We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service needs improvement”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2010

The service of the reception needs to be improved. When we checked in, there was a large group ahead of us and only one person trying to deal with them. The concierge went to get some more help but none appeared for quite some time even though the line behind us was growing longer. There were some other staff standing around but not doing much. They might have been bellhops, but it did not give a good impression. When we finally were served, it was by a receptionist in training who had been sent out from the back office. He was polite and seemed to be trying to do his best. On our last evening we called to request a wake-up call. The person answering the phone took our information and then just hung up. We had similar experiences when we called to ask to have a burned out light bulb replaced and making inquiries about internet service. No confirmation of the information, no pleasantries at all. Internet service was expensive and not consistent. It was a hit and miss situation with the doorman. While we are perfectly capable of opening a door, it would have been nice to have some help when we had luggage. The hotel does have a heated roof top pool, but it is small and considering the number of rooms in the hotel, there were not enough deck chairs. Our room was nice except for the fact that when we looked out the window, our view was of the brick wall of an adjoining tower of the hotel. It would have been nice if the hotel had more public space outside where one could have gone to relax and enjoy the sunshine. The location of the hotel in the French Quarter is great and the decor is beautiful. Obviously there are some things that could not be changed , e.g. the size of the pool, but a visitor's experience could be greatly enhanced by more pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OLDcowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2010

I am sorry for your experience. We would like to learn more to prevent this in the future. Please contact us. (Carly Plotkin: cplotkin@hotelmonteleone.com or 504.523.3341)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,246 - 7,252 of 7,803 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2010

I was very very disapointed in the Hotel, the room was like a box ( very small) and we had a premium deluxe room that was suppose to be oversized.. Bathroom was so small it was not even funny. small sink, little mirror// women have a 2 x 2 space to do hair next to the bed. - Nicer hotels towards the convention center, more modern and upgraded. Had to go to Walgreens everytime we wanted a bottle of water. Crime is very bad there but they dont tell you until you step out at night - Would not suggest it at all. based on room size horrible // Spa was not worth it at all!! ended up going to the Ritz for another spa treatment.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorialuminum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Hotel Monteleone is certainly a great place to get the French creole feel of New Orleans. It is truly an elegant hotel. Location was great and was on a street lined with art and fine shops. The beds are heavenly. The restaurant however was not very inviting and was always empty. The Carousel Bar on the other hand is a main attraction and was always open.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeeSmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2010

So glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for all of the positive reviews. We appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

I can't say enough about Hotel Monteleone and our stay there. I truly loved this hotel. It was clean, well appointed and beautifully renovated. Staff was wonderful from the doorman, bellman (who gave excellent breakfast restaurant suggestions) to the front desk staff , and the bartender in the Carousel Bar. We were GENEROUSLY upgraded to the rooftop Ernest Hemingway suite (oh.my.goodness. WONDERFUL!) and fell in love. The room was very clean and well tended. The Carousel Bar was one of our favorite spots to start and end our evenings. The pool was heated and has lovely views of the city. It is one block from Bourbon and within walking distance to everything. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klpsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

This was my first time in NOLA. Had a great 4 night stay at this hotel. Very nice lobby - semioppulent in terms of decor...not old or dated, its just that style..esp. since location is right on the street with all the antique shops, art galleries and nice restaurants..walking distance to everything, including the touristy Decator St. area by the Square and CDM... Was able to get a room that was extremely quiet....if you're staying here, make sure you ask for a the floors/corridor that has the room numbers '(floor)28-31....the windows of those rooms face an inner part of the hotel, and there is little to no noise from the outside...avoid the room number 27 - no windows I noticed...Housekeeping was great and timely; room was always clean. Had drinks at the carousel bar - extensive martini menu. Breakfast (a la carte) at their restaurant was delicious (didn't do the buffet, but friends of mine did, and food looked good/fresh)...and even tho I didn't order these, their own beignets (a la carte) looked delicious (re. CDM - went twice since its an institution, sorry to say, but both times the dough was little 'tough'...like they overworked the dough..go to Cafe Beignet down the street. I think there's a difference. ) Overall - very nice hotel - I would stay again..

I want to say - the day I left is the same day the BP oil rig blew up in the Gulf...my heart aches over this for the people who work there, and all the Louisianans, esp. those in the fishing business, who live far beyond the NOLA FQ area We met and talked with alot of employees in the different restaurants (and even the tour guides when we took an airboat tour) where seafood cuisine obviously, in LA, is 'what they do'...I'll never forget their faces when you talk about their 'trade', the pride in that, you know is just so uplifting for them and yourself, esp. what they had faced re. Katrina...so, let me put in a plug for them (through St. Genevieve, St. Frances and St. Andrew)...KEEP THEM IN YOUR PRAYERS..I'll be back NOLA!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freespirit22206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

All around very good historic hotel with a great bar. good food from restaurant, good location, and pool was sooooo warm.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
Thank messyjessy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

This hotel is located in the heart of the French Quarter, just one block away from Bourbon Street. It has a beautiful lobby, a rooftop pool with poolside bar, and the charming Carousel Lounge. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room was small, but tastefully decorated and arranged. The staff phoned our room twice during our stay to ask if we were pleased with our service. Overall, we were extremely pleased.

Here are a few minor annoyances to consider: 1.) Parking is $30 a night. After realizing this, we parked our car in the business district for $10/night. 2.) The restaurant is very overpriced, but there are plenty of other places to grab breakfast within walking distance. 3.) Several reviews warn that you can hear your neighbors. This was true in our room. Mostly, you can hear water running through the pipes if someone is in the bathroom beside or above you. 4.) There is no free wireless internet. 5.) The business center staff was not helpful. Only their color printer worked, which cost $2.00 a page. When I expressed that I was there for the conference and needed only one black and white print off, they suggested that I go to Kinko's across town rather than print one page for me. 6.) Someone threw up in the hallway outside our room. Although staff immediately came to vacuum, the terrible smell lingered for 2 days. This is perhaps the price you pay for being so close to Bourbon Street!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feliciahemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 166 in New Orleans
4,428 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 166 in New Orleans
4,995 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,652 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,339 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $204 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing