We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Monteleone
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$116
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$249
$189
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$111
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$238
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$144
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$117
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$138
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$109
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (8,186)
Filter reviews
8,186 results
Traveler rating
5,512
1,749
542
244
139
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,512
1,749
542
244
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarousel barcriollorooftop poolfrench quarterroyal streetbourbon streetbeautiful hotelperfect locationrooms are smallold world charmbeignetsstreet noisemississippi riverparking garagejackson squaremardi graslucille
Filter
Updating list...
5,749 - 5,754 of 8,186 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The hotel was in an amazing location, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the service matched. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. The downstairs bar is one of the best in the city and I would highly recommend it. Overall it is a great place to stay and act as your home base while exploring the city.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so comfortable, clean and friendly. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I cannot for the life of me know why one has to pay for internet at a prestigious hotel. I have stayed at 50 dollar a night motels and not payed for internet. Not sure why this is at the Hotel Monteleone. You will pay forty dollars a night to park the car, but the service to bring the car to the front of the hotel is weak. The hotel is outstanding and the staff quite nice, except for bellman. Some just are clueless. The internet, the 40 a night for parking and then the expectation that a tip for bringing the car to the front left a bit of a sour taste in my mouth. I thought the location was excellent if you want to be in the French Quarter.

Room Tip: I have not idea what is better.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service you expected and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Having visited New Orleans many times for business and pleasure, location and ambiance are very important to me. The Hotel Monteleone scores very well on both. The staff is very friendly. The hotel is clean, fun and gives off the perfect vibe for a French Quarter hotel. They have a good fitness facility, excellent dining and a vibrant bar scene. I never miss a visit to The Acme for charbroiled oysters and it is just around the corner from the hotel. The rooms are comfortable with the only comment being the bathrooms are a bit small for my liking. All in all you will be very pleased with a stay at the Monteleone.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so comfortable, clean and friendly. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Hotel is in a great location. Close to Canal and Bourbon Streets but far enough away from all to avoid the noise. The Hotel itself is nice, and the staff was courteous although I found the king rooms to be extremely small. As for the Carousel Bar, don't bother even thinking about getting a seat at the bar itself. It is always crowded and people protect their seats like it is their last day on earth. This is not a fault of the hotel; just an unfortunate circumstance of human nature.

Recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grmacPickering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.

We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. The Hotel Monteleone is a historic property, and with that comes a unique floor plan with varying room sizes. We have tried our best to preserve the history of the building while still providing guests with a comfortable space to stay while visiting New Orleans. Again, we apologize that you did not find this satisfactory but we do ask you to consider the nature of New Orleans’ old buildings and the measures taken to modernize them while preserving their integrity.

It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. Your comments are well taken. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that I sincerely apologize.

We value your patronage and hope that on your next visit to New Orleans you will allow us the opportunity to demonstrate the level of service you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Gorgeous historical hotel, wonderful service, spacious updated rooms, located in the French Market. It was just a beautiful, memorable place for a very special weekend during which my nephew was married. I Highly recommend Hotel Monteleone, both for the luxurious stay and the convenient location. It was so much fun strolling through the streets and getting the true New Orleans experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. It sounds like the perfect wedding weekend! Please return soon to the Hotel Monteleone for another great trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews