We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and great service”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location and great service”
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We arrived at 10:00 am and the registration clerk immediately said the room was ready and we could check in 5 hours early. The location is wonderful, right in the French Quarter, near wonderful shops and restaurants but only a few blocks from Canal Street and the St. Charles Streetcar. We never needed to use our rental car. The room was lovely and the preferred double was large enough for me and three teen-agers. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEPfrequent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Dear SEPfrequent,

Thank you for your kind review. We always appreciate guests feedback and enjoy hearing about your New Orleans experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,736
    1,570
    477
    212
    118
See reviews for
1,189
2,690
222
1,465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed here over the weekend on our first trip to NOLA. The hotel is beautiful. We arrived several hours before check in and they had a room ready for us and allowed us to check in at about 10:00am. The hotel lobby is very nice and is really bustling in the evenings. I can't complain about the size of the hotel room. We did have the basic king hotel room, but I actually expected it to be much smaller. We did not stay in the room much. It was basically just a home base for us. The location was great for us. We spent the entire weekend walking all over the French Quarter, and even walked quite a long walk to the Garden District. We ended up getting a taxi back though, because it was quite far. It was far enough from Bourbon street to avoid most of the noise, but we still did here some on Sunday morning even at 6:00am. It didn't bother us too much because it is New Orleans and we just expected to hear drunks out in the street at all hours. It wasn't too bad though. Beds and pillows are comfortable, room had a flat screen TV. The fridge didn't appear to be on, but we didn't need to use it so it didn't matter to us. We really are not picky people at all. It would really take something big for us to complain about a hotel. We have no complaints. It was a nice room, great location, and no complaints from us. We did not eat or drink in the hotel restaurants or bar. We went to the roof to check out the pool and fitness center and both were very nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank studentcl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Dear studentcl2009,

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your wonderful review. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Wife and I went for our anniversary. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the junior suites so we had plenty of room. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjw503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Dear jjw503,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and perfect rating. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Although this hotel promises a "best rate guarantee", on its website, don't believe it! I read the small print and complied with the requirements. When I called to request the best rate guarantee, it was clear that the hotel never had any intention of honoring its guarantee. I don't understand why a hotel would promote something that it clearly has no intention of honoring. All that does is make people mad.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank journeyn2now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Dear journeyn2now,

We try very hard to meet all of our guests expectations and especially honor our commitments. After 125 years in business, we realize that we would not be in business if we didn’t listen to our guests. We are very sorry that you were displeased and hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We were very pleased with the location of Hotel Monteleone, very close to great restaurants and shopping on Royal Street. It is less than 10 minutes to walk to Jackson Square. It is just a few minutes away from Bourbon Street. The hotel is very clean, very pretty and very characteristic of a hotel in the French Quarter. We stayed in a room with 1 King sized bed. It was pretty small, not leaving a lot of room to walk around the bed. It was just my husband and I, so it was fine, but there wouldn't be much room for another person. Perhaps other rooms are bigger. I must also say that the walls are a little thin, we heard a toilet flushing and...ahem...some other noises during our stay. Overall though, I would recommend this hotel for location, service and decor.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kabecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Dear Kabecka,

So glad to hear you were pleased with your stay at the Hotel Monteleone. Our rooms are on the smaller size, as many hotel rooms in the French Quarter tend to be due to their age. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others. We appreciate all our guests feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

I recently stayed at the grande dame of French Quarter hotels for New Years and I had an enjoyable overall experience. Celebrating New Years in New Orleans was an excellent choice, my girlfriend and I had a blast welcoming 2011 in Jackson Square. The people were great and it was an awesome time.

The Monteleone was a solid 4-Star hotel with many positive attributes and a few negatives:

Pros:
The hotel enjoys a great location on Royal Street, far enough from Bourbon Street for some peace, but close enough to be a quick walk from the action.

The hotel lobby is elegant and refined. The furnishings and décor are traditional and classy.

The staff and maid service were good. The hotel was very clean and well maintained.

While it was too cold to utilize, the roof-top pool looked great. I wish it was warm enough to enjoy a swim. The views were spectacular and the bar area was awesome. The fitness room was good for a hotel.

The Carousel Bar in the lobby is a French Quarter landmark. Even if you don’t stay in the hotel, you should check it out.

Cons:
I stayed in a basic room and it was fairly small. There was no drawer space, while the closet was adequate for hanging clothes.

The room décor was somewhat dated and the room could have benefited from a renovation.

The concierge desk was average—not as helpful as the staff at the Royal Sonesta (where I stayed last year).

One more point of interest, my Fodor’s book claims the hotel is haunted (especially the 14th (really the 13th) floor). I did not experience anything remotely supernatural (even after some cocktails), but I thought I would mention this tidbit. Although, it’s my understanding that many hotels in New Orleans are thought to be haunted (especially by locals).

I generally liked the Monteleone because I was looking for an old school hotel with a local New Orleans flavor. If you like modern hotels with trendy furnishings, this is not the place for you. I would definitely stay here again if the price were right. If I stay at the Monteleone again, I would seriously consider reserving a larger room.

On a side note, I have to give a glowing review to ACME Seafood (amazing seafood at good prices), Café Giovanni and the Pelican Club. As a foodie, New Orleans is one of my favorite places to visit. The three places mentioned above, were truly excellent dining experiences. The Pimms Cup at the Napoleon House may be the best cocktail I’ve ever had.

If you leave the French Quarter (especially if you’re going to Frenchman Street for jazz or the Warehouse District), it may be hard to find a cab to take you back. Call United Car Service and they will pick you up in 5 to 10 minutes. The telephone number for United is 5045229771. It really came in handy and the drivers were great.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank The_TravelerUSA101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Dear The_TravelerUSA101,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel Monteleone with us and others. We greatly appreciate guests feedback. The hotel is celebrating its 125th anniversary this year and is the oldest hotel in New Orleans. Due to the fact we are so old, the rooms are on the smaller side. On the topic of our ghosts, some guests experience their presence while others do not. Thank you again for your review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We stayed there for the Christmas holidays for 3 nights . The service was excellent at the front desk and the concierge Cleatta was wonderful . The Carousel Bar was a delight and we never had trouble getting waited on whether at the bar or at a table . My only complaint was that they should have saved some reservations for the Christmas day buffet for hotel guests . We were on a waitlist but had to go to another restaurant because there was not an opening until right before the opening of the restaurant . They should probably ask guests at the time of booking on holidays if they would like reservations in their restaurant as a reminder that they can be sold out .Overall a nice experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randolph0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Dear Randolph0918,

We're glad you had such a nice time with us during your stay in New Orleans. We are sorry about the Christmas Buffet and will take your suggestion into consideration for next year.Thank you for your review, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,449 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,038 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
5,546 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,094 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing