We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ambiance”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambiance”
Reviewed June 6, 2007

LOCATION

The location is ideal for walking to everything you want to see in New Orleans. Boubon Street for partyers, stripclub visitors, and drinkers is only one block away, but the hotel is in a quiet area on Royal St. We were put off by the vomit/sewerage odors of Bourbon St., so we opted for the quieter, artsy side of the French Quarter. Royal St. was really nice and is lined with mostly galleries, cafes and shops. Across from the hotel is a Walgreens drug store, a convenience store and a couple of restaurants. It is about 5 long blocks (10-15 minute walk) to Harrah's casino, Shops on Canal and Riverwalk mall area, as well as 7-8 small blocks to Cafe Du Monde and the Jackson Square area of the French Quarter.

ROOM

The room is adequately sized, very clean and nicely appointed if you like the old world charm of New Orleans. It has a grand, antique feel to the place, signifying luxury and European elegance. The halls are slightly dimly lit with red carpets that kind of creeped me out because it reminded me of the Shining, but luckily we didn't see anything supernatural :-)... the hotel is rumored to be haunted! The shower pressure was excellent and the tub and toilet area were sparkling clean, and I'm super picky! The only complaint that can probably only be mine is that the beds were supersoft and moved very easily (not very stable), but I have always liked a more solid and firmer bed for my bad back. Also, maybe another minor detail is that they didn't have a remote control but a sort of attached remote/combination game controller device for the TV.

SERVICE

The front desk is pleasant, and the people friendly and very European. I think all the personnel were from Europe, so a lot of languages were spoken, great for the foreign traveler not knowing much English! The concierge lady was from Sweden, so she spoke many languages, including Spanish, French, Italian, German, Swedish and English. We did not have the opportunity to call room service or go into the bars/restaurants, but the Carousel Bar looked nice and crowded, and there's supposed to be a rooftop bar that is pleasant. Breakfast was really good, but not free and kind of pricey. We don't have anything to complain about service at all.

  • Liked — Location, hotel cleanliness, and convenience
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MyleenAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,865
    1,606
    488
    214
    118
See reviews for
1,237
2,768
228
1,483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Center, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2007

The Hotel Monteleone has a grand and sophisticated atmosphere. It's reputation alone is worth a stay or at least a visit. The lobby has marble throughout and elegant French décor. My room was on the second floor, smack dab in the middle of the hotel's front entrance. It had a great view of the French Quarter, high ceilings, and was well-furnished. The bathrooms could use some updating: the shower tiles were dated and the sink leaked. We stayed there on New Year's Eve, so the service was rushed and the public spaces were hectic. Some features of the place showed wear, but other than that a great choice if you want a centrally located and reliable hotel.

  • Liked — Location & Decor
  • Disliked — Leaking Sink
  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank howard11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western ny
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2007

I've been to New Orleans quite a few times, but this was my first stay at the Monteleone. It is a beautiful, elegant hotel, and might be my favorite hotel anyplace.

You will not go wrong staying at the Monteleone.

  • Liked — Elegant, luxurious hotel
  • Disliked — Would have liked free wireless internet
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ednpamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2007

My husband had meeting at this hotel last week. The rooms are smaller than most newer hotels. We understand the mgmt is still housing some of its staff in order to stay open since Katrina. New Orleans definitely needs everyone's business to rebuild. Everything was clean, flowers in lobby beautiful. Problem with locks is that the keys demagnetize when in the same pocket as credit cards or cell phones. Had to return to front desk twice to get re magnetized.
Reception food was lovely, nicely done in their top floor room. Disappointed at the pool...Advertised as roof top pool...was more like a wading pool, not long enough to be a lap pool. Exercise room had lots of new equipment.
Was given good direction to coffee shop 2 blocks down the street.
Hotel book says their restaurant opened at 6 for breakfast, but doesn't open untll 6:30, Had to wait til we got to airport to get breakfast.

  • Liked — bed was excellent
  • Disliked — pushy bellman who obviously got cuts from taxis
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank heownby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2007

I stayed here for a very happy 5 days with my teenage son. The hotel's location in the French Quarter is ideal (central, safe and very Nawlins), our room was very comfortable and clean, and we enjoyed the rooftop pool and bar. The food in the restaurants (and room service) was wonderful. Above all else, though, it was the people who work at the Monteleone that made this experience so exceptional. EVERYONE we met was friendly, helpful and very professional.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank JB93110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Babylon, NY
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2007

Having not been to New Orleans since Katrina I was more than just a bit anxious. I did not know what sort of condition we were going to find the city in. We were heading down to check out Tulane University for my daughter. After driving around about I was very happy to see that the French Quarter and the Garden district were just fine.

We got the special Tulane rate of $149. From the moment of arrival the staff was very attentive. The door man, the front desk clerk and everyone else we encountered at the hotel were all very polite and happy to help. We stayed on the 15th floor with a room overlooking the Quarter. It was a nice size room with two very comfortable double beds. The rooms were in very good shape. I was a little nervous about staying there because I had seen on the hotels website that there was paranormal activity that went on there. No ghosts showed up to visit us though!

The carousel bar downstairs is beautiful. Although that night the carousel was not working. It still seems very fun to sit on a chair under the carousel and have a cocktail. I was with my 17 year old daughter so we stayed in our room watching tv instead.

We had a delicous lunch at Mothers, dinner at Acme Oyster Bar, and dessert at Arnauds. Three great experiences! At Arnauds we had the bananas foster (a must have), praline crepes (another must have) and the bread pudding (it was good, not great). The service was amazing. I will deffinelty return to all three places on my next trip.

Although it was a quick trip it was wonderful and I would go back to the Monteleone!

  • Liked — Location, location, location!
  • Disliked — Absolutly nothing!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TulaneMom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2007

I can't say enough good things about New Orleans and the Hotel Monteleone. The hotel was beautiful. Our room was very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning worked well. The floor we stayed on was very quiet. We stayed during Mardi Gras, so it was busy, but we still received a lot of attention from the staff. We loved seeing the Carousel Bar. We would certainly stay there again.

New Orleans was such an amazing place. The people were so kind and happy to have visitors from other states there. The sights were great. The French Quarter was so much fun. We went on a small tour of the one of the cemeteries and learned so much. We also went over to Algiers and went to Mardi Gras World. It gave us such an appreciation of the work that is put into the floats. We can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — It was a beautiful hotel.
  • Disliked — I loved everything about it.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gahmsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,620 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,362 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,197 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing