We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel!!!! Will return!!!”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #10 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2006

My husband and I travelled from Vancouver BC to celebrate our second anniversary in New Orleans and stayed at the Hotel Monteleone.
This hotel is every bit as beautiful as described in the pictures, reviews and the website. We thought it was in the perfect location on Royal Street, just a few blocks from Burborn and Decatur Streets.
The beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept in (better then home) and the staff was great!!!
The only concerns I had was that I got charged $7.25 each for 2 five second phone calls to my husband's cell phone. When I brought it up, I was advised that's what they charge. (The little card by the phone said .80/minutes and a premium) also when I asked about the internet they said it was $6.95 which was way over priced! We were able to find a much better price then that.

We didn't have a chance to try any of the resteraunts, the spa or the pool as we were too busy sightseeing and going out, but this hotel is a definate 5* and we'll be staying here again and recommending it to everyone!!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank bbwvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7,653 - 7,659 of 7,918 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2006

I stayed here over four nights while doing a photo shoot in the city. The rooms were clean and comfortable and a welcome respite for the most part. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Except for the time I waited an hour and a half for silverware from room service without explanation. The big drawback to the hotel is the 9.95 per day internet fee. Most hotels in the area have free wireless at this point. I went to a wonderful espresso cafe on Decatur with free wireless to take care of business.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank lenaellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2006

We arrived an hour before check in and were prepared for a wait.We went to the Carosel Bar to have Bloody Marys and watch the games that were on.The front desk were to call our cell phone when the room was ready.Our phone never rang so we checked with the desk and they changed a well published check in time to 2 hours later.That was really our only frustration.We were in the city for the Saints Monday Night Football "Party" over the Falcons(GO SAINTS)The hotel is so convient to eveything including the Superdome where the walk was fine.We have stayed here many times since we sold our home uptown and find it to be all you really need.We even had spa treatments at SPA ARIA this time and the staff were so nice and the treatments were great.For the money the hotel is nice.Some of the rooms are a little small and bathrooms are cramped,but what are you here for?To hang out in a hotel room.Get Real its New Orleans.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Star2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2006

We were in town for Mardi Gras, and got to spend a week in our favorite New Orleans hotel, the Monteleone. The Hotel's History, attentive staff, and convienient French Quarter location make the Monteleone a perfect choice. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the staff were very friendly, in spite of the chaotic Mardi Gras atmosphere. Dont forget to check out their legendary revolving bar in the Carousel Lounge! We're looking forward to staying here again next Mardi Gras!

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ICURYY4ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2006

We stayed here whilst in town for a conference, after visiting a number of hotels in New Orleans during our research for the event.

Our stay in the Monteleone was excellent, it is ideally located, just far enough away from Bourbon St. for the noise not to carry.

The room was comfortable, clean and well serviced, although I couldn't make the ethernet network work. The bathroom was excellent.

The front desk staff were always helpful, the only downside to the whole visit was that the rotating bar got a bit confusing after a few drinks!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2006

This was our second stay at the Monteleone. We stayed there many yrs ago before they had redone the interior completely. At that time, it was very pleasant; they have now updated the rooms and it was very nice, but not quite as charming as before. While there is not as much staff as there used to be prior to the hurricane (doorman not always present and no porters), my major complaint was that the parking lot was full when we arrived. We were directed to park in the public parking garage adjacent to the Holiday Inn and it cost us big $$$, and was inconvenient to have to move our luggage from a block away with 2 children in tow. Other than that we had a very nice stay with a great rate (under $100/night). Wonderful location and great history.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lvm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2006

I enjoyed my stay at the Monteleone. It's in walking distance to Bourbon St. The parking is $27 a day. Room & bathrooms were clean. My room wasn't big or small. Room service breaskfast was good & reasonably priced. Be attentive at check-in. The attendant made errors charging an extra $75 that I'm having to dispute with my card company. So many attempts at the hotel I gave up. I would stay here again. Shish happens.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tahari99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,501 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,640 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,398 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,725 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $207 - $796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing