We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Great City”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #8 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Beautiful hotel in the French Quarter, easy walking distance to everything. The rooms were clean and comfortable... all of the staff was friendly, helpful, and always available. and, of course, one of the most classic Hotel Bars in the world...

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

We are so glad you had such a great stay with us! We hope you come back and visit us again soon in New Orleans!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,414)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monteleone
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,785 - 4,791 of 7,415 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

Let me start by saying that I am in the hotel business and have had the opportunity to work in several fine hotels as well as being a guest in many. But Monteleone has a special charm to it. First visited the hotel as a young child when my Grandfather would take us there for vacation. Have been back several times and each time I enjoy this hotel more. It has the charm of an older hotel in the French Quarter, but providing the amenities and services that are expected in a hotel of this caliber. I would truly prefer to stay at Monteleone than at Ritz Carlton just down the street. This hotel has gone through many renovations in the times I have visited, and they have done them right. The roof top pool is rather small, but quaint and still fulfills its needs. A must do is to have a beverage (or two+) at the Carousel Bar. The staff of the hotel was very friendly, from the Doorman, the Front Desk staff, the Room Attendants, Servers and Bartenders and the Concierge. I believe the name of the Concierge was Anne (?), but she was very knowledgeable and interested in making sure I was safe and enjoyed my visit to its fullest with her suggestions in my five days there. This hotel is a nice ritual for me that brought back many memories and enriched them even more with this last trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank oasvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

We love hearing about our returning customers!! Thank you so much for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

GORGEOUS lobby. Friendly staff all around. Luxurious rooms and comfy beds. And my favorite place, the bar! Amazing drinks, friendly and playful bartender. Such an iconic and interesting experience whether your lounging in the swanky lounge or actually sitting on the carousel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Katherine Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received with us! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is my favorite place to stay in the French Quarter, and I am a local. If I plan to be in the quarter for any overnight event or occasion this is where I stay. We love the quaint but modern feel to the hotel, the location, the bar scene, and the clientele. The staff is always friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and well presented. You feel both right at home and extra special at the same time. Additionally, the location allows you to safely visit all the best restaurants and attractions, and I feel completely safe at this hotel. The night guard has been there many years and watches over the place like it was his own. I truly love this hotel and am always excited to be there.

Room Tip: Just ask and they will do all they can to accommodate you.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ilovenola88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback! We love it when locals choose us for a weekend French Quarter get away!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at The Hotel Monteleone for The Tennessee Williams Literary Festival in April 2014 under a festival package for $199 per night (FAR below the standard rate). Due to the historic charm and ambiance of The French Quarter, most of the hotels are highly overpriced. The Hotel Monteleone runs as high at $350-400 a night on weekends. Was our small and basic room really worth that price?....... NO! The room consisted of a king size bed, little walking room and small restroom with nice granite countertops. However, this is The French Quarter and you're paying for the experience. With that in mind, the Hotel Monteleone is a slice of historic Heaven! The lobby is beautiful and leads into a classic carousel bar. Who wouldn't want to roam the same halls as Truman Capote and Tennessee Williams? That's what we came for. The staff of The Monteleone is one of the most hospitable, friendly, helpful and accommodating that I've ever met. They truly go out of their way to impress. Academy Award Nominated Actress Diane Ladd was staying in the hotel while we were there, as part of the literary festival. She's a hoot!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gypsy70Houston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

We are so glad you had such a good weekend staying with us during the The Tennessee Williams Literary Festival, and that you found our staff to be hospitable, friendly, helpful and accommodating! We certainly agree. Please come and stay with us again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were fortunate to pick Hotel Monteleone on a whim . It is the ONLY place to stay in the French Quarter. The location is perfect with easy access to everything and away from Bourbon Street. The Hotel itself is beautiful, clean and the service amazing. We booked tours through their conceirge which was effortless on our part. The room service breakfast we had was delicious and quick. Our flight was not until later in the day, and when asked they allowed us a later time check out time. Our experience at Hotel Monteleone made our holiday a holiday. We LOVED, LOVED, LOVED our stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KathyFK320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you so much for your Trip Advisor Review! Your trip to New Orleans sounded like it was amazing and we are thrilled that our staff was able to help!! Please come and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I wasn't sure I was going to like this hotel from the pictures because I am very picky about bed linens and bathrooms, etc. and this was a trip with my girlfriend who are as well. This hotel turned out to be great, it was clean and the service was good plus its a block from Bourbon so it was walking distance to lots of restaurants and shops. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SasaB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

We are so thrilled your trip turned out better than you expected!! Please come and visit with us in New Orleans again soon for another great girls trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 165 in New Orleans
4,197 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 165 in New Orleans
4,715 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 165 in New Orleans
5,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 165 in New Orleans
4,421 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 165 in New Orleans
3,224 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $195 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing