We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely classic hotel”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #9 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014

*THE* classic French Quarter hotel. I've loved the Monteleone for decades. My favorite New Orleans hotel. Classic elegance and all the amenities one could want in the heart of the French Quarter. A perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

We are so glad you had such a great stay with us! Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,044 - 5,050 of 7,701 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

The Hotel Monteleone was our favorite place to get away from it all. The service was beyond excellent. From check in to check out a guest wanted for nothing, service was with a smile and obvious good will.

We had not stayed there in about a year until last week. Everything was "off". Evidently inexperienced staff, just didn't seem to care that much. One exception was our bellman that carried our baggage to the room. He was service oriented, and eager to please.

Amenities that are listed on their website are not available, and haven't been according to some staff for a year, at least. Online a second restaurant is mentioned that does not exist. The rates for room and garage have gone higher, and the service is down.

But. The coup de grâce was delivered upon our check out. First we were told that there was a very large amount due over the amount already paid. No explanation was offered, no bill shown until I literally demanded to see the statement. That seemed, finally to have been cleared up. But worse was about to take place. The morning bellman that carried our bags downstairs brought them out to the garage and left them there, unattended, within 12 feet or so from the sidewalk and our vehicle was parked across the street. A person behind the glass basically told me it wasn't *his* problem. So, no key, baggage unattended, no one in sight besides someone taking no responsibility.

It appears that the hotel has laid off much of it's personnel and is "making do" with a skeleton staff. Some experienced, some not. At the end a very nice garage man came to our rescue and obtained our car key and carried our baggage to the car. He was apologetic, and helpful. The only one that was helpful.
Maybe he should manage the hotel instead of it's present manager.

The only reason I gave it as high a rating (3 star) as I have, is that it is still a beautiful building and the rooms clean and well appointed. But don't bother with the mixed drinks, they are horrible, weak and badly mixed.

We've decided, never again. What a shame.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pontalba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you endured during your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone. I am appalled that we failed so poorly in our responsibility to you as our guest. There simply is no excuse for the inconveniences you experienced. Your comments have been brought to the attention of our Management for review.

I hope you will reconsider your impression of the hotel and allow us another opportunity to provide you the type of hospitality, ambiance and service upon which our reputation is established and which you have every right to expect.

We really appreciate your feedback and we hope you will reconsider and once again enjoy the Monteleone that you once knew!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

The Hotel Monteleone offered a comfortable stay, with spacious rooms and excellent facilities including the dine in and room service breakfast and the great carousel bar and live music.

The public areas were beautifully decorated and check in service even when we arrived at midnight was great.

Our room had a comfortable bed, fridge for your own drinks and a tea/coffee maker. The rooms are very clean and had more bath towels than I have ever seen!

Even given the location so close to Bourbon Street our room was quiet during day and night.

The only down sides were pay to use wifi (usually included at a quality hotel) and I found the pool to be poorly cleaned but perhaps we caught that on a bad day? The pool side service ie towels/lounges/fans etc was good it was the water quality that worried me.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hillzeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thank you so much for you feedback! It sounds like you had a great stay. All of your comments have been brought to the attention of our management team. We are very pleased you had a good trip with us overall and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We have been there many ,many times during these years and cannot truly say we had any complaints !! We are always greeted graciously ,taken care of by the friendly staff ,they make sure you're satisfied in any way .We spent last weekend for our Anniversary ,in fact we stayed at the" Monteleone " for our Honeymoon,,,we had a wonderful time ,everyone was happy to see us ! The Carousel Bar " was always buzzing ,,,with laughter and good times ,,,we sat a table and we were ,greeted and served with friendly hostess ,,,chatted with us and went to serve others ,,came back several times to check ,we loved it ,they were beyond quick ,no long waits !! We were extremely satisfied with our stay and look forward to staying there again soon !! Thanks "Monteleone " for the memories !!!

Room Tip: Tell them what you're looking for ,they'll try to match !! Rooms on the South are quieter ,b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tulin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

We absolutely LOVE hearing from our long-time reoccurring guests! Thank you so much for sharing all your great memories with us!! Please come back and stay with us again soon for another perfect and luxurious stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

The hotel is beautiful. If that is what you are looking for, stay there. The staff, from the gift shop to the bartenders are the Carousel obviously hate their jobs. We were there for 5 days and never saw a smile. If you want a drink at the infamous bar, expect at least a 30 minute wait. Another 30 if you want seconds. If you park your car at the hotel at $40 per night, expect an hour wait for it to be delivered. And do not expect an apology or a comp. Sorry Monteleone - I will stay at the Omni next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Don't waste time looking ANY FURTHER than the Hotel Monteleone for your next visit to New Orleans. This is an outstanding historic property right in the French Quarter. Classy accommodations for the traveler who only wants the very best! Wonderful restaurant and famous Carousel Bar alone are worth the visit. The staff is outstanding, efficient, friendly, and well trained to anticipate the guest's every need. Beautiful pool and fitness room on the top floor. The Spa Aria is excellent with a delightful staff and comprehensive menu of services. The rooms are "classic" New Orleans style. Very clean and comfortable. Bathrooms seem a bit small, but they too are top of the line in style and functionality.

Room Tip: Any room on any floor at the Hotel Monteleone is a treat, after all this is one of America's fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Daryl Higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

We are so glad you found our staff to be outstanding, efficient and friendly! We certainly agree! Thank you so much for you positive feedback and we hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

The hotel is very nice. The room are a little smaller then expected but very clean and well appointed. Unfortunately we stayed at the time of Tales of the Cocktail which made the hotel over crowded, way to noisy and almost impossible to get up and down in the elevators. We even tried to go to the roof top pool and were told very rudely by a rent a cop that we couldn't because of a private party.

The hotel is located in a great spot in the French Quarter. The guy that parked my car EARL was super. I guess all things considered we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in July. We apologize for the noise levels due to the Tales of the Cocktails festivities. It is one of craziest weekends of the year.

We are so glad you are planning on staying with us again and we appreciate your feedback!! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,363 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,923 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,587 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,311 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $201 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing