often. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant one morning and loved it, excellent food and service. Overall we had a great stay at this hotel and I would definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RF0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for booking our deal on Jetsetter. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back in New Orleans soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    420
    140
    67
    38
See reviews for
162
544
69
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We loved our recent stay at the Omni Crescent. I had called the hotel beforehand to check on the view/windows situation from the King jacuzzi suites. They told me honestly that those rooms do not have windows. The gentleman told me that they did have the omni suite available during our stay! It is a lovely corner room (807) with 700 sq feet. The room was gorgeous with 1 and 1/2 baths,a comfy king bed, large sitting area with a couch, two club chairs and ottoman, floor to ceiling windows on all walls and two flat screen tv's. The suite was super quiet with black out drapes on all windows....very hard to get out of bed in morning.

The location of the hotel is perfect as well. We used the St Charles streetcar several times and the pick up point is a short one block away. We ate breakfast at Mother's (roughly two short blocks away) and The Ruby Slipper (very yum! and one block away). We did not eat at "Dress It" the restaurant on site. We ate dinner closeby at Luke's which is on the St Charles streetcar line. There is a PJ's coffeehouse nearby on Canal Street too. The hotel is probably a 20 minute walk to the end of the French Quarter around Frenchman Street but only 5 to 10 minutes to get to the French Quarter itself.

The staff is exceedingly friendly and helpful. Kendal efficiently checked us in and was always ready with recommendations and was more than happy to make any restaurant reservations for us! They truly made us feel special.

Amenities are the icing on the cake and the hotel had plenty. There are robes, an in-room safe, a mini fridge,espresso machine (didn't use) and a lighted make-up mirror in each bathroom.

Valet parking is $26/day. It was very easy to get our car whenever we needed it. The valets were extremely friendly as well.

A perfect experience to cap our wonderful time in New Orleans.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

t his hotel is like a Parisian hotel particulier.
the staff is friendly. the decor is elegant Empire style.
there is a charming hot tub and balcony.

the restaurant has a tiny bar and surprisingly good restaurant serving poboys and hamburgers.

the suites are ideal for a family

Room Tip: suites well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asudarshan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again next time you're in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, ON
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Good stay with excellent service from all staff. Stayed in a room with two beds and very high ceilings. Very short walking distance to transportation, nice places to eat, canal street and the french quarter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpsinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here during St. Patrick's weekend. Very good location, just about 3 blocks away from Bourbon and 2 from Canal St, so great I would say. Service was prompt, room was ready and clean. Rooms have a mini fridge which is good. They also have some cool things in the hotel like a sun room on the 6th floor with a pool. Valet parking worked great. Hard to complain about anything with this hotel. They have a breakfast buffet which I thought was ok, nothing too especial but it was ok. Anyway, would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AberdeenForever1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, Mississippi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Only positive thing I can say about this hotel is that the location is convenient and within walking distance of a lot of attractions. Called hotel upon booking and requested 2 beds since I was traveling with my 3 children. Upon arriving they gave me a room with one full size bed and told that was all that was available. They did bring a rollaway bed in, but because the room was so small there wasn't hardly any room to walk around. My 14yr old daughter took the rollaway and me and the 2 kids slept on the other bed sideways which was fine for them but let my feel hanging off. The air didn't work well at all especially when someone was taking a shower, it felt like we were going to suffocate. Not one chair in the room to sit down and only one window that all you could see was a brick wall. I have never been so happy to leave a hotel!! No way should this hotel be listed as a 4 star.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We're sorry, but when you're booking from Expedia came through the system the reservation was for one double bed. These rooms are on the small side, and we typically don't allow rollaways in those rooms, but in this instance we wanted to give you the most room possible. We were not aware of the air conditioning issue, and we apologize that it wasn't working properly. While we know you may not consider staying with us in the future, we hope you will give us a second chance if you don't find another hotel in New Orleans that you prefer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Haters beware, what follows is a blatantly positive (albeit biased, based on our personal trip desires) review of one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had anywhere, and we travel a fair amount for both pleasure and business...

We have just returned from our week-long stay at the Omni Royal Crescent. This was our second trip to NOLA (last was in 2010, when we stayed in an RCI timeshare exchange property) traveling both times for a couples getaway... we have 5 kids, and sometimes seek a fun but restful break. This trip also marked our celebration of a combo birthday/anniversary. After researching A LOT of hotels on this site, we chose the Omni Royal Crescent primarily based on (1) location conveniently close to, but not in the heart of, the French Quarter, (2) descriptions and reviews, and (3) value for room size & amenities.

I'll begin by saying the property, and most especially the staff there, consistently exceeded our admittedly conservative expectations (we have been fooled enough by inaccurate reviews to keep an open mind going in)! From the moment I first spoke with on-site Omni Loyalty Ambassador Brandi Tracy on the phone when calling a few weeks in advance to confirm our room preferences (upper floor, away from elevator, etc.), her pleasant and efficient manner gave me confidence in our choice of hotel. This was reinforced when we arrived to check in, as Brandi made it a point to step out from behind the desk to greet us personally, wish us a happy birthday/anniversary, briefly describe our suite assignment and site amenities, and present us with a birthday card signed by her, the hotel manager, and a number of the staff... all of this in spite of the fact that we had reserved a mid-range priced room, and had only enrolled in the Omni Select Guest program a few weeks ago... so we were certainly not being given special treatment as returning guests or point awards high-rollers. What a pleasant change from the usual impersonal, hassle-filled check-in process so many hotels subject you to!

Once we stepped into our king jacuzzi suite (#416), we knew Brandi had paid attention to our needs and assigned us accordingly... starting with a totally unexpected surprise of a complimentary bottle of wine! The suite itself was comprised of two comfortably spacious rooms plus an over-sized marble-tiled bathroom featuring a deep Jacuzzi tub, and was located down a short hallway off the main corridor, making it a very quiet, restful and private space. The king bed was clean and comfy, although its size made for a bit of a tight squeeze between it and the dresser in the long, narrow bedroom. The sitting room held two over-sized chairs and a separate TV, perfect for enjoying the complimentary morning coffee (a courtesy of the free Select Guest membership, along with free in-room wi-fi) while lounging in the provided terry-lined robes. The spacious tub was a perfect respite for a warm soak after a day of walking the many fun areas of the city, although given its depth and lacking an outside step, some may find getting in and out a bit challenging. Three other simple but nice touches were the QUIET in-cabinet fridge (we've endured many noisy ones, with their compressors cycling on/off all night), a closet safe sensibly large enough to hold all our valuables and electronics, and a thermostat that functioned efficiently in allowing us to regulate the room temperature.

We never did try the on-site restaurant for the breakfast buffet or one of their signature burgers (too many dining faves and new destinations to explore on this trip), but the menu looked inviting, and the in-room coffee and croissants we enjoyed a few mornings were superb. The rooftop patio hot tub was a nice diversion for an evening soak and cocktail, or even a cuddle under the stars on the large circular lounging couch.

The property's location was also exactly what we were looking for, as it is a convenient walk to the French Quarter and major streetcar lines, but far enough from both to minimize street and rowdy street crowd noise, allowing for an uninterrupted night's sleep (as I said, 5 kids at home, so this is a treat when traveling!). The area felt safe at all hours, and offers a few nearly cafes if you feel like venturing out for a lazy sweatpant-and-hat-clad breakfast or late night snack.

More about the great staff at this Omni: either despite or perhaps due to their relatively young average age (several appeared to be in the 21-28 range), everyone we encountered and interacted with during our stay was extremely pleasant, professional, and eager to please... most especially Brandi, who greeted us by name each time she saw us, and was quick to offer personal recommendations to meet our needs, but without being pushy. She often stopped what she was doing to hand-draw us a map to ensure we found our way, and one morning when our arranged taxi failed to arrive on time, she left the desk to walk outside to the nearest intersection and hail one for us (an action repeated by another staff member on our day of departure). We are NOT snobbish or high-maintenance travelers, and have enjoyed our stays in properties of all types and price levels... and have dealt with many "guest ambassador" posers at other "premier" hotels, whose staff could take a lesson in customer service from Brandi and the other team members here.

All in all, our stay in the Omni Royal Crescent was one of the highlights of our visit, and we will definitely stay here again upon our return. Thanks again to Brandi and the entire Omni team!

Room Tip: Some suite styles are interior rooms or have windows looking out on a brick wall... if you desire a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jchip57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Crescent Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
On behalf of Brandi and the entire staff of the Omni Royal Crescent, we greatly appreciate your comments. We’re so glad you chose to stay with us to celebrate your birthday and anniversary. This is by far one of the best comments we’ve received. We will make sure to share it with our staff. We’re glad we could be ambassadors for you during your time in the great city of New Orleans, and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,392 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#37 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Crescent Hotel

Property: Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Address: 535 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Crescent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential-style Boutique Hotel located in the heart of downtown New Orleans business district, 2 blocks from French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni Royal Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Omni Royal Crescent Hotel New Orleans
Omni Royal Crescent
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing