We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Great Service”
Review of Hotel Monteleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Monteleone
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great Location and Great Service”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed here during French Quarter Fest and was happy I did. The service at the front desk is wonnderful. I had to go up to them a few times to get a new key or hold an item for a friend to pick up. They were so nice to work with and everytime was a different person. The rooms are nice. Could use a bit of an update to bedding and such but it was just fine for what I needed. The water pressure in the shower was phenomenal. I didn't want to get out. Nice turn down service at night. The location is tough to beat. If you have a room facing the street you will get some noise at night but this is a common problem with hotels in the Quarter these days.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmy485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Monteleone and took the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor. Please return soon to the Hotel Monteleone for another great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,650
    1,539
    469
    209
    117
See reviews for
1,172
2,631
220
1,437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Stroudsburg, Pa
Level Contributor
127 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Very convenient location. Hotel staff was friendly and quick to service every need. Dorrmen always opened door, welcomed us back at night, and quick to get taxis. Although we were out for long periods of time during the day, the room remained uncleaned till we returned late afternoon. However when we called they rushed to clean it and left extra soap when we requested it. The breakfast was very good with a great waitress who cared that we were happy.The bar was unique and bartenders were the best.I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Understand that this is an old hotel with small European style rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dooedd714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Monteleone is always our first choice of hotels in the French Quarter. The hotel is beautiful and it has great ameneties. We love the Carousel Bar and rooftop pool. The doormen make a great effort to always open the door when coming and going from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback. We hope to see you back at Hotel Monteleone soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is definitely the top end of the Quarter. What it lacks in intimacy it makes up for by having a lot of what you want. A nice gift shop, top end restaurant and a bar with a hook... it revolves as you sit. Your view is always changing. Not good for standing around at the bar but still cute.

The rooms are small as all hotels of that age, but well appointed and have great showers. Robes, thick towels and great coffee [the use Keurig] are to be had in each room.

check in was easy and, though expensive, the valet parking was top notch for the location. Took less than five minutes to retrieve our car. If convenience means more than price this is a good value.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floors away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in April. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Hotel Monteleone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortley Beach, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Hotel Monteleone is amazing. It's location is ideal and it's beautiful. The staff was attentive and friendly, the rooms were beautiful, bars were fun and food was very good. This hotel made our vacation the best!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat08751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so comfortable, beautiful, and friendly. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

I reserved and paid extra for a room that had been redone. The first room they put us in was very nice but directly across from the elevator. It was very noisy. We asked to Change because of the noise.
They showed us. The put us in the smallest room they could give us for three people. I frequent NOLA. I tried this hotel again because my grandparents honeymooned here and I stayed here in my school days. It was our 12 year old daughter's first trip.
No more. And I really don't complain!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Last week I had the privilege of hosting a conference based at the Hotel Monteleone. The entire process of planning and hosting the event proved to be a wonderful experience. Having interacted with almost all areas of the hotel's staff, I can sincerely attest that all proved to be courteous, professional and most of all helpful.
However, I would particularly like to point our parking attendant, Townsley, who went above and beyond to assist me with a car problem that took several hours to resolve. Townsley is to be commended for his extraordinary support, but the same is to be said for the entire staff. Can't wait until our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,377 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,100 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,363 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Property: Hotel Monteleone
Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing