We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, LA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2006

My husband, son, and I just returned from our annual Christmas weekend in New Orleans. I've considered the Hotel Monteleone before, and decided to book it this year, mainly based on the Papa Noel rate. We were very please with all aspects of our stay. The room was very clean, well appointed, nicely decorated, and comfortable. There was no problem with noises. We had a limited view, but I was antcipating that due to the special rate. I didn't mind. (I prefer to see New Orleans from the ground up, not looking out a window.) The staff was very friendly and helpful. You can't beat the location! It was so easy to get to pretty much anywhere we wanted to be. We tend to try a different hotel each time we visit, but I think we've found a permanent home away from home. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Just a note on New Orleans: Please come down to visit in this remarkable city! The French Quarter, Riverfront, and Central Business district are in great shape, and the one thing that will get the city back to normal is....YOU! Come spend your money, eat great food, shop in fabulous stores, tour amazing places, and experience the magic that is New Orleans!


  • Liked — Beautiful Hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Come in December when the Papa Noel rates are in effect.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CenlaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,542
    1,502
    451
    207
    113
See reviews for
1,140
2,554
214
1,411
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2006

Me, wife and 3 kids stayed at Monteleone for a night 11/21/06. The Hotel was not damaged by Katrina but you can tell that the City has taken a tourist hit. There were far fewer people in the Hotel and in the city than in past visits. This is just another GREAT reason to visit this hotel. The Monteleone apparently took the opportunity to upgrade its rooms just after the storm. The beds were fantastic! All of the sheets are of high quality and the pillows rival any hotel. The carousel bar was busy every night and had a great clientele. The drinks are priced reasonable and stiff! We did not eat at any of the Hotel restaurants. My 9 year old daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed the audio tour of the hotel. This is a free service provided by the Monteleone. I am not a history buff but the tour is VERY impressive. We did it because it spotlights ghost sightings in the Hotel....partuicularly on the 14th floor....Which is where we stayed. Fortunately...we did not see a ghost! We loved this hotel! New Orleans will make it back bigger and better. In fact the Quarter seemed cleaner than in years past . The restaurants were a lot less crowded but the service and great tasting food was still there! This Hotel is centrally loctaed and perfect for Bar hopping or just hanging out!! We will definitely stay there again for the Sugar Bowl.

  • Liked — Service and freindliness. The staff was very attentive to our kids and my wife....They were thrilled to see tourists!!!
  • Disliked — Parking garage was expensive!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Check around for the rate. We got it for $99..Hotel Web site was $139. Also ask for River facing room on the 14th floor!! you may see a ghost!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cliff1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2006

the monteleone is absolutely wonderful in every way. staying here really made our nola visit more memorable. if you can stay here, do so. you will not regret it. the location is perfect. we could walk to many points of interest, restaurants and shopping. boubon street is a few minutes walk.

the rooms are lovely and the lobby and public areas are just beautiful. if you have time, take the audio tour of the hotel; it's free and so interesting. much history here. and ghosts too. the entire staff was helpful and was always looking to be of assistance.

the concierge in the lobby booked us a tour with celebration tours, which i highly recommend. (the owner, ozzie, drove us around and was so gracious and informative.) the concierge also made us dinner reservations and gave us needed brochures and maps. she also cautioned us about areas to avoid. we had no problems.

parking is available in the garage and the hotel is easily accessed from major highways.

we enjoyed drinks in the carousel bar and our breakfast in the cafe. we ate most meals out. k pauls restaurant was marvelous and right down the street.

we visited the devastated areas on the tour but if you are going to
nola only for touring purposes, everything else is open and operating and in good condition. the tour of the hurricane affected areas is really worthwhile and eye-opening. they have a long way to go and certainly can use our tourist dollars.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — take the free audio tour of the hotel
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank jamimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey BC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2006

My husband and I travelled from Vancouver BC to celebrate our second anniversary in New Orleans and stayed at the Hotel Monteleone.
This hotel is every bit as beautiful as described in the pictures, reviews and the website. We thought it was in the perfect location on Royal Street, just a few blocks from Burborn and Decatur Streets.
The beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept in (better then home) and the staff was great!!!
The only concerns I had was that I got charged $7.25 each for 2 five second phone calls to my husband's cell phone. When I brought it up, I was advised that's what they charge. (The little card by the phone said .80/minutes and a premium) also when I asked about the internet they said it was $6.95 which was way over priced! We were able to find a much better price then that.

We didn't have a chance to try any of the resteraunts, the spa or the pool as we were too busy sightseeing and going out, but this hotel is a definate 5* and we'll be staying here again and recommending it to everyone!!!

  • Liked — The whole decor, and location
  • Disliked — Price of phone calls and internet
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for specials
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank bbwvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2006

I stayed here over four nights while doing a photo shoot in the city. The rooms were clean and comfortable and a welcome respite for the most part. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Except for the time I waited an hour and a half for silverware from room service without explanation. The big drawback to the hotel is the 9.95 per day internet fee. Most hotels in the area have free wireless at this point. I went to a wonderful espresso cafe on Decatur with free wireless to take care of business.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and comfort
  • Disliked — Internet access
  • Tips/Secrets — They will bring a small refrigerator to your room upon request.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank lenaellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2006

We arrived an hour before check in and were prepared for a wait.We went to the Carosel Bar to have Bloody Marys and watch the games that were on.The front desk were to call our cell phone when the room was ready.Our phone never rang so we checked with the desk and they changed a well published check in time to 2 hours later.That was really our only frustration.We were in the city for the Saints Monday Night Football "Party" over the Falcons(GO SAINTS)The hotel is so convient to eveything including the Superdome where the walk was fine.We have stayed here many times since we sold our home uptown and find it to be all you really need.We even had spa treatments at SPA ARIA this time and the staff were so nice and the treatments were great.For the money the hotel is nice.Some of the rooms are a little small and bathrooms are cramped,but what are you here for?To hang out in a hotel room.Get Real its New Orleans.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small bathrooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Definately use the spa that you dont even realize they have.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Star2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2006

We were in town for Mardi Gras, and got to spend a week in our favorite New Orleans hotel, the Monteleone. The Hotel's History, attentive staff, and convienient French Quarter location make the Monteleone a perfect choice. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the staff were very friendly, in spite of the chaotic Mardi Gras atmosphere. Dont forget to check out their legendary revolving bar in the Carousel Lounge! We're looking forward to staying here again next Mardi Gras!

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ICURYY4ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,200 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,872 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,064 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing